We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego to your Saves list
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #19 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was overall a really nice hotel. I stayed here on business so was not really concerned with cost. It is costly at over 300 dollars per night for a standard hotel room. The room I was in had a nice view of the bay. It was very clean and the cleaning staff did an excellent job. The beds were extremely comfortable. I probably would not choose to stay here if I was paying myself unless the rate was much more affordable however San Diego in General is very expensive. It is Ina convenient location being just a few short blocks to the convention center and gaslight area. It is adjacent to Seaport Village which had several tourist type shops to look around in .

Room Tip: Higher floors provide better views. Stayed in seaport tower on only 12th floor and still had nice v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,787
    1,142
    363
    144
    107
See reviews for
676
790
136
1,491
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (925)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arcadia, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013


Overall was good. but reason I took out one rating, because of customer service in lobby.

I was standing in line, they were still chatting and did not care customer was waiting. and they gave me look why are you standing there..kind.

I wish they can educate staff more. All other people was great except that section.

So, was kind upset.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Hotel Rooms: Ours had recently been renovated and was in great condition. The views from the rooms are fantastic.

Pool: needs an entire overhaul. It is not competitive in today's market. It was actually off putting.

Layout for Meetings: The layout of this hotel as it relates to meetings and events is poor. Everything is spread out and there really isn't an area where everyone can congregate.

Club Room: While the Hyatt does not have the best club room - it did make this hotel a much nicer experience. The breakfast was very good, staff was great. Pre- dinner service was great, although desert service and afternoon service could be better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Nice hotel first off. Rude entitled staff and culture that thinks its OK to nickle and dime you for every move. Further the area has the smell of a 'tourist trap" and this may help produce the "nickle and dime entitlement." The restaurant on site including Sally's is an absolute joke. Don't kid your self into thinking the advertised price, already ridiculous, does not include 26 parking per night, 30% tax, no internet, various other taxes and a non-responsive staff.

Great looks poor quality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Shinstashoebuffalo,

Thank you for so much for your candid comments about your most recent stay with us at our hotel. We pay close attention to these reviews in order for us to grow and evolve as needed. That being said I am sorry that your stay with us was not the greatest. Service is and will always be our number one priority and I have forwarded these comments to our Director of Rooms in order to ensure our staff is doing everything they can to make our guests comfortable during their stay. I am also sorry to hear that you were unaware of the taxes charged along with your rate, but I ensure you those taxes are the same among all downtown San Diego hotels. We do feel our parking is priced comparably to the local area.

Once again, thank you so much for you review and we look forward to welcoming you back to America’s Finest City.

Kristin Helms
Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We frequently visit San Diego and have stayed in various hotels in various areas. From the moment we stepped into the Manchester we loved it! It is definitely Grand! The staff was courteous and professional. The lobby was clean and inviting. We were booked into one of the updated rooms. It was modern and on trend. It was very refreshing to see a new decor style. Beautiful views from the floor to ceiling windows. The bathroom clean and modern. The beds were so comfortable with textured high headboards. There was a lcd screen tv, refrigerator, coffee maker, etc.My son and husband enjoyed the rooftop sport courts while my daughter and I enjoyed the coffee bar in the lobby. I wish we had time to enjoy the gorgeous pool. I am a photographer and the rooms would be great for boudoir sessions or pre wedding sessions. The hotel felt more like a studio apartment than a hotel room. Great job Hyatt. We will definitely be visiting for a much longer stay next time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed at this hotel over labor day weekend. Nicely appointed, modern rooms. Large windows with beautiful bay views. This is a large hotel frequented by convention groups so check-in was very crowded. But the front desk is super efficient and quick checking people in, so there was barely any wait. Great location--walking distance to good restaurants, shopping and the pier. Internet is reasonably fast and reliable. Room service was lightening fast (less than 15 minutes from order to delivery) and the food was delicious. Really enjoyed my stay at the Grand Hyatt and it will be my first choice for future travel to San Diego whether it be for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: High floor with bay views are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Spent two nights at this hotel for a conference and was pleased with everything about the hotel, except, the food and beverage prices are a bit steep.

Room 3228 in the Harbor Tower was awesome...the decor is very modern but the placement of the sofa and sofa table by the huge windows overlooking San Diego Bay were perfect for relaxing or working on computer, or having a snack. However, my colleage was on Floor 34 of the Harbor Tower and that view was even more incredible. Nice touch, coffee maker and refrigerator. Contrary to other posts, even thought several conferences were in the hotel, elevator wait time was mimimal.

A must is cocktails watching the sun set in the Harbor Tower's 40th Floor lounge.

This hotel is perfectly located...we walked to dinner in the Gas Lamp Quarters - easy walk. And the Seaport Village shops and restaurant was fun...i totally enjoyed the candlemaking shop.

Plans were to sit by the firepit by the pool on the 4th floor and enjoy a bottle of wine, but we were just too tired...next time.

Room Tip: At checkin I asked for Harbor Tower and the clerk was very accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#10 Green Hotel in San Diego
#49 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Business Hotel in San Diego
#56 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Amex, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.