We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bustling hotel met our needs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina to your Saves list
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #51 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Bustling hotel met our needs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is a large busy hotel. We stayed here 4 nights in late March. We drove from Phoenix and had no problem navigating downtown to the hotel. The front driveway, check-in and self parking all made for an easy arrival. The room was nice, clean and spacious; typical for a Marriott as were the friendly employees. There is a Ralph's grocery store within walking distance, so we stocked up on snacks and breakfast items (the hotel food/restaurants are expensive!). But beware: the room's refrigerator is the type that only keeps items cool, not cold. There is a disclaimer on its door to not store medicine, etc. So we avoided any foods that could spoil easily in that environment. Unlike Arizona pools, the pool area was green and tropical; there were even lawn chairs on grass! The pool was lively while we were there: families on spring break, etc. and the pool bar was great-- OK for Happy Hour, but good people watching. The location of this hotel can't be beat. You can walk to the Gaslamp District for good eats and fun nightlife. There are so many bars and restaurants in the Gaslamp, it will boggle the mind! And you are at the marina with walking paths in all directions for leisurely strolls. Another perk is the water taxi: Marriott runs a small boat across the bay to the Coronado Marriott dock. Its is $6 per person and takes 7 minutes to go across the bay. We hopped on and charged to our room, rented bikes on Coronado for the day, then returned via water taxi-- super convenient! Every morning we went down to Starbuck's on the first floor, then sat around with everyone else to use the free WiFi (we avoided the extra charge for Internet in the room). All in all it was a great stay-- we will definitely return!

Room Tip: Although we were above the train tracks, the noise did not bother us at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    905
    708
    210
    76
    61
See reviews for
348
374
79
875
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (660)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in march for 2 days with my husband . Beautiful hotel . Rooms were very comfy clean and modern with great views . Location
Is perfect with the gas lamp quarter steps away with nightlife and shopping . Great outside bar with fires . Only negative we were shocked to pay 55 dollars for the buffet breakfast in the hotel ! !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Os Municipality, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Wonderful time, great hotel - the rooms are large and public areas spacious, clean and attractive.The staff are attentive and keen to help and always smiling. Excellent value and well worth staying here.

The pool area is a particular highlight - it is large with plenty of space for sunbathing.

Veldig bra. Sentralt og lyst beliggende! Lekkert hotell og fine, ganske store moderne rom! Anbefales!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had an event at the San Diego Marriott Marquis and its location and staff were both excellent. Often this hotel is super busy with meetings due to its generous meeting room space so the lobby and bar are packed quite a bit. The rooms were nice - both times I stayed there I was facing the bay -- I would recommend asking for bay side rooms. The Mexican poolside cafe is quite nice. The room service menu was a little blah. The hotel itself is well taken care of and really close to the gas lamp district. Also a great location for anyone going to the convention centre. Not sure this is where I would stay for personal travel but absolutely great for work.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the bay side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed here for a convention in early April. The hotel was beautiful from the lobby to the pool area to the room. I had a really nice room on the 24th floor with partial views of downtown and the marina from the balcony. Room service was good and the food was as well. I was a few steps from business at the convention center and a few blocks away from fun all around.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed here because I had a conference... thought it would be good value. Bar drinks so overpriced, Dinner was overpriced and we had a room with 2 queen beds, well they were supposed to be queen. so very small. Probably should have asked for a king room, Very overpriced, but then it was on the water and close to the city to walk. $28 a day for parking on top of $279.00 a room was very expensive and then the internet was very poor.. Extremely poor. On our return to San Diego we won't be staying here. So many other choices to select from that would be less expensive and still close to the harbour and Gaslamp district

Room Tip: Unless you have an unlimited budget, choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanine S, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we value the opinions of our guests! We apoligize that you felt that you did not receive a good value in the amount paid at our property, and had trouble with the internet. We would like to speak to your personally so we try to arrange another future stay. Please contact our Director of Sales & Marketing for future assistance Jan.Hulahan@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed at the Marriott Marquis San Diego because it was one of the designated conference hotels for an event I attended at the San Diego Convention Center. Since my “regular” hotel chain of choice didn’t have any nearby options, I used this opportunity to give the brand a try. It had been some time since I’d stayed in a Marriott, and I must say I was very impressed with the hotel.

First, kudos to the staff at this hotel. Every hotel employee I encountered was exceptional – desk clerk, housekeeping, and bellman. I was very impressed with the level of professionalism displayed.

My room was on the 22nd floor in the north tower and overlooked the harbor and marina. It had a nice little balcony which I enjoyed very much. The room was spacious, extremely quiet, comfortable, and had decent lighting. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and pillows were just right. The bathtub and toilet were separated from the sink by a door, which is convenient if a family or several friends are traveling together. I liked the Bath & Body toiletries, too.

Many upscale hotels have mini-fridges but usually as a mini-bar. This one offered an mini-fridge for guest use. It was definitely appreciated. The desk, the wall, and the bedside lamp had electrical outlets. I like charging my phone overnight while using it as my alarm so the bedside outlet is a big plus. Speaking of charging… if I can complain about anything at all regarding this hotel it is having to pay for internet. The charge is $12.95 USD for 24 hours.

[Steps up on soapbox] Many upscale hotels still charge for internet access knowing that business travelers will pay. More than once I’ve been told that the charge is in line with other similar properties, and it is true. But, it is a practice that does not speak to your high level of customer service. In fact, in this technology-dependent world you offer a disservice to your customers. Many business travelers (like me, and I spend 130+ nights a year on business travel) have a choice when we decide whether or not to return to your property. Complimentary internet access should be offered to travelers as commonly as hair-dryers. And it should be offered complimentary to all – not just a perk for the hotel’s elite guests. Your policy might be a deciding factor next time. [Steps down from soapbox]

Back to my review of the Marriott Marquis... Since I was staying at this hotel while attending a conference, I didn’t have time to use the beautiful pool. It looked very inviting, and there seemed to be plenty of space for sun-worshippers. I did find some time to stroll around the bay area. There is a wonderful walking/running path just outside the hotel next to the bay, and Seaport Village is a great place to spend some time and money. (Be sure and have a margarita and fish tacos at the little Margarita’s Kitchen & Cantina. They were great!) The hotel is also an easy walk to the Gaslamp District, which is the reason I didn’t have dinner at the hotel. There were so many options available and so little time!

Overall, I enjoyed my stay, and can highly recommend the hotel. I give it five stars with a slight tarnish. The Marriott Marquis San Diego would shine brightly without the archaic internet charge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina

Address: 333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in San Diego
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#23 Business Hotel in San Diego
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centerpiece of the inspiring San Diego Bay, the San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina is a premier San Diego, CA hotel. With 1,360 guest rooms, 75,000 sq ft of meeting space, a 446-slip marina & an environment that easily transitions from dynamic meetings to resort-style relaxation, the San Diego hotel is a welcome escape. Adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and steps from the Gaslamp Quarter, our downtown San Diego, CA hotel’s location provides convenient access to championship golf and popular attractions like the San Diego Zoo, Sea World San Diego and LEGOLAND California. Experience a grand sense of arrival in the new lobby our San Diego hotel & personalized service from our dedicated staff. Unwind in a renovated guest room with sweeping bay views. From a state-of-the-art fitness center, to an enticing new pool area, to top-notch cuisine at our waterfront restaurants, it all comes together for an authentic downtown San Diego experience, only at the San Diego Marquis & Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel San Diego
San Diego Marriott Marquis And Marina
Marriott San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;