We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business & Pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego to your Saves list
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #19 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Angelo, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Business & Pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I was lucky enough to tag along on my husband's business trip to San Diego recently. The Manchester is a beautiful hotel with an excellent staff. Our room was clean and and fresh smelling. I love that the window pushed out just enough to get the scent and sound of being right on the bay. The location was a convenient walking distance to Gaslamp District, Seaport Village, and the ferry to take us across to Coronado Island. San Diego was never really on my radar for a vacation spot, but it is now, and the Manchester Grand Hyatt is a big part of the reason why.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Cat B,
Thank you for sharing your nice review here on TripAdvisor. We're so happy San Diego is now on your radar because it is a fantastic city and we are the perfect launching pad to explore everything this town has to offer. Hopefully you'll be joining your husband on future business trips to San Diego, or perhaps he can leave the work at home next time and you both can enjoy a vacation in America's finest city! Hope to see you back soon.

Warmest Regards,
Kristin Helms
eMarketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,606
    1,066
    348
    136
    102
See reviews for
605
730
131
1,375
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (863)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel really has it all. Their new guest room product is REALLY nice, and the 3rd floor pool is private and more for adults. I also liked shooting hoops on their sports courts when I was bored the other afternoon.

Over all the must do thing here is have the Scallops at Sally's restaurant which is right on the water in the backyard.

Highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Corner King rooms are worth the upgrade if you want to take full advantage of the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I've had the good fortune of being able to stay here during work-related trips for almost 15 years now and I can't imagine staying at any other hotel. I know it's a Hyatt and with that name comes a certain kind of class that you expect, but even if it was called, "Todd's Rooms with Beds" I'd still love this place. Service and the rooms are great (it is a Hyatt after all) but what makes me truly love this place is the location. The San Diego boardwalk may be my favorite place on Earth and I have had some really cherished memories there with family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Benjamin C,
What a fantastic honor to be named your favorite hotel in San Diego - that's quite the complement! Thank you for being such a loyal guest over the years. It is our number one goal to create lasting memories for each and every guest, and it sounds like you have some great memories of our hotel and the beautiful city of San Diego, so thank you for sharing! We look forward to your next return.

Warmest Regards,
Kristin Helms
eMarketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I recently stayed in a newly renovated room (1438)...with a beautiful view to the pool and harbor. The hotel is nice and clean with an excellent location, convenient to Gaslamp District (around a 10 to 15 min walk) and close to restaurants. The hotel is right in back of Seaport Village, which makes for a nice walk to restaurants and shops. Our room was a double queen bed - really comfortable beds and nice decor. I had a minor issue with the electricity, but called the front desk and the engineer came right away and fixed it...very attentive and great customer service! I would highly recommend this hotel! Note...yes, parking is expensive, self parking is $26 a day and valet $36, but trust me, I did my research and every hotel in San Diego is around the same or more!

Room Tip: Request a newly renovated room - Harbor Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear PuraVidaAmigo,
We love hearing feedback on our newly renovated guestrooms, so thank you for sharing and we are excited that you enjoyed the new look and feel! It also sounds like you took advantage of all our property has to offer; adults-only Kin Oasis pool, fresh seafood at Sally's Seafood on the Water and our rooftop sports courts! We hope to welcome you back to beautiful San Diego soon.

Warmest Regards,
Kristin Helms
eMarketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, MD
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Went to this hotel for a work conference. They were organized and attentive to business / work travelers as there were many, many business folks on site that week. The rooms were kept very clean and well stocked. I forgot several toiletries when I packed and they were able to accommodate all of my requests at the front desk. The front desk staff were nice and very attentive. The hotel lobby and the rooms are beautifully decorated. The rooms are spacious and the beds and pillows were very, very comfortable. The views from the higher floors are lovely. The fitness center was great with well kept equipment. The pool was nice but the water could have been kept a bit cleaner. It is centrally located and rail and taxi transportation are easily accessible. You can also walk to many attractions. The rooms are very expensive. There were only two real problems. First, the concierge desk had rude staff. If you asked too many questions they became irritated and threw a brochure at you and told you to look things up yourself (literally, this is what I was told). The other problem is the food and drinks at the bar and restaurant. The amount of food that you receive for the price that you pay is not at all worth it. The taste of the food was mediocre at best and I was still hungry when I left. There are many, wonderful restaurants in close proximity to the hotel so don't waste your time eating at the hotel. Overall, a very good experience.

Room Tip: Stay close to the top floor as possible to get a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The hotel is beautiful and the location is ideal, within walking distance to a number of great destinations in San Diego including Seaport Village, the Gaslamp Quarter, and the bay. The lobby and other spaces of the hotel are beautiful, making it a pleasure to just walk around. Our room was wonderful as well and the nighttime views of the lights downtown were incredible. We loved our breakfast at Lael's - found it a bit pricey for a buffet but worth it, we would definitely breakfast there again! The only disappointment was the "unhelpfulness" of the concierge both times that we stopped by with questions; however, the outstanding service we received from everyone else at the hotel more than made up for this.

Room Tip: View of the downtown at night was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear PattyLN,
Thank you for the nice feedback here on TripAdvisor. We are excited to learn of your recent stay with us and glad to hear you enjoyed the fantastic bay and city views seen throughout the hotel. Breakfast at Lael's is also not one to be missed, so I'm happy you took advantage of the extensive buffet. Although we are happy to hear you received fantastic customer service from our team members, please know I have shared your note about the service from the Concierge desk with our Chef Concierge. She will be sure to address internally.

Warm Regards,
Kristin Helms
eMarketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Was initially wowed by a massive marble lobby and there are some amazing rooms/suites but I chose to stay in an older room for much cheaper than the newly renovated rooms. Perfectly fine, lots of space and just down the hall from a very decent fitness center. I had no view from my room but could go to Top of the Hyatt for drinks and watch the sunset there. The staff was friendly and always helpful. Lots to do; Seaport Village is right next to the hotel and has fun shops and foods. A short walk to tour the USS Midway which is a great historical aircraft carrier. Another short walk to the Gaslamp quarter where clubs and bars with good apps and fun happy hours compete for your attention. Don 't miss the Ghirardelli Chocolate store/ice cream parlor. I can't resist bins of wonderful chocolate. I was at a conference and found this to be great location!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#10 Green Hotel in San Diego
#49 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
#55 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.