We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for Business/Family & Great Amenities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Save Saved
You added Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #32 of 268 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent for Business/Family & Great Amenities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I recently stayed for a week during a conference and was pleased with experience from a personal and professional experience. During the conference, their AV staff was extremely attentive and helpful, making sure everything ran smoothly. (My rechargeable batteries died right before my presentation and a member of the staff quickly replaced them, saving the day!) The event staff, from the technical side to the food, was top notch.
From a personal perspective, it was also a wonderful stay. There are two large pools to relax in after a long day of conferences. *Tip, if it's a bit breezy for your tastes at the main pool, go up one floor to the Adult Only pool. There is better wind coverage there.
The food in the main hotel bar was tasty and reasonably priced, but you don't feel "trapped" in this hotel and forced to eat inside. There are very inexpensive, water-front cafes within steps of the rear entrance to the hotel. You can wander along the water and have access to a variety of shops and a different place to eat each night.
If you feel like getting out to see more of San Diego, public transportation is short walk from the front door. Great location!

Room Tip: Rooms at the facing the pool/at the back of the hotel are more likely to experience faint ringing fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Crowski1,

Thank you so much for sharing your nice comments about our hotel from your most recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear that you were well taken care of and AVT was able to help you during your last minute struggle with your batteries. We are also happy to hear that you had enjoyed our food and beverage option both on and offsite, as we feel our location is top-notch. We hope you have the chance to visit San Diego again sometime soon and hope to welcome you once more.

Thank you again for sharing!

Kristin Helms
Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,622 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,166
    914
    320
    127
    95
See reviews for
488
598
117
1080
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (714)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here from May 1-4. We had never been to San Diego and decided to splurge to get the corner room with floor to ceiling windows. What a view! At night we slept with the shades up and were surrounded by the beautiful harbor lights of the Midway and Seaport Village. We could also see Coronado Island. It was absolutely close to everything...you could walk..take a trolley...At the urging of friends we did visit the Hotel Del in Coronado. While its location on the beach was fantastic, I would not trade our room at the Manchester Hyatt for anything. Even the lobby was gorgeous [much better than the dark, small lobby of the Del]. I hope we can get back to San Diego and we will definitely stay at this Hyatt.

Room Tip: the corner rooms are a beautiful experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear ditchdims,

Thank you for sharing such nice comments about our hotel and your most recent stay with us here on TripAdvisor. We are glad you took advantage of the amazing views our Corner rooms have to offer! The floor to ceiling windows are definitely the way to go. Considering that this was your first visit to San Diego, we are honored that you chose to stay with us and are glad to hear about your intention to return. We hope the hotel contributed to the many memories of your visit and do look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kristin Helms
Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Hotel is minutes from the airport. Taxi was $13. Hotel has a shuttle and were quoted $16 for two people. Taxi to the zoo was $15. Hotel was next to the Redline and were able to get an all day pass for $5 each. Additional all day passes were less because you first have to pay for the card (I think the card was $2). Two stops to Little Italy and 5 stops to Old Town.

Across the street is Kansas City BBQ. A dive bar with excellent BBQ, cheap beer, and was seen on Top Gun. We were able to walk to the Gaslamp District for dinner where there are restaurants and bars from casual to black tie. Seaport Village is located immediately behind the hotel, which is a variety of shops and cafes/coffee shops/desserts. The Convention Center is a 5 minute walk.

The USS Midway is within walking distance. As is Petco Park, home of the Padres.

The hotel cleaning staff was excellent. I requested a few toiletries on a comment card and all was delivered. Our window looked over the pool and fire pit area. We were able to see the harbor, but not the sunset due to the other tower of the hotel unfortunately.

Hotel has a coffee shop with some breakfast and snack items, as well as several restaurants. We only went to the coffee shop which I would liken to a Starbucks.

Overall, we were happy with the hotel. Didn't spend much time there due to exploring the city in between business meetings. In my opinion was overpriced, however. ($289/night was the discounted group rate).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The renovations help to make this hotel a top stop for travelers! The staff is always so helpful and polite! Great location to enjoy a baseball game, dinner at the Gaslamp District, or venture over to Seaport Village and the Midway Museum.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear GMM60750,

Thank you for sharing such nice candid comments about your most recent stay with us here on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit. We are very please to hear your positive reactions to our renovation and especially to our service. We keep service at a constant top priority at our hotel and are happy to hear that you were well taken care of. Thank you for taking advantage of our fantastic location as well. It appears you definitely made the most of your stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kristin Helms
Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a week starting 25th of April, I have to say the room and the views with triple floor to ceiling windows , with views of USS Midway, harbour and dare I say a building site(which I found very interesting), made our week in San Diego. I found the cleaning staff excellent, the bar staff in sports bar very informative who helped map out our days to the zoo, old town , baseball match ect, We can not remember the young lads name(followed by a week in Vegas),but he was also going away that weekend to his dads 70th birthday party, I would like to pass on our sincere thanks for his welcoming and pleasant ways. A slighly pricey hotel, fantastic location, lovely staff and have already passed on your Hotels name to several couples.Thanks.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished corner room overlooking USS Midway, will be more money but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The hotel has a great curbside appeal. It is visible from quite a distance with a striking architecture. The foyer is large and impressive. The reception staff were pleasant, respectful but perhaps a little inexperienced. The first room I was assigned was tired. with a quick call to the front desk they promptly moved me to a refurbished room. The room was comfortable with a sound system which accommodated & charged my iphone. There was free Wifi in one area of the foyer but not in the room. Breakfast had a wait of over 30 minutes so I went next door to the Marriot where I had a fantastic buffet. The check out was prompt and pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room. There are views of the bay, if that's important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here on business and had a great time. I walked into the huge lobby and was greeted by some very friendly employees. The location was several blocks away from the train depot, but close enough to walk. It was also walking distance to the Gaslamp District as well as the pier area. The hotel has two very large towers that overlook the harbor and affords a great view of the surrounding area. I didn't have enough time to really enjoy the hotel, but will definitely plan a leisure trip in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear 46JY,

Thank you so much for sharing your nice comments about our hotel here on TripAdvisor. We pay very close attention to these comments to help us grow and evolve as needed. That being said, we are so happy to know that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us! We have always placed our service levels at the top of our priorities and are glad to know that you were well taken care of during your stay. We do hope you have more leisure time on your next visit. There is so much to do in America's Finest City!

Kristin Helms
Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Green Hotel in San Diego
#49 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Business Hotel in San Diego
#55 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and largest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high on the magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Kin Spa, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and a new upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has 125,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Amex, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.