We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Save Saved
You added Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #31 of 269 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Huntington Woods, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Only have wonderful things to say about this hotel. Staff was great, room was beautiful and clean. Pool areas were very well kept and inviting. Enjoyed the fire pit every night we stayed. Brought dinner back for the belle guys, loved stoping and talking with them. Hotel is pet friendly. Location of the hotel was great market up the street, coffee shops, rail system right outside the door. Took a taxi to and from the hotel.

Room Tip: Stayed on the same side as the USS Midway
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,717 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,228
    937
    326
    129
    97
See reviews for
517
613
119
1118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (733)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights before a cruise. The bellmen were so friendly when we drove up and allowed us to leave the car as we checked in. Check in was very fast and we were given a room on the 32nd floor of the Harbor Tower which was a Club room. The room was clean although not that large. The bathroom was an average size with nice toiletries. We had breakfast every day on the 33rd floor and they had a very nice selection of hot and cold foods. We had lunch one day at Sally's and the other day we ate in the Seaport Village which was a very short walk. Check out was done on-line and was super easy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Hotel is in a very nice area of San Diego. Within walking distance of lots os lots of great attractions. I'll stay again for sure. Right on the bay with great sidewalks for walking or riding. The Gaslamp district is just a couple of blocks away with about anything you can imagine in the way of restaurants and entertainment.



Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My partner and I decided last minute to head to San Diego for his birthday, literally making reservations a few hours before we drove down. We usually stay here when we head down to San Diego because we travel with our little dog. The hotel seems to have gotten better since our last visit. Check in was easy, fast and friendly as usual. They even gave the dog his own bowl and some treats. Since the reservation was made so late we weren't sure what the room was going to be and we were pleasantly surprised. The newly remodeled room was a breathe of fresh air from the last visit. We really like the new modern look of the room. All the staff was friendly, helpful and made us and our dog feel welcome. Even one of the property's restaurant's Sally's was great. When we told the waitress it was my partner's birthday, she came out with a number of desserts for him. So many we had to take most of them back to the room with us. We enjoyed ourselves so much we ended up staying an extra night and being late for work Monday morning. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in a club room which was really nice (the rooms were remodeled since our last stay) with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I recently attended a conference in San Diego and i stayed at the Manchester Grand Hyatt for 5 nights. I had stayed here a few years ago and had a good experience so when I saw great rates offered for this hotel while surfing the net, I took advantage.

The hotel was just renovated earlier this year so the decor appears current. The hotel is clean and the rooms are spacious with comfortable beds. Pillows are down/feather combo and the sheets are good. The bathroom is roomy. The packaging of the toiletries (shampoo, lotion, conditioner etc) leaves much to be desired; they look like the ones you get in a cheap motel.

The room is equipped with a flat screen TV, a safe and a small fridge. There is a gym/fitness center and 2 outdoor pools. The pool near the Kin Spa is an Adult-only pool which is more ideal for people who want to swim laps. The use of these amenities is free for hotel guests.

There is a daily charge for internet/ wifi. Valet parking cost $40/ day, self-parking is $28/day.

The hotel is closer to the northern end of the San Diego convention center which can be reached by foot in approximately 10 minutes. Add another 5 minutes if you have to go to the southern portion of the convention center. The Seaport Village is located just behind the hotel and it offers shopping and restaurants which are easily accessible to hotel guests. You can also walk to San Diego 's Little Italy but this may take 20-30 minutes. There is a Starbucks at the lobby that serves hot sandwiches, bread/muffins and coffee.

My wife complained about the poor service from housekeeping because they failed to clean our room on one of the days. There is no seating area in the main lobby thus families with kids have to stand while waiting to get checked in.

Overall, this is a clean & decent 4-star hotel that is close enough to the convention center. If you want something even closer, you may want to check out the Marriott if your meeting is on the north end of the convention center. For meetings located in the southern portion of the convention center, you may want to checkout the Hilton Bayfront hotel or the other hotels in the Gaslamp area (Omni or Hilton Gaslamp).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was overall a really nice hotel. I stayed here on business so was not really concerned with cost. It is costly at over 300 dollars per night for a standard hotel room. The room I was in had a nice view of the bay. It was very clean and the cleaning staff did an excellent job. The beds were extremely comfortable. I probably would not choose to stay here if I was paying myself unless the rate was much more affordable however San Diego in General is very expensive. It is Ina convenient location being just a few short blocks to the convention center and gaslight area. It is adjacent to Seaport Village which had several tourist type shops to look around in .

Room Tip: Higher floors provide better views. Stayed in seaport tower on only 12th floor and still had nice v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013


Overall was good. but reason I took out one rating, because of customer service in lobby.

I was standing in line, they were still chatting and did not care customer was waiting. and they gave me look why are you standing there..kind.

I wish they can educate staff more. All other people was great except that section.

So, was kind upset.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Green Hotel in San Diego
#48 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and largest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high on the magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Kin Spa, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and a new upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has 125,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Amex, Otel and Venere so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.