We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Save Saved
You added Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #27 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
North Carolina
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Expensive but great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a pricey hotel on the bay in San Diego. The rooms are average and equivalent to other Hyatt hotels. The high price is for the location not the rooms. It is right on the water so you can get great exercise walking along the bay. It is also a 10 minute walk to the Gaslamp Quarter, where you'll find great restaurants. You won't need a car unless you plan to leave the area. Parking is expensive if you bring a car. Entire staff was very friendly and helpful. Only complaints were the noise from the cable car/train outside the hotel and the satellite signal was intermittent on the TV.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the bay to avoid the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,331
    972
    332
    131
    98
See reviews for
553
648
119
1177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (765)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed in the recently refurbished Harbor Tower.
Very Grand reception and stylish modern room overlooking the pool area and San Diego Harbor.
The room was tasteful and very comfortable.
The bed was just perfect and floor length windows provided a stunning view. There was a comfortable seating area in front of the window.
The hotel is in a great location and all staff I encountered were very friendly and happy to help.
The hotel gym was exceptionally well equiped although when I visited, 6 am each day, it was very busy. I understand the hotel was at full occupancy so may not always be the case.
The weights area was not too busy but I couldn't get on any cardio machine. No big deal, the hotel backs onto a great area area for running outdoor so it actually did me a favour.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear nicholas h,

Thank you for sharing your nice comments about our hotel here on TripAdvisor. We pay close attention to these reviews to help us grow and evolve as needed. That being said, we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in April. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our newly remodeled rooms as well as our spectacular location. We have always kept our service levels a top priority. We are happy to hear that you were well taken care of during your stay. We appreciate your patience with our gym as our hotel was exceptionally busy during your stay, but we are glad to hear it all worked out for the better, because I personally feel the scenery and multiple running trails located in our backyard are amazing! I am glad you were able to experience them.

Thank you again for sharing, and we hope to see you again sometime soon!

Kristin Helms
Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I just got back from a 4 night stay at the Manchester Grand Hyatt in San Diego following a conference. The staff was friendly, the location was great as were the common areas, but the room could have been better.

I will blame the room on me as I could have requested to be moved, but I was on the 4th floor, the same floor as the pool so my room smelled like a pool. The water pressure was a bit too much (first and last time I will ever make that comment) and there was construction going on above my head. The construction ended at 6 which would have usually been okay but I was conferencing and was in severe need of a nap. Otherwise, no noise from outside.

Anyway, otherwise the stay was good. The room service menu was impressive and the quality of the food and service there was good. The hotel is on a little harbor area where the restaurants are bad but the view and little walkabout is nice. It's about a 10 minute easy walk from the Gaslamp district. The front desk staff was helpful with checkout, especially as I was over-complicating things by going on standby on an earlier flight out of SD.

For anyone traveling to SD soon, get your food and souvenirs at the hotel before heading to the airport as it is under construction and bare bones.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the 4th floor, otherwise the rest of the rooms from what I heard had a nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at this luxury hotel for six nights in April. The room allocated had a fantastic view (37 th floor) and was clean,quiet and very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was the best of any hotel that we had previously stayed and reasonably priced too.
The location and access to all areas was excellent. One evening we enjoyed a special meal at SALLY's Fish Restaurant which was expensive but worth paying that bit extra.
Would highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Ask Harbour View - high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOHNSTOWN, PA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This was my first time staying at this hotel. I have attended meetings here before and thought it would be a great hotel but sadly it was average. I stayed in room 524 and paid $30 extra per night for a smoking room. When I booked my smoking room I wasn’t told this.

I travel a lot for business and less for pleasure. This was a business trip and I didn’t have a choice of hotel.

The good:
Lots of storage space in rooms, there is a big storage drawer under the one couch that you might not notice.
Room had a fridge
The bathroom was very nice with quiet flush, built in nightlight, nice sliding door, and soft bathroom tissue
Nice room keys that you just touch to the handle
Lots of seating in the room
Free safe
Big TV
Room service steak sandwich was beyond good and crème Brule was ok

The bad:
Internet is way too expensive, $10 to $13 depending on what you order
This hotel wants to be elegant but they nickel and dime you so it just doesn’t make it
Couldn’t find anywhere to print boarding pass free, asked front desk and they told me to pay at the FedEx desk to print it. In a follow up email to my stay the manager told me there was someone to print it free. Why couldn’t the front desk tell me that?
$5 water in room that I was charged for but didn’t use
Two billing errors for my room
I wasn’t given soap in my room the first day
My cleaning person never finished my room
She also walked in the shower with dirty shoes to wipe the walls but didn’t clean it up so every day but the first I had dirty footprints in my shower, YUCK
No decaf coffee in room until I asked and left her daily tip with the note
The movies were more expensive than other hotels I’m used to
My room was very dusty which I thought was strange because I had an air filter running all the time since it was a smoking room
Overall housekeeping and the front desk assistance were my biggest complaints.

Will I stay here again, probably not. I have stayed at other hotels in the area for a better price and have gotten much better service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viera, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Great Hotel, excellent staff, close to everything. We stayed here on business so received a business rate, but this place is definitely worth it. We had a view of the harbor that was beautiful. The staff was very helpful in recommending restaurants and helping to print out our boarding passes. WiFi was fast in the room, no issues conducting business here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear DisneyFanSue,

Thank you for sharing your nice comments about our hotel here on TripAdvisor. We are so glad to here that you enjoyed your stay while traveling on business. Service has always been a top priority for us at Hyatt and we are glad you were well taken care of.

We hope to host you again sometime soon, whether it be for business or pleasure!

Take Care!

Kristin Helms
Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I had the opportunity to overnight at the Manachester Grand Hyatt in San Diego back in mid-April. What a delight from the time I arrived till the time I left. The Staff were excellent - they were able to sense just the right amount of attention that I required. The rooms were some of the most comfortable you'll find at the price point. This hotel will be home away from home in San Diego.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear ZAismy2ndHome,

Thank you for sharing your nice comments about our hotel here on TripAdvisor. We pay close attention to these reviews to help us grow and evolve as needed. That being said, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We have always kept our service levels as a top priority and we are thrilled to hear that you were well-accommodated. Your comfort while traveling is very important to us and are very glad to hear you felt at home.

We hope you come visit us again soon!

Kristin Helms
Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#12 Green Hotel in San Diego
#49 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and largest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high on the magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Kin Spa, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and a new upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has 125,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.