We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego to your Saves list
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #19 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good service hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

the hotel has helpful staff and a good location in san diego...wonderful waterfront views..the rooms are not the most modern in the world but well furnished and clean..breakfast is excellent, and saves you walking around early morning to find a place to eat ..

Room Tip: good quality facilities ...rooms a little dated but clean and well equiped
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear ian h,
Thank you for your valuable feedback here on TripAdvisor. We're thrilled to hear you found our staff helpful and our views beautiful. I'm happy to report we're currently renovating all of our guest rooms. The new look and feel incorporates classic lines with a modern interpretation and features subtle nods to the rich maritime history of San Diego.
We hope to welcome you back very soon so you can experience the new rooms first hand.

Warmest Regards,

Kristin Helms
eMarkeing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,609
    1,066
    348
    136
    102
See reviews for
606
731
131
1,376
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (864)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pocatello, Idaho
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I got a great room on a higher floor of the Harbour Tower. I believe these are recently remodeled - they are very sleek and modern in appearance. Large flat-screens, nice furnishings, good layout. Spectacular view to boot.

Property has a good "feel" to it - upscale but not pretentious. Bars and restaurants have nice atmosphere. Staff is of top quality everywhere you go. Had a sudden illness which required a trip to the emergency room in the middle of the night, in an unknown city, and they assisted in everything happening smoothly and quickly. Follow-up call to check on my welfare as well.

Conference amenities (why I was there) also more than adequate. Good place for large functions. Fantastic location at the harbor.

Wish I could have enjoyed San Diego more - but I did enjoy the Hyatt Manchester alot.

Room Tip: Harbor tower has remodeled rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear SEIdahoThomas,
Thank you for your kind feedback here on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear about your illness during your stay, but glad our wonderful staff were able to help and make you feel comfortable. We care tremendously about the well being of our guests and want to ensure each and ever person who comes to visit enjoys their stay. Thank you for your nice comments and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Kristin Helms
eMarketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed in a newly remodeled room in the tower, and it was just lovely. The furnishings are sleek and contemporary, the room and bathroom were impeccably clean, and the bed comfortable with nice white cotton linens and down comforter. Our room also had a gorgeous view of the city and water.
The location of the hotel is terrific. A walk to the gaslamp district, Horton Plaza, the convention center and the waterfront. The fitness center has a number of cardio machines and a good selection of weight lifting equipment. The pool area is gorgeous but I didn't have a chance to swim. The staff was friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear SylLovesToTravel ,
Thank you for the nice comments after your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms and spectacular bay views. We are in the midst of renovating all rooms, so we're excited to receive feedback on the new look and feel.
We're also happy to hear you enjoyed our convenient location in downtown San Diego and our onsite amenities. Please come back and see us again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Kristin Helms
eMarketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed at this beautiful hotel last week for a professional meeting. I had an unsatisfactory experience in one of the hotel restaurants, and not only was the charge for my meal removed from my bill, but I received a note of apology, accompanied by a bottle of wine and a basket of treats. This is a first-class hotel that will ensure that you have a first-class experience!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Diane,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. It is our number one goal to make sure all of our guests enjoy their time with us, so we are glad to hear you left feeling happy with the customer service. We do hope you'll be back to visit us again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Kristin Helms
eMarketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

just stayed at the hyatt manchester. i requested a remodeled room. i've got to say that hyatt has done this right. modern look with beautiful bathroom. great view and any outside noise was silenced with the window closed. very covenient location and walking distance to a great bagel place for morning breakfast. a top notch hotel for sure.

Room Tip: 25th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear central_valley-sb-ad,
We are very excited to hear you like our newly renovated rooms. The concept is a modern interpretation with classic lines and subtle nods to the rich maritime history in San Diego. Thank you for providing us feedback and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Kristin Helms
eMarketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I am a loyal fan of Hyatt. Wasn't sure about the Manchester and am not sure where the owner stands with politics lately. With that said, I had a nice stay... just one night as I was heading to the Park Hyatt in Carlsbad. The location is perfect - just a 10 minute cab ride from the airport. The hotel is huge so if you want intimacy this is not the place. While the place is huge, it is not impersonal. The staff is friendly and helpful. I took in a spa treatment which was good - but a great spa but good. The hotel is undergoing decorating renovations. The original early 90s green and maroon decor is dated. The shift in decor is dramatic and I suppose will mean doing the public areas. I spent two times at the adult pool - had it all to myself. The pool was clean with new tiles. I ordered room service twice - once at the pool and once in room. Both meals came quickly and were good. The waiter did warn me of the seagulls - which one did settle down and watched me eat my chips.Breakfast buffet is the usual Hyatt - with a step up. But, given the history of Hyatt, the bagels need to be "real" bagels. Grandpa Pritzker would not approve. The only negatives were - my room was one of the "to be renovated" which is fine but it was slightly tired. The real negative was that there was a foul, putrid smell when I ran the sink faucet. Love the Portico products as always.

Room Tip: The corner KIng rooms are nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Manchester Grand Hyatt,
very pleasant (short) stayThe building itself it is really nice, convenient parking, lobby looks stunning and eveybody there was very welcoming.
The room is big, beds were super comfy and charges for in room mini bar are reasonable.
Location is a super plus, close to everything or otherwise well connected with public transportation. then the vicinity with the marina and to the promenade are a further advantage, ...beautiful area.
The only thig i did not like was the bathroom, ...big and with all the necessary amenities but kind of dated.
I would certainly be back in case of a furter visit to San Diego.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#10 Green Hotel in San Diego
#49 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
#55 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.