We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant motel in San Diego” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Inn Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kings Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kings Inn Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1333 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108 (Mission Valley / Hotel Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant motel in San Diego”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I chose this place due to its reasonable price and had a pleasant surprise. The room was clean, spacious and quiet (I was first worried about noise, since my room looked at the pool area, but didn't have any problems), The staff at the reception and at the waffle restaurant were pleasant and helpful. There was sufficient parking and the wifi was working quite well. I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We like knowing that your comfort at Kings Inn surpassed that value you found in choosing our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share your stay. Your review is a positive reflection on our continuing upgrades and improvements as we just replaced windows poolside with double-paned units to reduce noise and to increase energy efficiency. We are also happy that our Free WiFi met your needs and that you enjoyed our restaurants. We hope that your review will encourage more of our international visitors to stay at Kings Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    251
    297
    106
    31
    21
See reviews for
227
181
41
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times and enjoyed each stay, from its friendly hotel staff to its great breakfast restaurant the Waffle Spot. The rooms are pretty much no frills but the beds are comfortable, there is free internet, and its very clean. The location is one of the best, it is so close to many San Diego attractions and shopping. You are near two different major shopping malls and Old Town is only minutes away making it a good value for your money. The pool at the hotel is larger than some of the brand name hotels making it great for families traveling with children. There is also a jacuzzi next to the pool. Another nice thing about this hotel is that there is a lot of free parking available which is rare in the hotel circle area. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. San Diego and Hotel Circle provide a lot of options for our out of town visitors and we appreciate you for staying with us each time you are in town. We are glad that you find value and comfort in each stay and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond bar
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

For the money this hotel is great. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and appeared to be recently remodeled. The grounds were average and the pool and spa area were clean and of ample size. The staff at the Waffle House and the Amigo Spot were very friendly. The food at both locations was good. There is also a restaurant down the street to the west called Kenny's that has been family owned for 45 years and has great food. The hotel is also located close to all the main San Diego attractions. My son and I had a great 3 day vacation visiting the USS Midway, the San Diego Zoo and Sea World. On our next trip to San Diego we will stay again at the Kings Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We are happy you and your son enjoyed your visit to San Diego and that Kings Inn was a great part of it. Thank you for your review. We love knowing that our staff as well as our rooms and restaurants all contributed. And we look forward to your next visit to San Diego and Kings Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at this motel, which we chose due to solid reviews and reasonable price.
Check in was quick and the reception staff was very nice and polite.
The room was bigger then I expected and clean, though the bathroom really needs to be renewed!! I would also recommend the owners to put in a small fridge which, in my opinion, is a must-have feature in every decent motel.
TIP: their breakfasts are delicious, we ate there every morning, you should definitly try their waffels.

Overall motel lived up to our expectations and i would recommend it to those who would like to stay in a safe and clean room without being ripped of on the overnight rate.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Kings Inn. We are happy to see you found value and satisfaction in your recent stay with us. We hope that your review will help others as previous reviews helped you in your decision to book your room at Kings Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is our second time staying here, and will hopefully not be our last.

One of the best values for the money and conveniently located; the rooms are clean and basic with no frills which is fine for the price because our San Diego vacations don’t revolve around staying in our rooms. Free parking and free wi-fi are also a big plus in my book (funny how the more expensive places tend to charge for these items).

The hotel was very accommodating since we flew in late, and checked in at midnight; we just called ahead to let them know. The Front Desk staff were great to work with and were very welcoming. The onsite restaurants are fast, and reasonably priced. Because it’s surrounded by so many hotels, there are plenty of additional eating options within walking distance if you’re in the mood for something different. In general, San Diego is full of wonderful choices.

To sum it up this place is clean, convenient, and a good value for the dollar. Kings Inn will always be our first choice for future trips to San Diego.

Room Tip: upstairs is always best, remember these are basic rooms. A bed, TV, table and bathroom. If you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy to know you enjoyed both visits to Kings Inn and hope there will be more. We pride ourselves in offering comfort and service at reasonable rates with many complimentary extras like the free parking and WiFi as well as unexpected conveniences like our two AWESOME restaurants, our guest laundry room, and our huge pool. In addition, we are continuously making improvements to enhance our guests' experience; currently we are installing energy efficient and noise cancelling double-paned windows in our rooms. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to sharing all the new upgrades with you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

It was our anniversary and the Amigo spot restaurant manager, young man bussing the tables, and front desk lady treated us like king and queen. We loved our stay and had a wonderful time. I would stay there again just because of the service provided by the management, amigo spot table busser, and front counter daytime lady.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Wishing you a belated Happy Anniversary. Thank you for your kind review. It is great to know so many of our staff help to make your special occasion more memorable. It is our goal that all our guests have such great service. We will definitely be sharing your review with our fantastic team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We planned a 4 night stay in San Diego to see the Zoo and Sea World. Two senior couples; two rooms. After reading a number of reviews on this site we decided to give this "motel" a try as it was central to our destinations and the room rate was reasonable. We booked two rooms, ground level facing the heated pool and spa hoping to be able to make use of it. The smoking area was a short walk for the smokers (opposite side of the pool) and the ice machine was close. We half expected the weather to be cloudy/chilly, but we were lucky and able to sit in the sun at the end of the day and use the very well kept pool along with many other guests.

Being an older property, the rooms could have been dated and neglected, but not so. The room was well decorated and inviting. The two queens were comfortable with what appeared to be new bedding; the bathroom was spotless with bright, white towels and the usual separate vanity. An abundance of mirrors in the room helped with getting ready in the morning. It is a small guestroom with small bathroom area, but very acceptable for us.

My few negatives:

I prefer to have a mini-fridge and a coffee maker in the room; but an easy solution of course is a cooler with ice and a short walk to the lobby for free coffee.

When we entered the lobby to check-in, there was an offensive smell. My first thought was that maybe we had made a mistake booking here and I hoped our room would be OK - of course it was!

So...... being a central property with its own bar, Mexican restaurant and breakfast restaurant, we will stay here again when we return.

Room Tip: If you want to use the pool and don't mind the sound of happy children, ground level facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for giving Kings Inn a chance. We are happy that your experience reflected the reviews you read before your visit. We truly appreciate our guest reviews because we are an independent family owned hotel and realize that many potential guests rely on your feedback, just as you read others' reviews, before deciding to stay with us.

We also like to hear the ideas that may improve our hotel and our guests' experience. The refrigerator convenience is on our list of upcoming improvements to our guest rooms along with many other improvements and our lobby is in the planning phase for a renovation next winter.

We hope to see you again and appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kings Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Inn Hotel

Address: 1333 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kings Inn Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Inn has been serving excellence in San Diego for over fifty years. Located in Hotel Circle of Interstate 8, we are three miles from Seaworld and The San Diego Zoo and within fifteen minutes from nearly everything you will want to see and do while visiting America’s Finest City.Our Full Service Hotel features all newly updated nonsmoking rooms, two restaurants and a lounge, a sparkling pool and spa that are heated year round, and over 4,000 feet of meeting and banquet facilities. Guests can enjoy the added benefits of free parking, free local calls and free WiFi.Kings Inn is privately owned and operated and is committed to providing comfortable accommodations, exceptional service and optimal affordability to our valued guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kings Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel San Diego
Kings San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.