We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego to your Saves list
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #25 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Red Deer, AB
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I recently stayed at the Grand Hyatt for a conference. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The view from the room was fantastic, overlooking the bay and the USS Midway. (That was from the 17th Floor). When I got home I realized that I had taken several pictures out of the window over the course of 5 days just to capture the view. The room was spacious and clean. The bathroom was enourmous and the decorations were modern. This was the first hotel that I have stayed in where one of the complimentary toiletries was toothpaste. The paper arrived every morning. It was a large conference and the conference facilities were great. They did a great job of feeding such large crowds. The Hotel is so spacious that you can get lost. In fact, I took the evelvator up the wrong tower thinking it was the one I was suppose to be in. The only complaint with the breakfast buffet is that they didn't explain it to me when I went in, and I missed out on the Omelete bar. The location is right next to the Seaport Village, which was a lovely collection of "not your ordinary tourist" shops and some pretty neat restaurants, like the Hawaiin Fusion. It is also within walking distance of the USS Midway, and if you aren't that ambitious, there are bicycle driven carriages that will take you there. I would definitely consider this hotel again when visiting San Diego.

Room Tip: The higher floors will have the better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear shell154,
Thank you for the nice review here on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed the beautiful views of the San Diego Bay and U.S.S. Midway Museum from your guest room. We're also excited to hear that you enjoyed one of our newly renovated guest rooms. We are currently going floor by floor and renovating each guestroom, so we greatly value feedback on the new look and feel. I will be sure to share your breakfast comments with our team at Lael's to make sure we are letting all of our guests know about the wonderful omelet bar we have available on the buffet line. Thank you for the feedback. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Warmest Regards,
Kristin Helms
eMarketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,378
    981
    336
    131
    99
See reviews for
559
660
121
1,210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (779)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Before I begin, let me say that I didn't pay for this hotel and never even saw a bill...so while it was great, I can't comment on the value.
I was a little annoyed that because I wasn't billed, I couldn't get points for the stay....but that might be the industry norm.
The accomodations were beautiful. The views were fantastic. The service was great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leadville, CO
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed at the Hyatt last weekend. It was absolutely beautiful! The Rooms were beautifully cleaned, as was the rest of the hotel. Imagine a hotel that can check in 4000 plus in a day, without having lines wrapping around the building (Happy Birthday to the U. S. Marine Corp., 3 Marine Corp. Balls in 3 days!).
The location is perfect! The views are Spactacular!
Reason for the 4 not 5 rating...
1. The bed rolled down to the door.
2. The rooms have a modern decor, but the couch was Airport Waiting room hard and the Chair was worse. The room seemed cream stark.
3. Whoever started the trend of short sheeting the bed needs to be shot, or at least the housekeeping officers of the company needs to sleep between sheets that only come up to your elbows (I am 5'2"- Hello!), just one more place I have had to remake the bed.
4.The last reason, my sister had made 2 reservations for the two families. I came in with only one first, and they put me in the upgraded room(she wanted a guaranteed view room with the upgraded rate). She checked out first, noticed the lower price, and it took her over 45 minutes to get the rates reversed on the bills. Not good when checking out, and nothing given to us prior to checkout to for verification... Process needs to be addressed.
And really, I know the hotel is in a closed in area but $26.95 per night for a self park???
Paying for Wi Fi? I know where I was, and knew the rates up front, but really???

Room Tip: Get a rate that includes Breakfast. It was wonderful!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porter Ranch, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed there for a recent convention that I attended at the hotel. Accommodations were very nice. We had a great view of the Aircraft Carrier Midway and the main channel in San Diego. Only issue was hearing and seeing a train at late night and early morning tooting it's horn. Glad I wasn't asleep.

Room Tip: Want to stay in the tower facing the Aircraft Carrier. Excellent views. Only issue is hearing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Golfncpa,
That's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay during your recent convention in San Diego. Being located only a short walk to the Convention Center and also housing some large conventions onsite at our hotel as well, we are the premiere hotel for convention guests in San Diego. We are also very leisure friendly with 2 rooftop pools, a full service spa and salon, outdoor activities and 8 food and beverage outlets. Business or pleasure, we're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.

I am also happy to report that a sound ordinance just passed with the city that does not require train conductors to honk their horns anymore while passing the train crossing by our hotel. This will significantly cut down on all noises associated with the trains moving forward.
We hope to welcome you back to sunny San Diego soon. Perhaps the next time for a little vacation!

Warmest Regards,
Kristin Helms
eMarketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Loved the view so much I didn't go to the Seaside Village - I just sat and looked at the view of the ocean, the bay, the Midway ship - wonderful.
The room was nice, bed comfortable, decent pillows.
Very expensive coffee and tea in the hotel cafe.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very large convention hotel, excellent location along San Diego harbour, barely ten minutes by cab from airport. Large nicely furnished rooms though very limited storage space for clothes. Our room had a refrigerator, very important for us. Our roiom was in Seaport Tower, I think Harbour Tower may offer better views. Our room rate came with breakfast, this is a huge benefit, an enormous buffet, with almost everything anyone could wish for. I said to my wife half-way through the first breakfast, "I think I'll stay here all day and not go to my conference". Very large pool on 4th floor, excellent location for capturing sun, plenty of lounge chairs, and nearby is an outstanding exercise facility for a hotel, treadmills with TV screens, weight machines, etc, plus cool water, towels. Outside the hotel at the back is the wide boardwalk that people walk and run on, and there are two parks coming off the boardwalk jutting out into the harbour that are also nice to walk around, jog, sit on the grass. The small shops of Seaport Village are immediately outside the hotel, and there are numerous alternate eating places.

Room Tip: Probably Harbour Tower offers better views. Get room rate with breakfast included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Joseph241,
Sounds like you had a wonderful time at our hotel during your visit to San Diego for your convention. Hopefully it wasn't all work and no play - we're glad you took advantage of the breakfast buffet at Lael's included in your room package (it is quite the spread), our StayFit state-of-the-art gym overlooking the San Diego Bay and our neighboring, Seaport Villages with an abundance of shops and restaurants. Please come back and visit us again soon, perhaps this time for a much needed vacation.

Warmest Regards,
Kristin Helms
eMarketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a huge Hyatt, two separate towers with all of the amenities you'd expect from Hyatt and priced accordingly given it's location, it's great pools, spa, jacuzzi and firepit area, and the service and attention the staff are there to provide its guests. The conceirge staff were friendly and helpful - just what we've come to expect in a Hyatt.
Location wise it was perfect for our short stay, right on the waterfront, but within walking distance of the Gaslight district for dinner. We were there for business and weren't really interested in siteseeing, but the Midway and other attractions were just up the coast, also within as easy walk.
As for the room, ours was great - I didn't notice anything falling apart as another reviewer found, and as someone in the hospitality industry I'd say the rooms where actually quite up to date/well maintained, and the bed really comfortable. Perhaps we were in a different tower, as it seems that the hotel was built in two stages.
All in all we had a pleasant stay and if I needed to return to San Diego I'd be quite content to return to the Manchester Grand.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear GVRGirl,
We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at the Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, including our onsite amenities offered and our customer service. We are lucky to have the best team here!
We are in the midst of renovating all of our guest rooms and suites so we are happy to hear you enjoyed your newly renovated room.
We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Kristin Helms
eMarketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
#49 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and largest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high on the magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Kin Spa, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and a new upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has 125,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Amex, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.