We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kings Inn Hotel, Highly Recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Inn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kings Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Kings Inn Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1333 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108 (Mission Valley / Hotel Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
EXCLUSIVE OFFER!
Ranked #49 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Santa Monica, CA
1 review
“Kings Inn Hotel, Highly Recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We live in Santa Monica, and drive down to San Diego about twice a year, to visit the Zoo, SeaWorld, and friends. We've been staying at the Kings Inn for years now, and we love it. The price is always very reasonable, the pool and Jacuzzi are fantastic, the rooms are nice and quiet, the staff is very accommodating and easy to deal with, and the breakfast restaurant, "The Waffle Spot" is a super tasty place to have breakfast everyday making for a great start to each day we are there. It's always easy to find negative things to say about hotels, but for the value, the Kings Inn is fantastic. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: I always ask for a room on the 2nd floor, at any hotel. That way I won't have to listen to peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for making your stay at Kings Inn your inaugural review. We love to hear from our guests who have stayed with us throughout the years and are especially excited to have you back to see all the positive improvements happening here. We look forward to your next visit now that you have the all year passes to Seaworld!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    350
    115
    37
    20
See reviews for
277
226
49
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lombard, IL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've stayed in hundreds of hotels including some of the finest in the world and you need to have proper expecations when only paying $50 for a night. Just needed a place near the airport for an early flight the next a.m. after spending the week at the in-laws in El Cajon. Asked for a room in the back and it was clean, nice, and the hotel looked very good for an old school place from 1959. Only problem was the heating system was very loud when it came on and off which bothered my wife and she would have downgraded my rating to 3 stars. Service was excellent, parked right in front of the room, pool looked fine, and the room actually exceeded my expectations for looking good and being clean. Also the back of the hotel is a hill so no noise back there and things were quiet other than the noise from the heating system. A good deal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy you found a little peace and quiet with us after staying with family. We are sorry to hear your wife did not sleep well due to the heater. We definitely like to hear these comments so that we can address them proactively. We hope to see you again the when you next visit your in-laws. Maybe you can spend the entire visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond, VA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at this hotel over Easter weekend. The hotel rooms were comparable to LaQuinta or Best Western. Free internet but no free breakfast. They have a great restaurant for breakfast and lunch. Have the waffles. They are the best I've ever had. There is also a Mexican restaurant that has a great happy hour and drinks for 1/2 price with free heavy h'orderves. We at dinner at the restaurant but I thought the food was very bland for Mexican. Tasted like a white boy cooked it. The pool is very nice. This is a no smoking hotel but they have 2 really nice patio areas where you can smoke. The staff go out of their way to ensure your stay is very nice. The king size bed I had SUCKED; like sleeping on a board. However, when I mentioned this to the front desk, the attendant searched for an egg crate topper. I never got it BUT the very fact that she went above and beyond to make sure I was comfortable, i thought was very nice. My sister had a room with 2 queen beds and they seemed very comfortable.

This a great deal for the money. Is it the Marriot? No, but you get a lot of nice for what you pay for and it's relatively quiet too. I would actually give this a 3.5 rating.

Room Tip: There is no fitness center but there was no N/A option. Go with the queen room as the king beds are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We are happy to know you and your family enjoyed your stay at Kings Inn over Easter. Thank you for taking your time to share the highlights of your stay. We are sorry to hear you did not sleep well due to the firmness of your mattress. We hope you will feel encouraged to know that we are budgeting for all pillow top mattresses later this year.

We agree with you that our waffles are the best. We are glad you also took advantage of our great happy hour. As for the Mexican food, our kitchen has flavored the menu items to appeal to a wider range of tastes. They are always happy to spice things to your preference upon request.

We appreciate your review and look forward to your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Do not stay at this hotel. The rooms are filthy. Sheets with holes, no blankets on bed. Mold on curtains. Mold in shower. The smell alone was just the worst! Parking was free, but not enough spots. Homeless people camped out in the hallways. Didn't feel safe there at all. Staff was rude. Room was not as described. This should be listed as a 1 star hotel. Felt like a hostel. We ended up leaving (and fighting with the hotel manager to get a refund for the nights we refused to stay) and going across the street to a much better hotel for $40 more. This may seem like a bargain... it is too good to be true though. You couldn't pay me to stay here!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
The easiest place to start in our response to your review is to say that we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. You are well remembered as our Front Desk Manager did offer to relocate you to another room. When you declined this reasonable alternative she took no issue with your decision to depart early.

We are sorry that you had to go through additional negotiations to have your final two nights refunded because your payment was processed through an online reservation to a third party booking agent. We are confident you were rebated as we received confirmation stating this. We understand if in your moment of frustration, our efforts to follow procedure seemed to antagonize your situation and apologize for this misguided perception.

Beyond that we will appeal to our potential guests to refer to the overall strongly positive reviews we consistently receive from our guests. We feel no need to respond to the mostly exaggerated and at times blatantly false statements in your review. We understand as a general rule in business as in life that we cannot please all the people all of the time. We are regretful that you fall into this category and are happy for you that you found accommodations that met your approval elsewhere so that the final two days of your vacation were not blemished.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at the Kings Inn two nights. Overall, the place was nicer than we expected. The room was clean and the only thing not in working order was an outlet on a lamp. The spa was well-separated from the pool, so we weren't splashed by playing children, and it was spacious, which was a good thing, since we had company 2 of the 3 times we used it. We asked for extra towels, since they only provided one bath towel each. Both restaurants were excellent and gave good value, despite the poor reputation of restaurants attached to hotels. The Waffle Spot serves HUGE portions, so definitely share a meal. Also, make sure to ask for crisp bacon if you don't want it floppy and fatty. The Amigo Spot looks dated, but the food was very good. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Unfortunately, we were glad to leave, because both of us got up each morning with aching backs. Our bed at home is very firm, but the bed at the Kings Inn was rock hard. I think if they just put a pillow top or memory foam top on it, it would have been much better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for a very thorough review of Kings Inn. We appreciate your compliments and your constructive criticism. It is definitely a challenge to meet the exact comfort expectations of every guest when it comes to bedding, but part of our ongoing improvements to our hotel includes new pillow-top mattresses to be placed in all our rooms later this year. We hope that you will consider staying with us again and also that you book directly and specify your bedding preferences so that we can better anticipate your individual needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great location, in hotel row. Price is fair, a bargain compared to what you find at twice the price. Property was clean, beds on the hard side. There was a lot of outside noise (guests arriving) but I didn't notice room to room noise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We are happy you found great value in your stay at Kings Inn and that you were overall pleased with our hotel. We have had the great fourtune to be filled to capacity for the past few weeks. Many of those guests are familes with children on spring break who are enjoying our beautiful San Diego weather and our fantastic heated swimming pool, so we understand your comment about hearing guests outside your room. We hope that with our scheduled installation of double-paned windows in the next few months this will become less of a factor.
We appreciate you taking the time to review Kings Inn and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kings Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Inn Hotel

Address: 1333 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kings Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Inn has been serving excellence in San Diego for over fifty years. Located in Hotel Circle of Interstate 8, we are three miles from Seaworld and The San Diego Zoo and within fifteen minutes from nearly everything you will want to see and do while visiting America’s Finest City.Our Full Service Hotel features all newly updated nonsmoking rooms, two restaurants and a lounge, a sparkling pool and spa that are heated year round, and over 4,000 feet of meeting and banquet facilities. Guests can enjoy the added benefits of free parking, free local calls and free WiFi.Kings Inn is privately owned and operated and is committed to providing comfortable accommodations, exceptional service and optimal affordability to our valued guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kings Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel San Diego
Kings San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.