We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Too Big” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego to your Saves list
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #19 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
oxnard, ca
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Almost Too Big”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2007

We were going to be in SD for a few days to visit with family and I thought I would try Priceline. I got the Manchester Hyatt for $100 a night. Not that much lower that the lowest rate on the Hyatt website but with parking at $20/day, I thought $120 was better than $170. We had a room on the 25th floor. I didn't hear the trains but my husband did and it bothered him at times. The room was tiny for the four of us (w/kids 5 & 13) but clean. I didn't like the deodorizer that they sprayed all over the place and it was a hike to get anywhere around the hotel. There were a lot of people there - including the Univ. of Texas football team but it never felt like it was crowded. We liked the proximity to Seaport Village and ate there a few times. We also walked a few blocks to Horton Plaza - a nice mall. It was a nice walk after being in the car for 3 hours. I liked having what we needed nearby but I'd think I'd like to try a smaller hotel next time.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Size - too big
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,981
    1,224
    380
    153
    119
See reviews for
710
844
140
1,691
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (973)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2007

The Manchester Hyatt is a lovely Hotel. No complaints.

The service was excellent and the location was perfect. It was only a short 5-10 minute drive to Sea World and The San Diego Zoo.

The Hotel is also right next to Seaport Village which has many restaurants and shoppes.

We had a corner room with great views of the bay and the city skyline. Awesome views!

We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, Ca
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2007

Great location, walking distance to shoping, great food, and view of the Coranado Bridge. Clean, business hotel.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2007

We had a company holiday party at the Manchester Grand and decided to make it a weekend stay. The hotel is gorgeous, and is a great location for anyone looking to experience San Diego's marina and gaslamp district. The staff was courteous and our bayview room was well appointed. The view was fantastic. The Sunday brunch buffet at Lael's was a bit pricey, but the amenities and food were nice.
The biggest drawback, was how PAPER THIN the walls are! We could hear what the people next door were saying, and they were not yelling. We could also hear people bustling down the hallways, as well as their conversations. It was disappointing for a place that looks so nice.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south san francisco
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2007

This two-tower hotel has very comfortable rooms. The bed and pillows are wonderful. After traveling in the Orient for 4 weeks, I thought that Asian service was the best. But, this hotel pretty much matched Asia for superior service. The concierge service is the best I have ever found. This hotel is very suitable for business travel.

The only negative was that our room 3602 was RIGHT NEXT TO THE METAL STAIR WELL that the night watchman banged down every few hours during the night. We were in the 40 floor tower, so I would avoid any room ending in 02 in that tower. We complained and the hotel made an accommodation to fix the situation. But if you don't want the hassle of moving, make sure that you don't get near the stair well.

Oh, the other negative is that the trains sound a horn in the middle of the night from time to time. (Bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.) These trains affect ALL hotels that are in this harbor/ waterfront area, so there is not much you can do to avoid it if you need to be near the convention center.

The breakfast buffet was so great, that we actually tried that restaurant for dinner one night. oops... that did not work out. While they do a great breakfast, somehow, the dinner menu does not work out at all.

Overall, a very good business hotel. Stayed here 7 nights for a business conference. There is none of that useless "turn-down" sevice at night, so there is not that extra intrusion into the room at night (a welcome relief.)

  • Liked — bed and pillows
  • Disliked — noise from the train
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2007

Stayed at the Hyatt while attending a conference.

Good news: The hotel is clean, housekeeping got it right every time, reservations weren't screwed up. The location is very convenient to the Convention Center, the Gaslamp district, the Midway aircraft carrier museum, and the Marriott. There is a safe but no refrigerator. A supermarket (Ralph's) is within walking distance.

Bad news: Food provided by catering was nothing special, though maybe the cheap stuff was ordered. The bar at the top of the hotel is disappointing. The windows aren't big and are designed to prevent you from looking out while sitting in the low chairs that are near the windows. The train whistle is relentless, though the HVAC unit's fan can be put on high, masking much of the noise.

This is an above average conference hotel but if your conference uses the US Grant hotel for overflow, let them put you there. The location is better for your time off and that hotel is rated higher by this web site.

Maybe it's my age, but it was just weird seeing how many Japanese tourists were smiling and taking pictures of each other in front of the Midway on December 7 (Pearl Harbor anniversary). I'm glad that times have changed.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The train whistle
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2007

I have been staying at the Hyatt Manchester for years, back when it was one tower and now in its remodeled glory and I have never had an experience that I would consider "bad." When something has not been to my liking, the staff has in most instances been very accomodating. To see ratings of 1 and 2 for this hotel is just hard for me to imagine. Nevertheless, it just goes to show that different people have different experiences and probably handle those experiences differently. By the way, the hotel is in a great location and has a first rate health club.

  • Liked — Great location and health club.
  • Disliked — Parking fees.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#10 Green Hotel in San Diego
#50 Family Hotel in San Diego
#55 Business Hotel in San Diego
#55 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.