We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina

Save Saved
You added San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #51 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Upland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel. The room was a little small. I enjoy finer Hotels and I failed to ask for a balcony, my bad. The fitness center was very nice. Across the street from Gas Lamp... Only issue was the walls are very thin. You can hear the conversations from the room next door and there are always the idiots that cram their bratty kids into these rooms...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    899
    703
    209
    75
    60
See reviews for
348
370
79
868
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (655)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was visiting Sqan Diego on business for the first time and decided to extend my trip over the weekend. The front desk clerk (Sarah) provided me with one of the most welcoming check inns i can remember...She was extremely friendly and cheerful and I knew at that moment that my stay would be enjoyable. The Lobby Concierge (Chris) was extremely helpful and made us reservations for dinner at 1500 Ocean in Corando. All in all a very nice hotel with stunning views of Coronado from the balcony.

Room Tip: the pool area can be quite noicy so upper floors may be a better bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, WI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our group of four was traveling to San Diego for an annual conference, and the hotel of-choice was this Marriott. The executive committee could not have made a better decision.

From the front desk to the spacious room to the great food in the restaurant, this place exudes class and style.

There are two towers that house nice rooms, but the North tower, which is newer, had the better (and larger rooms). The standard room was comparable to many hotel's small suites. Balconies in every room, and mine had a walk-in shower. Since some of our party stayed in the South tower, I know that I had much nicer accommodations than they did.

The MK Restaurant had excellent food, although we only ate there once. (The MK burger was a very good choice for two of us.) The lounge had a very attentive staff of bartenders that were not skimpy when it came to pouring cocktails. They also had a very good selection of local and other in-state beers and ales available. All at "San Diego" prices, of course. Live music each night we were there made for a very good party atmosphere.

The pools were also very nice and clean. There are two hot tubs, one of which is ages 21+. On one occasion, a man and his teenaged son was in it and a pool attendant pointed out the sign and asked them to move to the other spa. There is a towel station and a bar poolside, as well.

Adjacent to the pools area are several seating areas that had natural gas "fire pits" that took some of the night chills away for anyone who wanted to sit outside. The areas are listed as closing at 11:00pm, but an attendant allowed us to stay out one of the nights, as long as we kept our conversation at a low volume.

Overall, this hotel was an excellent venue, not only for the ambiance of the common areas, but for the rooms and conference facilities, too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

What a disaster. I stayed here for a conference and paid almost $200 a night. I had a room facing the city (ie away from the bay) on 9th floor. All night long trains passed the hotel, loudly, every 20-30 minutes. There was no reprieve. I was here for a conference and am totally exhausted because it is impossible to sleep. Add to that the paper thin walls (I could hear all of neighbors' activities). I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, CA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

I'd read about North tower and balconies here on TA, so I requested one. As a Platinum member, they usually try to accommodate. I arrived very early and they didn't have any of the requested rooms available. But they very nicely upgraded me to a suite in the south tower. There are only 2 suites per floor and they're the only rooms that have balconies in that tower. It was a great room with phenomenal views.

The room and furnishings are standard Marriott, which is fine. The food was ok, nothing special special.
The pool is lovely and the Tequila bar was a fun place.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Located next door to the Convention center on one side, Seaport Village on the other side, and walking distance to the Gaslamp Quarter, this Marriott is ideally located for business travelers coming to San Diego for a convention and a little fun in the sun.
Great outdoor pool area with numerous seating areas surrounding fire pits. The gym at this hotel is great. Everything you could want from a gym away from home. Parking was reasonable at $28 a night for self park with in & out privileges. Room was comfortable although we were unable to have a king room due to convention occupancy, but in exchange the front desk upgraded us to two doubles with a harbor view.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I had the pleasure of going to a convention at the San Diego Convention Center. I stayed at the Marriot Marquis & Marina which is adjacent to the Center. From the moment I drove up I was treated by a staff who made it known that my comfort and enjoyment was their goal.

Check in was simple and the young woman who checked me in actually came around the desk to hand me my key and show me how to go from the hotel to the convention center without traveling outside (which came I handy when it rained for two days).

The room was spacious, well appointed with comfortable beds, a refrigerator large enough to hold the staples I bought from a local super market and the view of the water was grand. The coffee maker, iron and other amenities made life easy.

The hotel facilities included several wonderful restaurants, health facility, large pools (with two Jacuzzis) and fire pits to keep everyone warm during the cool spring evenings.

While the cost of self parking was reasonable ($28.00) with some alternatives nearby, I am still bothered in this day and age by the charges most hotels have for internet usage. With so many business and professional guest staying for conventions it would be nice if it was included in the cost of the room.

The location is great. AS I said it Is adjacent to the convention center, across the trolley tracks from the Gas Lamp District (eat at Dick's and enjoy the wait staff), and Petco Park home of the Padres and my favorite park outside of my home field of Yankee Stadium. You will have a spectacular view of the bay including the Naval facility and the USS Ronald Reagan and you are right next to the walking/jogging trail which runs along the waterfront.

All that said, the hotel is beautiful, rooms well appointed and the staff just wonderful. It was everything I have come to expect from the high end Marriot hotels.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a waterfront view, but the view of the city and the surrounding hills is just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina

Address: 333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in San Diego
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#23 Business Hotel in San Diego
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centerpiece of the inspiring San Diego Bay, the San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina is a premier San Diego, CA hotel. With 1,360 guest rooms, 75,000 sq ft of meeting space, a 446-slip marina & an environment that easily transitions from dynamic meetings to resort-style relaxation, the San Diego hotel is a welcome escape. Adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and steps from the Gaslamp Quarter, our downtown San Diego, CA hotel’s location provides convenient access to championship golf and popular attractions like the San Diego Zoo, Sea World San Diego and LEGOLAND California. Experience a grand sense of arrival in the new lobby our San Diego hotel & personalized service from our dedicated staff. Unwind in a renovated guest room with sweeping bay views. From a state-of-the-art fitness center, to an enticing new pool area, to top-notch cuisine at our waterfront restaurants, it all comes together for an authentic downtown San Diego experience, only at the San Diego Marquis & Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel San Diego
San Diego Marriott Marquis And Marina
Marriott San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.