We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good and the bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego to your Saves list
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #19 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Scottsdale, AZ
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“The good and the bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel is in a fantastic location, walking distance to the gaslamp quarter and tons of restaurants, bars, shops and has fabulous views of both the water and downtown. The lobby is also gorgeous! So why only three stars? We arrived about 5:00 p.m. and there was a HUGE line at check in. After waiting about 30 minutes in line we were told our room wasn't ready and they would call us when one became available. We asked if we would need to wait in the line again and they said yes. About an hour later we received the call and then waited in line about another 30 minutes to get our keys. So, finally got to check in to our room about 7:00. Our room must have been one of the unrenovated rooms because it looked nothing like the photos on their site. It was pretty dated but good size and clean. Also, the parking fee seemed a bit high but I guess that's the way it goes downtown.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,931
    1,206
    375
    151
    116
See reviews for
705
832
139
1,642
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (958)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I attended a conference at the beginning of January, and stayed in Grand Hyatt for four nights. My room was truly great, with wonderful views on the 27th floor, the staff friendly and attentive (although they missed leaving soaps in my room one day too), the 40th floor bar great for evening drinks (and San Diego/Coronado by-night views), breakfast lovely (albeit no a la carte menu). The shop very well stocked, vicinity to the Seaport Village just steps away from the hotel. All in all I had a great stay - certainly recommended for business and exploring the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear JMGent,

We appreciate your feedback here on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed you room and the spectacular views they have to offer. The Top of the Hyatt truly is a one-of-a-kind bar, 40 floors up and we are glad you were able to experience them during your conference.

All in all, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon!

Best,
Kristin Helms
Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
692 helpful votes 692 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights in early January for a business conference. It is a huge hotel but the staff do a fine job of paying attention to the guests' requests. Room service breakfasts were good and prompt. The 40th floor cocktail lounge is probably lovely, but with hundreds of hustling conventioneers there, it was not very much fun for me. 'd try it again on a slower evening...lovely views of the bay and Point Loma, cruise ships, etc.
Room was poorly stocked upon arrival (no soap!) but a note to housekeeping took care of that the next day. Housekeeping was very good, room was clean and comfortable.
One issue: NOISE. We were in Harbor Tower, 24th floor. There is airport noise and the Trolly noice--a ding ding ding as they lower the grade crossing gates. This goes on all night. We sort of got used to it, but I thought I'd give it a mention. Also, as others have noted, DOOR SLAMMING is a real problem...the place is not very soundproof and one can hear water running in the adjoining rooms, doors shutting, conversations in the hallway. Valet parking in $36/night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a great downtown hotel to spend the holidays. It is very large and during the rest of the year, it is a popular hotel for conventions. Therefore, good leisure rates are available during the holiday season. We had the AAA Bed and Breakfast Rate which was fantastic. Upon arrival, we requested a bay view room on a high floor and were assigned one without hesitation. We had a scenic view of the bay and downtown San Diego. We started each morning at Lael’s, which serves a fabulous buffet breakfast. It may well be the best hotel breakfast we’ve ever had. I learned that locals eat there on Sundays and New Year’s Day. On those days, the wait can be 20 – 35 minutes. Most other mornings, Lael’s is pretty calm and quiet. For your convenience, self-serve juice and coffee is available in the cheerful waiting area. The staff was always pleasant and never seemed rattled by so many people. Instead of waiting, I suggest you take a walk outback to Seaport Village and await your page. The time will go by quickly. After the extremely filling breakfast, I suggest you take a long walk along the Embarcadero, a six-mile walk which may well be the most beautiful walkway in the US. Many of San Diego’s attractions are actually located along the Embarcadero, just a very short walk from the hotel. Located in the Gaslamp District, Horton Plaza, a downtown mall, is only walking distance from the hotel. Besides the usual dept. stores and shops, there is also a movie theater, which we went to twice. A trolley stop is right across the street and is a convenient option for touring other popular sites. However, the areas to where it travels are limited. We visit San Diego on a regular basis to visit good friends, so we have visited the popular attractions many times and did not need a car. The parking lot is $25/day, but I would strongly advise renting a car to get around to the beach areas and other attractions. The hotel is currently under renovation, but it is hardly noticeable. Request a renovated room. Our room was large, beautifully renovated and clean. One day out of the nine days that we were there, our room was not serviced. We called housekeeping and they responded immediately, and gave us some extra goodies which was a nice gesture. The concierge desk was also very helpful for mapping out trolley routes and other points of interest. I strongly suggest you consider the Hyatt for a Christmas/New Year’s vacation in San Diego. You won’t regret it. Bring a warm jacket, it will not be warm.

Room Tip: Request a bay view, recently renovated, high floor room. Bring warm clothing. Get the breakfast pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear jazzlover1212,

We are ecstatic to hear how much you enjoy staying at our hotel, especially during the holiday season. We are also very appreciative of your feedback regarding Lael's Restaurant. We pride ourselves on having one of the best views and locations that San Diego has to offer, and we are happy to see that you took full advantage of it. If you enjoy Seafood, try dining at Sally's Seafood on the Water, steps away from your hotel room during your next visit.

Once again, we sincerely appreciate your review and are happy to hear that you loved your newly renovated room. We are very excited about our new guestrooms and we are glad you got to experience them.

We hope to see you again soon!

Best,
Kristin Helms
Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel right on the waterfront near the gaslamp district. My room had recently been renovated, was clean, bright, good size, and had a nice view. The elevators have adequate capacity (which is often a problem in large hotels). The continental breakfast at Lael's in the hotel is superb. It was certainly pleasant to return to this room after having interviewed job candidates at the grungy depressing embassy suites across the road.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach CA
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were in San Diego for a large conference (as in it took 20 hotels to house all of those attending) and stayed at the Hyatt, which was the conference headquarters. The staff by and large did a first rate job of dealing with masses of people, most of them on tight schedules. It is adjacent to Seaport Village, which has many restaurants and shops, and there is a lovely boardwalk/path along the harbor just out the back door. Ask for a room on a higher floor, which will deal with the traffic noise issue to a large degree, the views are stunning, and the windows open. Our room had a refrigerator - a major plus - but for some reason was very dusty. Housekeeping was on top of things the first two days, but failed to remove trash or replace glasses and coffee cups on the third and fourth, although they made the bed and brought fresh towels. We could have complained to housekeeping services, but did not.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better. The highest floors in the Harbor Tower have a dedicated elevator, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Hi, my wife and I spent the night at the Hyatt for New Year's Eve. Wow! The room was modern and comfortable. Great shower, and super comfy bed. And, the view of the san Diego Bay was fabulous. There are a number of bars to eat and drink at. We enjoyed Redfield's, they have a great (small) selection of local micro brews on tap. The turkey burgers at the Grand lounge are awesome.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Gary S,

Thank you for your feedback here on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you chose to spend New Year's Eve with us. We offer spectacular views of the San Diego Bay, and the surrounding area. We are also glad to hear you enjoyed the food and beverage in both Redfield's and the Grand Lobby Bar. Please come see us again! We offer local's like yourself an exclusive 20% discount on our Spa services at our Kin Spa Mon-Thu.

Best,
Kristin Helms
Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#10 Green Hotel in San Diego
#50 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#56 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, BookIt.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.