We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room renovation !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Save Saved
You added Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #27 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful room renovation !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

In newly renovated room and love the look. Excellent view of harbor. In the Harbor Tower because it is close to meeting space. I was first assigned a room in the other tower. They were nice enough to move me closer to ballroom.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear seattle98166,
We are so excited to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated guest rooms! We incorporated classic lines with a modern interpretation, bringing in subtle nods to the rich maritime history of San Diego - quite unique. We are anxiously awaiting feedback from our guests on these new rooms, so thank you for your kind comments. We hope to welcome you back to San Diego soon!

Warmest Regards,
Kristin Helms
eMarketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,331
    972
    332
    131
    98
See reviews for
552
648
120
1178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (764)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hoevelaken
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in september and the weather was lovely. The hotel is perfectly located downtown and with a beautiful view over the ocean. Rooms are comfortable enough but definitely need refurbishing, the more so if you look at the price you have to pay! Breakfast is very varied, although a boiled egg really was a problem... Still, you can have your omelet fixed in no time with all kinds of ingredients. Sometimes you had to wait a long time to be seated, whilst the breakfast room was not even full... but, rules are rules.... The staff is very friendly though.
There is a lovely pool on the fourth floor with a nice view over the ocean. You can order drinks and food. And, to stay in shape, there are ample fitness facilities.
Just a minutes walk is Seaport Village, nice wooden houses with a lot of particular shops such as a kite shop, a pet shop, you name it. Also some nice restaurants at reasonable prices. There is a ticket office where you can buy tickets for Sea World, the Zoo etc. at a slightly better rate. Also you can book a sightseeing tour with a sort of trolleybus. Nice, but again, expensive.
Should you have a car, you had better take that to go to the zoo in stead of taking the trolleybus... (for 2 persons we paid 150 dollars for the trolleybus combined with a visit to the zoo) It is also possible to book a tour with an amphibious car/boat. With that you make a tour through the harbour as well as the city.
The hotel itself has Sally's as a (mainly) fish restaurant. Excellent quality, not cheap though.
Within a 10 minutes walk you are in Gaslight, the 'outgoing' district with lots of restaurants and a shopping centre.
Although, with approx. 1400 rooms, the Hyatt is not really small, it has a nice cosy atmosphere. Of course, the hotel is mainly used for conferences, but it does not look very businesslike... Probably due to the fine weather conditions. Please pay attention to the fact that you have to pay for the water, placed in your room every day. We did not know that (in Europe this is often free of charge) and we had a bill for 56 dollars! 5 dollars per bottle. But, since we did not know we had to pay, staff decided this was a gift... Very nice indeed!

Room Tip: Choose a room at a high floor, the view is magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Clean, modern room with a fantastic view and helpful staff. Comfy beds. Great location for the convention center and just steps from seaport village. Wireless isn't free, though. Will definitely stay here, again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We came here to celebrate our 55th wedding anniversary. The housekeeping, club room and Lael's dining staffs were great. However, management seems to be very detached from the operation. We thought that we would at least get a note in our room from management saying Happy Anniversary! Instead, nothing. We did not expect a gift, but did expect an acknowledgement in a note, that a special occasion was beeing shared and our presence was appreciated..While the location is great, and the dealings with the general staff are very good, we fear that eventtually this lack of interest in the guests on the part of management will filter down to the staff. That would be a terrible shame.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Very nice hotel but very expensive. Had this been just a vacation trip I would not have spent that much money a night to stay. But since it was business for my husband and vacation for me I throughly enjoyed the view from the 30th floor and the nice updated room. The workout room was great and part of the cost of the night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear MarkieOregon,
Thank you for the nice feedaback here on TripAdvisor. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our Hyatt StayFit gym with sweeping bay and city views while you're on the treadmills! We do offer low rates, so please stay connected with us on our facebook page to hear the latest special offers and low room rates. We hope to welcome you both back soon.

Warmest Regards,
Kristin Helms
Electronic Sales & Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Comfortable rooms, beautiful views. Friendly staff, Easy location to restaurants and shops in the village. and of course the Midway! Easy walking distance to local attractions and transportation. Airport is only a 15 minute hop around the bay, so you can get to and from at a reasonable rate via Taxi...approx 15 bucks! The hotel still charges for the internet, by the day, and many great hotels are waking up to the idea the free wireless is a positive and easy add to attract business travelers. Hopefully they will figure that out as well. Food was well prepared and presented. Concierge service and Bell Desk very helpful and friendly. All public areas clean and well maintained.

Room Tip: Ask for a Harbor View on and upper floor....so you can see the sunrise and sunsets across the harbor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Spain
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Like everything in life hotels in SD depend on what you want.

SD is not that big but, if someone wants a hotel on the beach this is not the one, same happens if someone wants a hotel downtown and stays in Mission Beach.

I went to SD on business and wanted something near downtown but with views, swimming pool and a place to go for a good run in the morning. Obviously I wanted a very good hotel.

And I found it.

This hotel is BIG but you feel comfortable from the moment you enter the lobby. Nice and big lobby and very quick check inn. Even if there is a line you have quite some people working so it goes quite fast.

I am always nervous before opening the door; what will I find? A beautiful room. BIG, clean with a homey feeling. Just what I wanted. VERY comfortable bed, big flat screen tv and great views of the bay.

The hotel is in Seaport Village which means quite some good restaurants for breakfast, lunch and dinner and also some tourist shops. A great place where to start your morning run. From here to the airport and back, some nice 60 minutes running and most of the way fantastic views of the bay, downtown, boats and a large etc.

For dinner I recommend Sallys, in the hotel in front of the bay, great choice. You can put your bill to the room.

And for breakfast, as I tend to avoid hotel breakfasts, we had some nice steak and eggs in Busters Beach House, which is also in the Seaport village (see report on that one too).

The hotel has also a big pool with Bay views and also a couple of jacuzzis with the same view. GREAT. For the sporty ones a very decent gym and also some tennis courts.

You can walk to the Gas Lamp District and downtown even though its only a couple of minutes drive by car.

Whenever I go back to SD I will repeat. Once you´ve found the place, why change?

Room Tip: Sea/Bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#12 Green Hotel in San Diego
#49 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and largest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high on the magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Kin Spa, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and a new upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has 125,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.