We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“affordable last mintue trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kings Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Kings Inn Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1333 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108 (Mission Valley / Hotel Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 272 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Pedro, California, United States
1 review
“affordable last mintue trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were looking to go on a trip to san diego for more than 6 months ahead of time and found this hotel at the last minute and at a cheap price. I read the reviews really quick and saw nothing but great things about this place. The staff is very nice and helpful with anything we needed. The waffle spot on location was a great breakfast highly recommend. Everything about Kings Inn Hotel is great, however my girlfriend didn't like the fact that their were two little bugs flying around in the room. In the end the CUSTOMER SERVICE WAS AWESOME!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
We are glad to hear you found a great deal for your stay at Kings Inn. We are even happier to know you enjoyed your stay, though please tell your girlfriend we apologize about the two flying bugs. Because we have exterior corridors and entrances to the rooms, they most likely decided to fly in when you entered the room. This is not a common occurrence and we are thankful it did not ruin your overall experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    471
    137
    40
    22
See reviews for
362
327
70
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
242 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I checked out 10 different hotels in the 100-125 price range in the hotel circle area, which is cheap for San Diego area. I choose this one because it had the best feedback from guests of any of the ones I checked out. After staying here for 2 days I see why. Their staff are very service oriented, the rooms are clean except for the carpet, its 10 minutes to downtown. You eat breakfast there and the food and service is better than Denny's.The drawbacks it is an old property with old furniture. I carpet looked like it could stand to be cleaned. For the price of 99.00 it's one of the best choices on Hotel Circle. If you don't like freeway noise ask for the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the back of the hotel, unless you like the roar of a California freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your review as your booking with us is an example of how much they matter to us. We are glad that overall we lived up to the reviews you read, especially in the service our team provided you. We apologize about your carpet. All carpets were cleaned the last half of June; however, July is too busy a month for us to take rooms off market for a day to clean them. Cleanings will resume in August.

This fall we will be choosing new furniture for our guest rooms and hopefully all rooms will see the updates by next May. We hope you will consider staying with us again and look forward to sharing the exciting new improvements with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The room was basic, but had everything we needed, including a refrigerator. The bed was comfortable with lots of extra pillows. It was quiet at night, which is a plus especially since the motel is close to a major freeway and road. Overall, good for option for the money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at Kings Inn. We are happy you found comfort and value in your visit. We definitely strive to provide all our guests with an exceptional sense of comfort, value and service and hope all were to your satisfaction. We hope that you will consider staying with us again the next time you visit San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I appreciated very much the fact that the front desk staff went out of there way to accommodate us. The hotel is in a perfect location to see all the attractions in San Diego. Even tho the hotel was old it was very clean and comfortable.

We were told upon check out that they were going to renovate the hotel after the summer. We would highly recommend The Kings Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for recommending Kings Inn to our potential guests. We are happy our desk took great care of you and that you enjoyed your visit. We still have more planned in our ongoing improvements for our rooms and grounds that will resume in October after our busy season. We look forward to sharing those changes with you and all our guests next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

we stay here all the time ...my 2 kids love it .. great pool ..cool jacuzzi ... my wife says its a dive ... i say yup... but its our dive .. very friendly staff great location... no hidden fees... best value for your money..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
It sounds like you get us. We are proud that you consider us your 'dive' and that you continue you to bring your family back to Kings Inn. We realize we are not the shiny new kid on the block. Even as we work to improve our hotel we will continue to embrace some of our funky retro vibe. But hopefully, the modern comforts we have added like LCD TV's and Refrigerators help to remind our guests that even though we may be like a blast from the past we definitely are not stuck there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The pool and hot tub were awesome. The staff is more than awesome. Total experience was great!! From the welcome we received at check in to the staff at the waffle spot at breakfast, what more could we ask for. We highly recommend this hotel and if we are back in San Diego, we will definitely stay here!!

Room Tip: Beds are hard, but large. Bathroom is cramped. Older hotel, but clean. Waffle spot is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are proud of our staff for providing you the 'beyond awesome' service you mentioned. We are definitely happy you chose our hotel and hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed there during Comic Con. For those of you who don't know, that convention is San Diego's busiest time of the year. Despite having a full hotel, I found the people at the desk to be very helpful and willing to do whatever they could to make our stay better. The room was very nice and clean. The daily cleaning crew could have done a better job. But, to be honest, with 4 people in the room dressing up in costumes each day - we were pretty messy and difficult to work around! The location was great and the price was reasonable considering this is the most expensive week of the year to get a hotel in San Diego.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing Kings Inn for your home base during Comic-Con. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that both our desk and housekeeping took great care of you. We hope you will consider staying with us again next year. We should have early booking specials available in mid August.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Kings Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Inn Hotel

Address: 1333 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kings Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Inn has been serving excellence in San Diego for over fifty years. Located in Hotel Circle of Interstate 8, we are three miles from Seaworld and The San Diego Zoo and within fifteen minutes from nearly everything you will want to see and do while visiting America's Finest City.Our Full Service Hotel features all newly remodeled nonsmoking rooms, two restaurants and a lounge, a sparkling pool and spa that are heated year round, and over 4,000 feet of meeting and banquet facilities. Guests can enjoy the added benefits of free parking, free local calls and free WiFi.Kings Inn is privately owned and operated and is committed to providing comfortable accommodations, exceptional service and optimal affordability to our valued guests. We are currently renovating our lobby and adding a guest office and gift shop. In addition, we are bringing a fresh look to the Waffle Spot and also adding a fitness room. All work is separate from sleeping rooms and should be complete in time for summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Kings Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel San Diego
Kings San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.