We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego to your Saves list
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #23 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed there2 years ago. Unbeatable location. My room had fabulous view of the bay. Rooms were little dated at that time. Hope they did some renovations. Lobby is majestic and staff are nice. I might stay there again

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,447
    1,002
    340
    131
    101
See reviews for
570
681
124
1,258
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (805)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This Hyatt was generally a disappointment. We stayed for the 4th July holiday and to get a good view of the fireworks. Stay got off to a weak start when the GP desk check in guy assured us all of a great room with a fabulous view of the firework display, only to get to our room for a view of the Coronado Bridge. In other words, a view in the exact opposite direction. Dishonesty/Machievellian behaviour at check in is always a bad sign, and so it was here. The hotel was full to the brim, and it is pretty clear that the hotel cannot properly accomodate and operate when it is full. Rooms poorly cleaned. Excessive wait times for service in bars and restaurants. They just cannot do it. Pool area was mayhem, and filthy. Why is the pool not heated?

So, I would advice folks to avoid this hotel if they can.

Room Tip: Don't take the word of the check-in guy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianCordova, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Purim,

Thank you for taking the time to share your candid comments about your most recent stay with us here on TripAdvisor. We pay close attention to these reviews in order to grow and evolve as needed. That being said, we are so sorry that your stay was not up to our own standard. Though we do believe that our views of our hotel room are spectacular, to be expecting a view of the bay to view fireworks and to receive something different is definitely a disappointment and frustrating. We ensure that we have enough staff to accommodate all of our guests during this busy holiday weekend and do all that we can to make sure every guest is taken care of. I will be forwarding this review to our Director of Room to ensure that the busy holidays are handled better and that housekeeping is aware of these comments so that they are aware of this situation.

Again, thank you for sharing this review as it is very valuable information to us in order to provide the best experiences possible for our guests visiting San Diego.

Best,

Brian Cordova
Marketing Coordinator
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The hotel is located within a 5 minute walk of the Gaslamp District and the trolley to Old Town is right across the street. You will struggle to find a better location in Downtown San Diego.

We arrived early, around 11.30am, but were allowed to check-in and were even upgraded by the very helpful and friendly front desk staff. In fact every member of staff we came into contact with during our stay was helpful, professional and a credit to the hotel. The room on the 4th floor was fantastic, more like a suite than a room it also had kitchen space and a large dining area. The best feature was the view, even on the 4th floor there is an amazing view of the bay.

We didn't eat here as there are so many options to eat in the Gaslamp Quarter, Little Italy or Old Town. The hotel really was great, we don't have a single negative to say and would love to stay there again on our next visit.

Room Tip: Request a bay view on a higher floor if possible, rooms from the fourth floor up have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located within walking distance to the Gaslamp Quarters, Perform Park, Seaport Village and the Maritime Museum area. The MTS trolley is located across the street. The Old Town Trolley stop is located directly behind the hotel in Seaport Village. The bus stop us only about 2-3 blocks across the street. The staff was very nice and helpful. The rooms are clean and have beautiful views. Are room looked over the harbor towards Cordonado. We were even able to enjoy fireworks from our room, that were being fired on the harbor. Clean, quiet room, helpful, friendly staff, and fantastic location! What else can I say, the Manchester Grand Hyatt, is absolutely perfect! !

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
All Over
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here for a work event as the hotel is huge and very nice. Comfy beds and great restaurants. The conference rooms were great too. At times I felt like the hotel was too big for my taste. We walked so far to get to certain rooms. There was a dance party which was fabulous. The hotel accomodated our organization as we took over their kitchen which negatively impacted their room service orders Im sure. But I guess when the company's paying BIG bucks you kinda take the gripes from your room service guests. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I loved my time at the hotel and was sad to leave. I really appreciated being able to walk to many different restaurants and bars. I didn't realize how great of a location the hotel was in until I arrived. The view from our room of the water and coronado island was amazing. Really great staff at the front desk and housekeeping. Our room was immaculate! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Manchester Grand is very well located, right next to Seaport Village, walking distance to the Convention Center and Gaslamp District. The convenience and location was very nice, especially since we were there for a convention. Using the Bayfront walkway to the Convention Center and elsewhere was nice. The hotel itself was very grandiose and felt very impersonal. It was almost too big for its own good. The elevator situation was slightly ridiculous, I’ve never waited in line for an elevator to guest room floors before. The parking garage was convenient, and while it was also expensive, the cost was comparable to other downtown San Diego hotel parking. The guest rooms were very average. We were told that our room was hypoallergenic and that we “would notice the difference”, but to us, it was just a hotel room. There wasn’t anything incredibly remarkable about it, aside from the beautiful views of San Diego Harbor. One complaint I had with the room was the way the AC unit was situated. I don’t usually have issues with drafts, so this makes me seem like I’m 200 years old, but the vent blew directly at the bed, with no option to redirect the airflow. This meant that we had to turn the AC off at night in order to sleep, which in turn made the room temperature less comfortable. A small thing for us, but if you are sensitive to drafts or temperature, I could see this being a much bigger issue.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#10 Green Hotel in San Diego
#50 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
#55 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Amex, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.