We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great waterfront Views, Gaslamp, Shopping & Dining Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Save Saved
You added Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #31 of 269 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sebastopol, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great waterfront Views, Gaslamp, Shopping & Dining Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

If you are like me when you are visiting a city, you don't want to have to use a cab to get anywhere fun. This Hyatt has it all in location, views and a short walk to a ton of fun food, sightseeing and more.

I was there for a conference which was great because I was able to walk to everything fast and easy. Including the Amtrack train station, only 8 minute wal. PLus San Diego Lindberg airport is only a 8 minute cab ride.

San Diego rocks. And this Hyatt does a good job making it fun for visitors.

Room Tip: Get a west, south or north facing room if you want to see the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,738 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,244
    940
    328
    129
    97
See reviews for
522
613
119
1133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (735)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Came for a work conference. On the plus side: check-in was smooth and the hotel room was spotless with all the amenities you could need. On the negative side: the hotel room overlooked the main street and the noise made it impossible to sleep. Despite the fact that I was on the 20th floor, I could hear the train bells incessantly late through the evening, as well as significant rumbling. You would think that the hotel would have adjusted the sound-proofing to account for the train. Never again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear wanderingchick,

Thank you for contributing your candid comments regarding your most recent stay with us here on TripAdvisor. We pay close attention to these reviews in order grow and evolve as needed. That being said, we are very happy to hear your check in was effortless and your room was well-equipped with amenities and clean. We do apologize for our location being so location to transit, does encounter such noises. The city of San Diego has implemented a "Quiet Zone" that prohibits the train from ringing the bells any later than 10:00pm. We hope this will help alleviate any public noise that our guests may encounter in the evening.

Once again, thank you for your kind feedback and we hope to welcome you back to sunny San Diego in the near future.

Kristin Helms
Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed at the Manchester over Thanksgiving week, was very nice. The room was great, bed was comfortable, and was at the end of the hall , so very quiet. This hotel is close to the airport, easy to get to, and right next to the marina. Wonderful views and you can walk to the gas-lamp district easily. Definitely enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Would recommend this hotel to anyone and would definitely stay there again. The rooms were excellent, extremely clean, even spotless. Finally the view from the 40th floor bar was well worth the trip alone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

If you're going to San Diego, this is a great choice for a hotel. It is located about 10 minutes away from the airport and is within walking distance of several restaurants, shops, and the Gaslamp District. We were able to walk to the USS Midway from the hotel as well. The hotel is very large, but we never had to wait in a line when needing assistance in the lobby. The rooms were spacious and were kept very clean. The hotel was accommodating when we asked for a humidifier. The only thing we didn't like about the hotel was the amount of time we spent waiting on elevators. We were on the 28th floor, so taking the stairs wasn't really feasible. We would definitely return to this hotel if we go back to San Diego.

Room Tip: We paid for an upgraded view and had a beautiful view of the Coronado Bridge and the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

From the drop-off at the front door to the departure, everything about this visit was perfect. Now, while it's no full-service-feel resort, for a mega-hotel, this one's pretty dern good. The room was large with an excellent view. I notice the little stuff like scuffed edges on dressers, small pockets of mold in the shower, caulking to cover something...yet here, I noticed nothing but perfection inside my room.

The meeting facilities were nice and the staff was very accommodating across the board.

Room Tip: If you're here for a conference, know which side most of your meetings are on and try to get in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo County, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

California Association of Realtors Winter Meetings 2014 were held here, and it is a wonderful facility. It is easy to get around, and there are some great places to eat and shop just steps away!

My room had been just updated and it was wonderful!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Green Hotel in San Diego
#48 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and largest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high on the magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Kin Spa, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and a new upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has 125,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Amex, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.