We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, expensive, but we loved it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego to your Saves list
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #21 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Noisy, expensive, but we loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2008

We stayed there while husband attended a business meeting. Loved the location, loved the service, loved the rooms. The restaurants were always packed, so we ate off-site most of the time , but excellent restaurants were right out the side door in Seaport Village. Spent a lot of time in Seaport Village, which almost seemed like part of the hotel.

I was alarmed after a lovely afternoon at the spa, getting a manicure, pedicure, set me back $175.00. However, everyone was so nice, and so attentive. What did I expect?

The only other annoyance was the darned trolley clanging its darned bell in the middle of the darned night!

  • Liked — Luxury, location, attentive staff
  • Disliked — The TROLLEY clanging away in the middle of the night
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,687
    1,098
    354
    140
    104
See reviews for
660
761
133
1,396
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (895)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2008

Went to San Diego for weekend and to go to auto show. Stayed in room 1472 and it had a great view of the harbor and was very clean and quiet. Upside: close to convention center, gaslamp district, and tourist stuff. With AAA membership discount on room and free buffet breakfast that is very decent. ($45 value for two people). Downside: Our room had a stain on the carpet, the shower was a little on the old side and my boyfriend had to help me pull up the nozzle to get the shower head to work. We also went downstairs to watch the patriots game and it was FREEZING in the main bar area. The manager told us there was nothing she could do about the temperature since it was run by the main part of the hotel. I think the AC was on. We probably would have stayed longer and spent more but we were freezing. Free pool table was fun. Food ok. Don't get the buffalo nachos. Gross. :)

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cold air in the bar
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

I really enjoyed the stay. First they gave me a big discount due to the fact they couldn't get me smoking room. It was New Years Eve and they told EVERYONE that check out was time was 2 pm. I was so happy, because I had a long night. Everything was great, from the bathrooms, the bed and the breakfast. I'm doing the same next year!

  • Liked — Check out
  • Disliked — nothing.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxnard, ca
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2007

We were going to be in SD for a few days to visit with family and I thought I would try Priceline. I got the Manchester Hyatt for $100 a night. Not that much lower that the lowest rate on the Hyatt website but with parking at $20/day, I thought $120 was better than $170. We had a room on the 25th floor. I didn't hear the trains but my husband did and it bothered him at times. The room was tiny for the four of us (w/kids 5 & 13) but clean. I didn't like the deodorizer that they sprayed all over the place and it was a hike to get anywhere around the hotel. There were a lot of people there - including the Univ. of Texas football team but it never felt like it was crowded. We liked the proximity to Seaport Village and ate there a few times. We also walked a few blocks to Horton Plaza - a nice mall. It was a nice walk after being in the car for 3 hours. I liked having what we needed nearby but I'd think I'd like to try a smaller hotel next time.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Size - too big
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2007

The Manchester Hyatt is a lovely Hotel. No complaints.

The service was excellent and the location was perfect. It was only a short 5-10 minute drive to Sea World and The San Diego Zoo.

The Hotel is also right next to Seaport Village which has many restaurants and shoppes.

We had a corner room with great views of the bay and the city skyline. Awesome views!

We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, Ca
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2007

Great location, walking distance to shoping, great food, and view of the Coranado Bridge. Clean, business hotel.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2007

We had a company holiday party at the Manchester Grand and decided to make it a weekend stay. The hotel is gorgeous, and is a great location for anyone looking to experience San Diego's marina and gaslamp district. The staff was courteous and our bayview room was well appointed. The view was fantastic. The Sunday brunch buffet at Lael's was a bit pricey, but the amenities and food were nice.
The biggest drawback, was how PAPER THIN the walls are! We could hear what the people next door were saying, and they were not yelling. We could also hear people bustling down the hallways, as well as their conversations. It was disappointing for a place that looks so nice.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#10 Green Hotel in San Diego
#49 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
#56 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.