We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very large but perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego to your Saves list
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #19 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very large but perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a very large conference, and it was a very large hotel able to accommodate the 2,500 attendees. Lovely mixture of older style and modern conveniences. Stayed on the 14th (of 15) floors facing the magnificent view of the harbor. Lovely accommodations - very comfortable bed and furniture, large lovely bathroom (except for the all around lighting on the mirror, which actually makes it hard to see unless you are right in the middle). Temperature regulated quickly which mattered because of the changes with the light coming in the room.

Food service was very responsive (always beat their expected delivery time, and staff were very positive and nice). I found the selections somewhat limited, but fresh and tasty. If I had known I could have walked to a market and brought some basics into the room. Very quite, lovely peaceful colors,

Service was all around very nice, even when I left at 4:30 am to catch a flight.

Terrific location for the seaside village, the waterfront with the Midway, the Gaslight district - all walkable and spectacular San Diego weather. The zoo is also nearby and, from another trip, exceptional.

About $13-15 ride by taxi from the airport.

Room Tip: I was in 1454 and was told that the 54 and 52 rooms were the absolute best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Qualitylovers,

Thank you for contributing your candid comments regarding your most recent stay with us here on TripAdvisor. We pay close attention to these reviews in order grow and evolve as needed. That being said, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel for your trip, especially the service and location of our fantastic property.

Until next time in America's Finest City!

Kristin Helms
Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,933
    1,206
    375
    151
    117
See reviews for
707
832
139
1,643
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (958)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

As a new Platinum member, this was our first attempt at staying at a Hyatt after being loyal Gold Marriott members and being continuously disappointed at various properties. The main lobby was certainly impressive. It has the charm and look of a throwback era. Our room was very clean and well-appointed with a very nice view of the marina. We needed a hotel that would allow for our 35 lb dog to accompany us and Hyatt came through! The hotel is a very easy 10-minute walk from the Gaslamp district and convenient to a plethora of shops and restaurants. The only disappointment we had was the lack of room service cleanup. Room service trays would remain in the hallway well into the next meal service time. Not what we want to see as we walk back to our room after a busy day on the town. That aside, we will definitely be back - and be using Hyatts much more frequently.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Absolutely a great hotel. The service is awesome and the views from the room can't be beat. We stayed on club level which gave us access to a nice light breakfast and a great cocktail hour. It's also a short walk to plenty of fun in downtown.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear JonasSelisHomes,

Thank you for contributing your candid comments regarding your most recent stay with us here on TripAdvisor. We pay close attention to these reviews in order grow and evolve as needed. That being said, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel for your trip, especially your experience in the Grand Club and our great waterfront location.

Until next time in America's Finest City!

Kristin Helms
Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I was here for a conference combined with vacation and it was a great experience. The hotel is located right next to great shops and is also right near the bay -- in three minutes you can be walking along the water, watching the sailboats, eating an ice cream cone, sitting in the grass watching kites being flown, etc. It's also an easy walk to Little Italy and other great food options, as well as an open-air mall, a grocery store (if you want to stock up your mini-fridge) and other great San Diego attractions (including the ferry to Coronado). Many rooms offer fantastic water and/or city views, brilliant in the morning and at sunset. There's a great new gym for hotel guests, as well as a beautiful outdoor pool and hot tubs (including an additional adults-only pool). Hotel staff are friendly and the rooms are bright, modern and clean. Would love to come back and stay again!

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms have great views of the bay and the land on the other side, as well as the city (d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear JessBO25,

Thank you for contributing your candid comments regarding your most recent stay with us here on TripAdvisor. We pay close attention to these reviews in order grow and evolve as needed. That being said, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel for your trip. We are especially excited to hear how much you loved your newly renovated room and the great views from them.

Until next time in America's Finest City!

Kristin Helms
Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Decent hotel. Very big and very impersonal. Was there for business...difficult to get prompt service. Their bar area stinks (literally it smells). Very dank and dark. Needs upgraded. The food left a lot to be desired. Since I travel a lot I tend to look at the lobby area and the bar area as you need to spend time there most likely as rooms are never ready for check in.

Room Tip: Definitely ask when checking in for a room with a view...you don't want to be looking at a parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Barbi1526,

Thank you for contributing your candid comments regarding your most recent stay with us here on TripAdvisor. We pay close attention to these reviews in order grow and evolve as needed. That being said, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with our hotel.

Until next time in America's Finest City!

Kristin Helms
Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Have stayed here twice while attending conferences and would stay again for fun. It is close to a lot of the city. Seaport Village is a very short walk, just next door really, with shops, restaurants, and gorgeous views. Everyone was friendly and helpful, and the decor was beautiful. The rooms are clean and quiet. I love that you can open the windows and let in the fresh air and breezes. Food is expensive (isn't all hotel food?) but very good. Close to the airport too. Definitely would recommend.

Room Tip: I would recommend the Seaport tower with a harbor view. You can look out and see all the boats, eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Pen1313,

Thank you for contributing your candid comments regarding your most recent stay with us here on TripAdvisor. We pay close attention to these reviews in order grow and evolve as needed. That being said, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with our hotel. We are especially happy to hear that our staff was so friendly and helpful, as our service has always been our highest priority.

Until next time in America's Finest City!

Kristin Helms
Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed on 30th floor in lovely, renovated room while there for a convention. Would have been excellent except light rail runs right by hotel and rings bell constantly as they pass by to alert traffic. Very noisy even up high. That being said, service outstanding, location great, five minutes to airport, lots to do in area and perfect view of bay and sunset.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear adnill,

Thank you for contributing your candid comments regarding your most recent stay with us here on TripAdvisor. We pay close attention to these reviews in order grow and evolve as needed. That being said, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with our hotel. We do apologize for the noise from the trolley, but would like to note that the city of San Diego issued a "quiet zone" for hours later than 10:00pm so that the noise would subside for the later hours in the evenings. We appreciate your patience with this.

Until next time in America's Finest City!

Kristin Helms
Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#10 Green Hotel in San Diego
#50 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#56 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.