We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How do you spell kitschy?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kings Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Kings Inn Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1333 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108 (Mission Valley / Hotel Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tripadvisor Special Rate
Ranked #56 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“How do you spell kitschy?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I had a great time on my visit to San Diego, and my stay at Kings Inn was part of it. I couldn't tell you the definition of kitsch, but that's the word that comes to mind with this place. It's right out of the days of Dean Martin and the Rat Pack. I didn't go in the pool, but I sat by it every morning with coffee, and it was beautiful, especially with the hummingbirds buzzing around. What a great way to start every day. (Except that fake creamer in the coffee, EWW! I think they should value the customers enough to give them cream or at least milk for their coffee.) The rooms were clean and comfortable, although the rugs could have used a good shampooing, and all the service people were friendly and helpful. The cooling system was kind of loud. The Amigo Spot was quite entertaining, like taking a step into the past :) I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I couldn't see how one would be better than the other, personally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wafflek9, Manager at Kings Inn Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
It looks like you found the correct spelling for 'kitschy' and we can embrace your assessment of our distinctive identity. We definitely value the vintage elements of our classic southern California motorlodge design as we continuously work to incorporate some of the more contemporary comforts to our full service hotel that has been thriving in San Diego for more than 50 years.

We understand your distaste for the powdered creamer we have available at our complimentary coffee and filtered water kiosk in the lobby. Because this amenity is available 24 hours a day, it is necessary to supply it with more sustainable accompaniments. Our friendly staff in the Waffle Spot have been known to spare a real creamer or two upon request for our guests.

Carpet maintenance is a pesky challenge in every hotel. All our rooms are on rotation for full steamcleaning four times a year and receive lighter shampooings in between. Admittedly, even this isn't always frequently enough due to the high volume of traffic they receive. We definitely appreciate hearing back from our guests directly so that we can address specific rooms more immediately. As an added note of encouragement, we are recarpeting rooms at the rate of ten per month until all guest rooms are completed.

Thank you for your colorful review. It was especially nice reading that the hummingbirds are back to sample the beautiful bird of paradise blooming all over our property. We are happy to know that they brightened each morning of your visit. We hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    438
    132
    39
    22
See reviews for
335
300
68
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LODI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Kings Inn on Hotel Circle in San Diego is like home away from home, for me. I had driven in from Arizona on Thursday, and, a bit after checking in, found that one of my tires was going flat, probably due to road work debris I'd tried to avoid in Arizona. The staff at the front desk, Ana and Phillip, helped me contact AAA and recommended a nearby tire service, and in the morning, my tire problem was fixed swiftly and efficiently. Then, I was on my way to enjoy my day. Attentive, caring, and efficient is the staff at Kings Inn. Great job!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wafflek9, Manager at Kings Inn Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
There is a lot that we take pride in at Kings Inn. But nothing makes us prouder than hearing how well our staff has treated our guests. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We consider both Phillip and Ana assets to Kings Inn and are excited to share you kind words with them. We hope to see you again soon and that your next drive from Arizona is less eventful so that you can truly relax and enjoy all that Kings Inn and San Diego have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fakapuna
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location, it is priced fairly, and it is very clean. The check in staff was very friendly, our room was clean with a decent tv, the area is safe, and check out was quick. There is also a restaurant and bar on site. I did not utilize either one so I can not provide an opinion. I will return again when the situation presents itself.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wafflek9, Manager at Kings Inn Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Kings Inn. We are happy that we met your expectations. We appreciate your visit and are happy to know that you will stay with us again. Definitely plan to eat in and try our Authentic Baja Mexican from the Amigo Spot, or even just a delicious Margarita. And in the morning, we hope you will indulge in San Diego's Best Belgian Waffles at our diner, The Waffle Spot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

