We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My visit to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego to your Saves list
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #19 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“My visit to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I had good and bad experiences with the hotel. Good: the location, the room and the view, breakfast variation.
Bad: I've experienced three incident which wasn't expected from the hotel!
1- the day of check in we were assigned to a room different than the one we've been told at the reception.

2- We went to laundry in San Diego and gave them the hotel address to along with our name and room number. But guess what? When we return from a day tour to the hotel at night. I asked the bellman about our laundry. He checked a list if names with room numbers, and he said no ma'am nothing there is no laundry for u arrived today! I called the laundry and they assured me that they gave it to the bellman at the hotel. We started arguing about the laundry and (thanks god) I mentioned that the laundry was in a big colorful sack which has Seattle word written on it. He then shake his head and said: ooh I remember that bag! He told me that the owner of this bag already took it. I was shocked and it turned out that he gave it to other guest at the hotel. I told him how come? Haven't you check the name and the room number before handing him the bag?! He then said nothing was written in the paper. Then he called his manager and they thought they should enter that guest room and bring the bag. It took like 2 hour (arguing, checking with the manager, checking the guest room). Until they came bag with our laundry ! And surprisingly my name and my room never was on the bag!
3- We were charged twice after checking out. And it did not show up until the next day when we've already left San Diego. I had to call them and explain that on the phone.. until they realized it was their mistake !

It would be nice if they take more care about those issues! It's annoying!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,606
    1,066
    348
    136
    102
See reviews for
605
730
131
1,375
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (863)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

our 3 days in San diego we stayed at the Grand Hyatt.The lobby was really beautiful but then the room was a little disappointing.We asked for a ocean view but our view was on the Marriot Hotel and the city more than the ocean.We had a high floor room so we could have a quiet and nice sleep.The room itself was average,the forniture just ok and we complained because in the bathroom there was just soap and not a shower gel.Bathroom was not spacious,no window.Upon our arrival we bought the internet connection and discovered it was not working,when we called the front desk to ask about it,we did not have any help.We had it work just because the person at the club floor was kind and with 2 phone calls we could be connected.The good thing is that is close to San Diego downtown,just 10 min walk away,and the sorroundings are very nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Had an upper floor room with a view of the ocean. Front desk people friendly. Beautiful lobby. Seaport Village just steps away from the hotel. Room was nice but bed seemed a little worn out and past it's time. Had requested a quiet room on reservation but was given a room next to elevator. Reserved room that included continental breakfast items: egg sandwich, cereals, breads, juices, etc. Only problem was that they ran out of the egg sandwiches and people were being told there would be a 15-20 minute wait. One would think for being an upscale hotel there should have been better planning for breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed there for a night and the experience was wonderful. All staffs were helpful and professional, the location was convenient and the facilities were clean. We especially love the hotel breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for one night at the Manchester Grand Hyatt on November 2nd. My first reaction upon walking into the lobby was wow. Grand really is the word to describe this place. Beautiful chandaliers, floor to ceiling paintings and the staff are all very welcoming and helpful. We were there celebrating my birthday and the front desk agent upgraded our room and sent up a box of delicious truffles and a bottle of wine. The room was on the 30th floor overlooking the bay with an amazing view of Coronado. The bed was very comfortable and the room very modern. We explored the hotel and had it not been so cold we would have taken advantage of the pool. The hotel offers a large family pool overlooking the bay as well as an adults only pool located next to the spa. The fitness center was large and high tech. There are plenty of on-site dining options as well as a couple of bars/lounges. We had drinks at the Top of the Hyatt bar. Drinks weren't cheap but the cozy atmoshpere and the panoramic view is worth the price. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet as well which I believed to be worth the price you pay.

As for the hotel location....EXCELLENT. Just out the back door of the hotel you step out onto the bay and right into Sea Port Village. Go out the front door and you are just 2 blocks away from Gaslamp. We walked down for drinks and dinner with no problem. If walking isn't your thing, there are plenty of taxis to take you downtown for about $12 each way or a bike taxi which is fun and can be negotiated for $10 each way. Parking at the hotel is $28.00 a day.

Overall it was a great experience and I look forward to returning very soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bay view...it's worth it! Also, if you're celebrating something speci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hellertown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed here for a conference with my company that was held at the convention center and although I am a Marriott person all the way, I would say that this hotel was very nice. Although it was not as close as the Marriott which is basically attached to the convention center it was still very close - only maybe 3 blocks and a nice walk especially in the San Diego climate. Also, if you walk along the back side (along the water) instead of along the street, there are restaurants along the way which makes it convenient for dinner or lunch during long days at the convention hall and I didn't have to go out of my way to have a nice meal. My only comment is that every morning I would stop at the little café in the lobby for a bottle of juice, banana and maybe a granola bar and I believe it was around $15 which seems a little steep although that is probably just the area of San Diego because prices everywhere seemed to be inflated. Also, we ate in the restaurant in the lobby for lunch the one day and again one night for dinner and both times the service wasn't very good and food was only okay. However, it looks like they were bulding a brand new area across the street of shopping and restaurants (including the Cheesecake Factory and Seasons 52) which will provide even more dining options. Overall, it was very nice and convenient for a convention center event.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, Ca
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 days. This hotel is big! The rooms were nice and clean. We had a view of the water which was really nice. The staff (front desk and the concierge) were helpful.
We were there in August so we used the pool/ jacuzzi everyday. They also have s'mores kits you can purchase in the lobby (or you can walk to Ralph's several blocks away) and you can make s'mores at night at the fire pit near the pool. The hotel is very close to Seaport Village and walking distance to the Gaslamp district. We also walked to Petco park for a baseball game at night which was nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#10 Green Hotel in San Diego
#49 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
#55 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.