We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, great views, make sure to get a balcony” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina to your Saves list
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #52 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Redwood City, CA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, great views, make sure to get a balcony”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

I'd read about North tower and balconies here on TA, so I requested one. As a Platinum member, they usually try to accommodate. I arrived very early and they didn't have any of the requested rooms available. But they very nicely upgraded me to a suite in the south tower. There are only 2 suites per floor and they're the only rooms that have balconies in that tower. It was a great room with phenomenal views.

The room and furnishings are standard Marriott, which is fine. The food was ok, nothing special special.
The pool is lovely and the Tequila bar was a fun place.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    721
    215
    79
    61
See reviews for
353
382
81
901
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (678)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ohio
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Located next door to the Convention center on one side, Seaport Village on the other side, and walking distance to the Gaslamp Quarter, this Marriott is ideally located for business travelers coming to San Diego for a convention and a little fun in the sun.
Great outdoor pool area with numerous seating areas surrounding fire pits. The gym at this hotel is great. Everything you could want from a gym away from home. Parking was reasonable at $28 a night for self park with in & out privileges. Room was comfortable although we were unable to have a king room due to convention occupancy, but in exchange the front desk upgraded us to two doubles with a harbor view.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I had the pleasure of going to a convention at the San Diego Convention Center. I stayed at the Marriot Marquis & Marina which is adjacent to the Center. From the moment I drove up I was treated by a staff who made it known that my comfort and enjoyment was their goal.

Check in was simple and the young woman who checked me in actually came around the desk to hand me my key and show me how to go from the hotel to the convention center without traveling outside (which came I handy when it rained for two days).

The room was spacious, well appointed with comfortable beds, a refrigerator large enough to hold the staples I bought from a local super market and the view of the water was grand. The coffee maker, iron and other amenities made life easy.

The hotel facilities included several wonderful restaurants, health facility, large pools (with two Jacuzzis) and fire pits to keep everyone warm during the cool spring evenings.

While the cost of self parking was reasonable ($28.00) with some alternatives nearby, I am still bothered in this day and age by the charges most hotels have for internet usage. With so many business and professional guest staying for conventions it would be nice if it was included in the cost of the room.

The location is great. AS I said it Is adjacent to the convention center, across the trolley tracks from the Gas Lamp District (eat at Dick's and enjoy the wait staff), and Petco Park home of the Padres and my favorite park outside of my home field of Yankee Stadium. You will have a spectacular view of the bay including the Naval facility and the USS Ronald Reagan and you are right next to the walking/jogging trail which runs along the waterfront.

All that said, the hotel is beautiful, rooms well appointed and the staff just wonderful. It was everything I have come to expect from the high end Marriot hotels.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a waterfront view, but the view of the city and the surrounding hills is just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel is pretty much perfect for San Diego. However what really sets it apart is its staff, all super friendly, accommodating and full of information. They really have the can-do attitude. The rooms are super clean, the beds incredibly comfortable and the wired internet in room ($12.95/day) fast. Views of both harbor and city are nice. Location is excellent, easy walk to Gaslamp and most downtown locations.

One negative if you face Harbor Dr, you can hear the railroad warning bells every few minutes which you just learn to mute out. Also during in-house conventions their restaurant gets swamped and can't handle the demand.

Room Tip: North Tower is better with balconies, nicer rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed here 2 weeks ago for a meeting at the Convention Center. As soon as you walk in the front door, you feel as if you are in a resort. All of the staff welcome you and are very friendly. Very easy check in too. Rooms were very spacious, beds were very comfortable. Easy rental of car from on site Hertz Car Rental. Walked to Gas Lamp District every night for dinner. Also walked to Padres game, stadium a couple blocks away. Only ten minutes from the airport. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the water with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natsfandc
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Spend two days here for a conference and the facilities are great and the location cant be beat right on the water. On site starbucks and other restaurants of good quality so easy to eat onsite or lots of restaurants close by as well. Easy cab ride to gas lamp district as well. Recommend for business traveler.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laramie, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This was my second time to stay at this hotel while attending a conference. It is a short walk to the convention center, right on the water and close walking distance to nearby restaurants. The staff were exceptional from the check-in staff to the restaurant staff. It was very nice to have a coffee shop and deli right in the lobby for a quick breakfast. Do check out the water taxi that the Marriott operates to their property on Coronado Island. I was very pleased with everything at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a by view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina

Address: 333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in San Diego
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#24 Business Hotel in San Diego
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centerpiece of the inspiring San Diego Bay, the San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina is a premier San Diego, CA hotel. With 1,360 guest rooms, 75,000 sq ft of meeting space, a 446-slip marina & an environment that easily transitions from dynamic meetings to resort-style relaxation, the San Diego hotel is a welcome escape. Adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and steps from the Gaslamp Quarter, our downtown San Diego, CA hotel’s location provides convenient access to championship golf and popular attractions like the San Diego Zoo, Sea World San Diego and LEGOLAND California. Experience a grand sense of arrival in the new lobby our San Diego hotel & personalized service from our dedicated staff. Unwind in a renovated guest room with sweeping bay views. From a state-of-the-art fitness center, to an enticing new pool area, to top-notch cuisine at our waterfront restaurants, it all comes together for an authentic downtown San Diego experience, only at the San Diego Marquis & Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel San Diego
San Diego Marriott Marquis And Marina
Marriott San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.