In the days of cookie cutter hotels with breakfast rooms equipped with cereal bins that reminds one of a modern feedstation for cows, this hotel has a great restaurant for breakfast and music from the 50's.
Modernization program of rooms very satsfying, resulting in great beds with similar pillows.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wafflek9, Manager at Kings Inn Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for recognizing our unique identity among the countless shoebox chain hotels with their typically lackluster breakfast bars that never seem to serve for more than a three hour window. Our number one goal at Kings Inn is to exceed your expectations in order to validate the money you spend to stay here. But high up on our list is to preserve much of what has made us great for over fifty years--this includes our Waffle Spot Diner, our home away from home hospitality, our value oriented rates, and our family friendly appeal. All in all, we are glad to know you did not feel treated as cattle here. And we hope you will seek us out again anytime you plan to return to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Hotel Circle is centrally located to all the places in San Diego. Some of the other hotels on Hotel Circle have started going down-hill and not keeping up maintenance. The Kings Inn has been well maintained. It is very very clean. The staff was very accommodating and very friendly. The pool is refreshing, the hottub just right. The waffle spot is cute and has good food. The Mexican food they have in the evening is also very good. Yes, we will choose this hotel next time we are back in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wafflek9, Manager at Kings Inn Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
We are honored to receive your praise and high rating. Kings Inn saw just as many challenges as our neighbors during the 2008-2010 dip in travel to San Diego. Fortunately, we have been able to bounce back quickly and our team and owners are fully invested in making Kings Inn the premier family hotel in Mission Valley/Hotel Circle-if not all of San Diego.

We will look forward to your next visit, so that you can witness our continued growth and our heightened commitment to excellence with each stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabo san lucas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

To our happy surprise this hotel is a real bargain. Our room was very clean and comfortable. surprisingly quiet for being totally full at the time we visited. Easy access from the freeway.
The best part was the resturaunt. They have a little '60s type breakfast place that has the best service ever. The food is excellent and the prices are very fair. The waitress there is totally in love with her job and it shows. What a treat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wafflek9, Manager at Kings Inn Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you! We definitely love to hear when we have exceeded our guest's expectations. A huge part of what is special about Kings Inn is that all of our staff understand how important they are to us and, in turn, to your overall satisfaction with your visit. We will be sharing your review with the Waffle Spot, though we are at a loss to say who was your server because they are all awesome.

We hope you will consider us for all your future visits to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benicia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I travel extensively and stay in a lot of chain hotels and I purposely picked the Kings Inn because I wanted a non-chain experience. Its been recently refurbished so the rooms although older were nicely appointed, comfy and quiet. The pool in the center is spacious and had a resort feel to it and perfect for those balmy evenings.. Its in a great location with close proximity to the sites of San Diego. It was also very convenient to have two restaurants on site, one for breakfast and a Mexican restaurant with a lounge for the evenings. After a long day it was nice to not have to drive to go somewhere to eat or have a cocktail. In fact the whole atmosphere was very friendly. Staying at the Kings Inn was a trip down memory lane, like the old days people mingled and actually had conversations (not glued to their phones).The staff at the front desk was helpful and accommodating. Although an older property therefore not the sleek modern trendy hotel type, I wouldn't trade the friendly, personal experience for a cold sterile chain hotel. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wafflek9, Manager at Kings Inn Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Being an family-owned and independently operated hotel, we truly appreciate that our unique identity was part of your initial decision to stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed this visit and took full advantage of all our awesome amenities at Kings Inn.

Yes, we are not sleek or modern, but with our recent renovations, we hope to show more and more guests that a clean comfortable room, a fair rate and exceptional service can make up for the lack of some of those contemporary trends that typically come with added fees and higher rates.

We hope others will be encouraged by your kind words to try us out and see why our little hotel has been a great place to stay in San Diego for more than 50 years. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kings Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Inn Hotel

Address: 1333 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kings Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Inn has been serving excellence in San Diego for over fifty years. Located in Hotel Circle of Interstate 8, we are three miles from Seaworld and The San Diego Zoo and within fifteen minutes from nearly everything you will want to see and do while visiting America's Finest City.Our Full Service Hotel features all newly remodeled nonsmoking rooms, two restaurants and a lounge, a sparkling pool and spa that are heated year round, and over 4,000 feet of meeting and banquet facilities. Guests can enjoy the added benefits of free parking, free local calls and free WiFi.Kings Inn is privately owned and operated and is committed to providing comfortable accommodations, exceptional service and optimal affordability to our valued guests. We are currently renovating our lobby and adding a guest office and gift shop. In addition, we are bringing a fresh look to the Waffle Spot and also adding a fitness room. All work is separate from sleeping rooms and should be complete in time for summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Kings Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel San Diego
Kings San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.