We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How Do I Say.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina to your Saves list
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #50 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sarasota
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“How Do I Say.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Folks, like many have said, it's a great hotel, right next to the Convention Center and the staff were very professional and accommodating...BUT, how do I say...the toilets do not hold enough water to conduct its business after you're done with your business! I walked in and, for the first time in staying at hotels for several decades now, next to the toilet was a plunger. It seemed strange but I soon found out why, the toilet does not perform! I literally had to remove the tank top and hold down the float so enough water was in the tank.

I feel very sorry for housekeeping! Everything else was great.

Room Tip: Ask for bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    994
    757
    226
    83
    61
See reviews for
364
402
84
961
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (725)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed seven nights recently for a conference. Most convenient hotel to the city conference center. Great views from higher floors of either the harbor or the Gas Lamp area. Above average fitness center on the ground floor of the north tower was open 24hrs. Very nice pool area. Close walk to light rail/trolleys. Concierge lounge is on the 24th floor of the south tower and is very nice but a little crowded. It overlooks the water. Nice large shower and pillow top bed with good quality pillow options.

On-site meals and drink costs were high, parking was $26 for self park, more for valet. Not the place to stay if you are looking for a bargain, but extra nice location and property overall.

Only problems I had was a very loud Saturday night on-property night club that I could hear clearly on the 24th floor, and housekeeping repeatedly turning my room temp down to 68 degrees from where I had it set at 72.

Room Tip: High rooms will have the best views. North tower rooms have balconies, only south tower suites have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Marriott Marquis while on our honeymoon in Sept 2012. We loved it! The hotel had a beautiful courtyard area with a pool, hot tub, fire pits, and a bar/restaurant. It was located right on the bay, our room had a beautiful view of the bridge and bay from the balcony. The hotel had access to the boardwalk and it was just a few minute walk to Seaport village which had many restaurants, coffee shops, and shops. The hotel was also conveniently located to the Gaslamp district which has delicious restaurants and bars. We really enjoyed sitting outside in the courtyard with our coffee in the morning as well as around the fireplace in the evening with drinks.

The room was very comfortable and clean and staff were very friendly and helpful. We arrived early before our room was ready. The staff got us checked in and the bell hop offered to keep our luggage while we had lunch and a drink by the pool to wait for the room.

Room Tip: North tower rooms have a balcony and an excellent view of the bay and bridge (we had room 1729 overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire England
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Could not ask for a better location right on the water front with great pool and dining options in and around the hotel

Balcony rooms overlooking bay are fantastic EXCEPT whoever purchased the beds needs to visit a Westin whilst the bathroom for such a large bedroom was terribly laid out

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Attended a conference held here and it was a great conference hotel. One did not have to walk forever to get to the sessions. Food at the conference was not the greatest, but what conference food is?
Rooms were comfortable and clean. Refrigerators, coffee maker, in the room. Comfortable beds and lots of pillows. Ask to stay in the North Tower, that is where they have rooms with decks to enjoy San Diego weather. It costs a bit more, but well worth it. The shampoo and conditioner were high quality and smelled wonderful. The grounds were beautiful with two pools, hot tub and a water fountain area for kids. I ate at the Tequila Bar and Grill...... fabulous street tacos. Very quick taxi to the airport. Within walking distance to Seaport Village, Gaslamp District, Petco Park and the convention center. Staff was wonderful. Don't scrimp, get a Bay View.... A train does pass in front of the hotel, blowing the whistle, but it stops around 11 pm

Room Tip: Get a Bay View and if you want a balcony ask for the North Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I have stayed at several hotels in San Diego and this is the only one I have stayed in that I have bothered to review. The rooms are a little small I think but very clean. The views are spectacular and the staff is great. I would definitely choose this hotel again. LOVE the pool!!!!

Room Tip: Request a high floor if you aren't afraid of heights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed at the San Diego Marriot Marquis in April of this year, with 2 adults and 2 children. The hotel is excellently situated within convenient walking distance to the USS Midway Museum and also the San Diego Maritime Museum. The hotel has a excellent pool area, but can be crowded at times. The fitness centre at the hotel is also excellent. The rooms are quite large with a nice balcony and are well equipped. The only down side was that we had a room facing towards the downtown area, and every hour we could hear a train horn even late at night, and the train would blow there horns around 10 times which was quite disruptive late at night. Other then the train disruption it was a very nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina

Address: 333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in San Diego
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#22 Business Hotel in San Diego
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centerpiece of the inspiring San Diego Bay, the San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina is a premier San Diego, CA hotel. With 1,360 guest rooms, 75,000 sq ft of meeting space, a 446-slip marina & an environment that easily transitions from dynamic meetings to resort-style relaxation, the San Diego hotel is a welcome escape. Adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and steps from the Gaslamp Quarter, our downtown San Diego, CA hotel’s location provides convenient access to championship golf and popular attractions like the San Diego Zoo, Sea World San Diego and LEGOLAND California. Experience a grand sense of arrival in the new lobby our San Diego hotel & personalized service from our dedicated staff. Unwind in a renovated guest room with sweeping bay views. From a state-of-the-art fitness center, to an enticing new pool area, to top-notch cuisine at our waterfront restaurants, it all comes together for an authentic downtown San Diego experience, only at the San Diego Marquis & Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel San Diego
San Diego Marriott Marquis And Marina
Marriott San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.