We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location and well priced” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Save Saved
You added Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #31 of 269 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location and well priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Would recommend this hotel to anyone and would definitely stay there again. The rooms were excellent, extremely clean, even spotless. Finally the view from the 40th floor bar was well worth the trip alone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,715 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,226
    938
    326
    129
    96
See reviews for
515
611
119
1119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (731)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

If you're going to San Diego, this is a great choice for a hotel. It is located about 10 minutes away from the airport and is within walking distance of several restaurants, shops, and the Gaslamp District. We were able to walk to the USS Midway from the hotel as well. The hotel is very large, but we never had to wait in a line when needing assistance in the lobby. The rooms were spacious and were kept very clean. The hotel was accommodating when we asked for a humidifier. The only thing we didn't like about the hotel was the amount of time we spent waiting on elevators. We were on the 28th floor, so taking the stairs wasn't really feasible. We would definitely return to this hotel if we go back to San Diego.

Room Tip: We paid for an upgraded view and had a beautiful view of the Coronado Bridge and the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

From the drop-off at the front door to the departure, everything about this visit was perfect. Now, while it's no full-service-feel resort, for a mega-hotel, this one's pretty dern good. The room was large with an excellent view. I notice the little stuff like scuffed edges on dressers, small pockets of mold in the shower, caulking to cover something...yet here, I noticed nothing but perfection inside my room.

The meeting facilities were nice and the staff was very accommodating across the board.

Room Tip: If you're here for a conference, know which side most of your meetings are on and try to get in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo County, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

California Association of Realtors Winter Meetings 2014 were held here, and it is a wonderful facility. It is easy to get around, and there are some great places to eat and shop just steps away!

My room had been just updated and it was wonderful!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Two huge towers adjoining each other w/ massive check in area & rooftop open main pool area above. Plenty of house restaurants from a deli style / coffee area for a quick bite, to a real pub/sports bar, 2 formal restaurants of which one is by the water & a beautiful top bar on one of the towers w/ sweeping views of SD.

Of course you are right next to Seaport Village & 2 blocks away from Gaslamp Quarter for plenty of shops & other dining choices. Besides the main expansive main pool area there is one labeled
adult. Self enforced, because while we were there a couple brought their kid to splash around.

The room was a corner King not huge but adequate, cost a little extra but worth it. The bed was comfy w/ sweeping views from every angle. The windows however were fairly dirty which takes away some of the wow factor. I guess its a big chore to do the windows on both towers on a regular basis but if you are spending hundreds of $'s per night you have expectations.
We got this on a Travelzoo or Groupon deal so I cant be too picky:)

The sitting furniture I found a little too modern & angular & not very comfy, so you are forced to spend more time in bed. There is a nice desk & exec chair w/ plenty of USB jacks & outlets. Big screen TV too. Bathroom was spacious & modern, plenty of towels & toiletries.

Parking you have two choices: self park $28 (ouch) on a adjoining structure w/ easy access or valet w/ a steep $40 (double ouch) price. Hyatt has always been in the forefront of nickel & diming for everything. One reason I don't visit Hyatt as often unless I get a really decent deal & put up w/ the annoying fees. Yes, water bottles available in your room are an extra $5 & WiFi is an additional charge as well, $10. There is a Starbucks across the street so wasn't a big deal. Some Hyatt resorts hit you with a resort fee as well.. this one doesn't.
The best feature of this is Hyatt is the location right next to a lot of the waterfront attractions of SD. There is a Marriott & a Hilton further down the boardwalk a little further away from Seaport Village. An Embassy Suites across the street as well but not waterfront.

Room Tip: Corner King on Seaport tower gives you sweeping views of Coronado Bridge on one side & USS Midwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We are staying here for a Realtor convention and to me it is amazing that we have not had to leave the property for any of the meetings. Talk about convenient! The rooms are clean, modern, comfortable and mine has an incredible view of the Harbor. The fact that you don't have to leave the hotel is great - however you probably should get out and just jog down the street to the Gaslamp district and enjoy all the restaurants and fun that it has to offer, or meander to Seaport Village to get some great eats also.

Room Tip: I am on the 22nd floor of the Harbor tower- convenient to all the events etc. The elevators, even t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

The hotel is very large and very well laid out very close to the Gaslamp district of the city and next door to the Convention centre. We parked a car which was very straight forward and the breakfast was very good. The Check in staff were very efficient and the concierge were very helpful and always happy to help. The rooms are very very and spaciously laid out. The beds are very comfortable and the wall to ceiling windows are very welcome and the views are great across the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Green Hotel in San Diego
#48 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and largest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high on the magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Kin Spa, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and a new upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has 125,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.