We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Large Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Save Saved
You added Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 10 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #46 of 270 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
knoxville, tn
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Large Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel is huge and typically hosts many large conferences at one time. It is very beautiful and in an excellent location for exploring the sights of San Diego. The rates can be high for this reason and because the hotel is modern in all designs. Despite the high rise design you'll never wait for an elevator. The rooms are standard size with many conveniences. The best part of the experience is the staff and the incredible focus they have on customer service during your stay. Everyone I encountered was polite, considerate and willing to help with anything. That makes this property worth the price. Location, modern design and professional, customer-service orentied staff all combine to ensure a great experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floot with a view of the bay - extra charge for these rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    969
    832
    306
    121
    89
See reviews for
422
540
110
940
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (613)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed 4 nights for conference. Great convenient layout for conference, plus rooms were not overly air conditioned making for comfortable attendance. Very modernly decorated hotel rooms.. Great water view from room. Excellent service in every aspect. Great food..ate in room several times. Even liked conference luncheon food which was better than that from 2 restaurants in gaslamp district to which I attended. Great views from Top of Hyatt and suite on 32nd Floor in Seaport Tower.

Air conditioning seemed to cut off at night and had to get up a lot to adjust. Recycling containers in room. Long list of unusal items supplied for convenience upon request such as hand weights. Nice basic spa in small quarters. Deep tissue massage felt like Swedish massage - not sure that I would do that part of stay again. Two pools with great views. Easy walking to gaslight area. Right next to seaport with great paved trail for outside exercise. Thoroughly enjoyed stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Nice hotel overall but it is a huge property so expect a lot of people. The location is great and the service overall was good. The parking garage is very tight so valet might be better. The breakfast place is decent but the wait was too long

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The reviews are right. This hotel has a grand lobby. In fact, it is a grandiose lobby that connects the two towers: the south tower (Harbor) is newer than the north (Seaport) one. The hotel is massive as well having over 3000 rooms.

Service was excellent. We were greeted cheerfully by all the staff from the wonderful housekeeping staff to the receptionist. All rooms have views. We got a standard room with two double beds on the 31st floor with the awesome city view. The rooms looked and felt very clean. The room had firm comfortable beds (we've been to some hotels where beds have seen better days). The decor tended more towards modern.

That extended to the bathroom. The lav sink was rectangular and shallow. It looked gorgeous but I think that in this case, form came before function since it drained a bit slowly and awkwardly. However, that's nitpicking.

As with other hotels in the area though, WiFi or Internet access in your room comes extra. However, if you're a member of Hyatt Rewards, you may be able to get it for gratis. Otherwise, you can always troop down to the lobby where it is freely available. I have to say that the WiFi signal in our room was quite strong!

Parking is an additional $26/day. I think it is quite punitive particularly for hotel guests (that's about $2 off from the regular rate) but I think that is par with the area. As the term goes, it's the industry standard in the area as is charging for WiFi!

Between 3-8PM, be sure to go up to the Top of the Hyatt on the 40th Floor of the south tower to enjoy jawdropping wraparound views of San Diego. Since these buildings are among the tallest in San Diego (and the tallest along the harbor), you get unobstructed views clear to Coronado Beach and to the hills south of border!

Overall, we had an enjoyable stay at this hotel. It is an ideal choice being close to attractions such as the USS Midway Museum, the Maritime Museum, the cruise terminal, the SD Convention Center, Gaslamp, Petco (SD Padres) Park, and downtown. It is also less than 15 minutes away from the airport. Since this is a huge hotel and is geared for conventions, you may be able to get a good rate in between conventions by searching through sites such as Hotwire.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: It goes without saying that the higher your room is, the better your view will be.
See more room tips
Green Features: The AC unit has a sensor that detects when a person is in the room.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I am absolultley in love with this hotel and all its staff. My experiance was amazing everyone was so nice and helpful! This was my second stay and I got to enjoy the fabulous remodeling of the rooms. I am so glad I came here to enjoy my hotel stay on my vacation! I felt like I was at a resort because it was so amazing! My room was exceptionally clean and the acor was very fancy and modern. The breakfast at lalels was amazing and the waiters, waitresses and cooks were all super nice and the food was out of this world!! Try the waffles with m&ms and the pastries trust me you won't regret it! Also the 2 pools and 3 jacuzzis were very clean, and accommodating with freshly washed pool towels. I can't wait to come back! ( order the carrot cake for room service, best carrot cake I have ever had!!!) lastly our view from our hotel room was absolutely amazing!! I watched the city lights and bay all night. And if you have kids or like fireworks on some rooms you are even able to see the sea world fireworks!!! Can't wait to come back, and would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone who loves to be treated with respect, kindness, and like a true guest!!!:):):):).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a city and bay view to see sea worl fireworks in the summer.
See more room tips
Green Features: Extremly environmentally friendly recycling everywhere and no styrofoam.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Lobby, room and location all were great. Only exception was room alarm clock which was set at 4am, woke us up every morning! Main pool was full of kids, adult pool was deserted. Self parking $high and look old and tired.

Room Tip: $15 extra in advance will give you a room with a view.
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycle bin in the room. I even reused the pool towel!
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The hotel has a mix of old world, grand charm in the lobby and common areas and modern rooms. The location is less than a 10-minute walk from the beach. The upgrade to use the club room is well worth it with quality wine and appetizers included. The breakfast buffet is also of excellent quality (and quantity).

Room Tip: Request ocean views and upgrade to use the grand club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
Manchester Grand Hyatt
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego
Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in San Diego
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#46 Top resorts Hotel in San Diego
#49 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and largest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high on the magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Kin Spa, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and a new upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has 125,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.