We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great One Night Stay for Marine Corps Ball!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego to your Saves list
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #19 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Okinawa, Japan
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Great One Night Stay for Marine Corps Ball!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Stayed one night for the Marine Corps Ball and was an excellent stay! From the time we checked in, were greeted by a very warm friendly staff to our check out...everything was spot on!

Review:

Common Grounds/Lobby: Huge!! Felt like some grand hotel on the Vegas Strip. This hotel is made for events/balls and meetings. Staff again very friendly and made you feel welcome despite how busy it was. Plenty of restaurants/shops in the hotel itself.

Room: Spacious with a king bed. View from our room out to the San Diego Harbor. Room included a mini frigerator. Did not know if WiFi was included in the stay.
Bed was comfortable/clean.
Bathroom was large with excellent water pressure and plenty of hot water.
Small Desk and chair for relaxing.

Location: down by the harbor next to seaport village. In the heart of San Diego. You could probably walk to the Trolley from hotel and get around San Diego without a rental car.

Cost: 260.00 for the night, yes expensive. Worth it though for the stay and Ball.
Valet parking was $32.00 per night.

Marine Ball: Held in their conference pavillions: Well done. Food was excellent provided by the hotel with steak/chicken/salad and dessert.

Would stay again if with family or at a conference/Ball.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSpitz, E-Marketing Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Dear globetrotterwanabes,
Thank you for the nice review. We love our guests from the military balls each year, so we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the event and overall stay. We hope to welcome you back next year.

Warmest Regards,
Kristin Helms
E-Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,930
    1,205
    375
    150
    116
See reviews for
705
832
139
1,639
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (957)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Excellent decor and facilities. They have a new palatial lounge. Rooms have nice city and bay view. I was on the 18th floor. Convenient location. Being situated near seaport village is an added benefit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

The hotel from appearance looks high end but do not be fooled. Even though located in a relatively ideal location between the harbor and gaslamp district, the hotel is less than desirable. The walls are paper thin and you can literally hear the conversation next door, same applies to the walls in the bathrooms. The staff is less than lukewarm but are somewhat accommodative and “professional”. Everything when it comes to beverages and room service for food is way overpriced and do not offer good selection. I would avoid staying here if comparable rates are available elsewhere otherwise bring your earplugs and your own food. One positive is great views of the harbor is able to get that room

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

I was blown away when I first walked into the hotel. It's quite an amazing common area.. The front desk was very friendly and helpful. The check-in process was hassle-free and quick.

I had a single-king room in the Harbor Tower. It was a good sized room with a nice view of the harbor. The accommodations were nice & comfortable, albeit slightly tired/dated. The bed & pillows were comfortable enough for me to fall asleep within minutes of putting my head to the pillow. As previously mentioned, the bathroom was pretty average.

Other: Fitness facility is great. Probably the best I've ever seen at a hotel. Plenty of common area to hang out at. Ann Marie's coffee house (detached) is a nice amenity and I loved sitting by the harbor in the morning. Breakfast buffet at Lael's was delicious and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Beautiful hotel, outstanding fitness facility. The only problem I had with this hotel is that the restroom in my room could have used a little more attention. It wasn't dirty, but it could have been cleaner.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSpitz, E-Marketing Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Dear turcich,
Thank you for your feedback! We monitor our reviews closely so we can always keep a good pulse on our guests and their experiences being had with us. Please know I have shared your comments about your bathroom with our Housekeeping Manager and he will be sure to address internally. Again, we greatly value your feedback, so thank you for you sharing. We hope we get the chance to welcome you back to San Diego soon!

Warmest Regards,
Kristin Helms
E-Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Overall, the hotel is comfortable and convenient. The rooms are a bit dated and the shower is a bit snug, however, the rooms were clean. Upon arrival, the service was wonderful. The Front Desk rep was friendly. The location is right next to the convention center and the Gaslamp District is a few blocks away. I would not recommend taking the bike taxis as they are roughly between $30-$50, major ripoff. Self parking was $26.00, same as other hotels in the area. Seaport Village is right around the corner and the view from the room were wonderful.

A king size bed was not available for my stay, next time call ahead of time and request a king or double depending on your preference. I would book again.

Room Tip: HIgh floors have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Being on an anniversary trip, we were offered a corner king room, which had great views of the water and marina. The staff were all very hospitable, the location excellent for walking to shops/restaurants at Seaport Village and all around the Gaslamp Quarter. The bar at the Top of the Hyatt (40th floor) had amazing views and a nice atmosphere. The breakfast buffet at the hotel was excellent, too!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#10 Green Hotel in San Diego
#50 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#56 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Amex, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.