We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manchester Grand Hyatt, Beautiful, but NOISY” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego to your Saves list
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #23 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Manchester Grand Hyatt, Beautiful, but NOISY”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2007

We had a company holiday party at the Manchester Grand and decided to make it a weekend stay. The hotel is gorgeous, and is a great location for anyone looking to experience San Diego's marina and gaslamp district. The staff was courteous and our bayview room was well appointed. The view was fantastic. The Sunday brunch buffet at Lael's was a bit pricey, but the amenities and food were nice.
The biggest drawback, was how PAPER THIN the walls are! We could hear what the people next door were saying, and they were not yelling. We could also hear people bustling down the hallways, as well as their conversations. It was disappointing for a place that looks so nice.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,452
    1,005
    340
    131
    101
See reviews for
571
685
124
1,261
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (808)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
south san francisco
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2007

This two-tower hotel has very comfortable rooms. The bed and pillows are wonderful. After traveling in the Orient for 4 weeks, I thought that Asian service was the best. But, this hotel pretty much matched Asia for superior service. The concierge service is the best I have ever found. This hotel is very suitable for business travel.

The only negative was that our room 3602 was RIGHT NEXT TO THE METAL STAIR WELL that the night watchman banged down every few hours during the night. We were in the 40 floor tower, so I would avoid any room ending in 02 in that tower. We complained and the hotel made an accommodation to fix the situation. But if you don't want the hassle of moving, make sure that you don't get near the stair well.

Oh, the other negative is that the trains sound a horn in the middle of the night from time to time. (Bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.) These trains affect ALL hotels that are in this harbor/ waterfront area, so there is not much you can do to avoid it if you need to be near the convention center.

The breakfast buffet was so great, that we actually tried that restaurant for dinner one night. oops... that did not work out. While they do a great breakfast, somehow, the dinner menu does not work out at all.

Overall, a very good business hotel. Stayed here 7 nights for a business conference. There is none of that useless "turn-down" sevice at night, so there is not that extra intrusion into the room at night (a welcome relief.)

  • Liked — bed and pillows
  • Disliked — noise from the train
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2007

Stayed at the Hyatt while attending a conference.

Good news: The hotel is clean, housekeeping got it right every time, reservations weren't screwed up. The location is very convenient to the Convention Center, the Gaslamp district, the Midway aircraft carrier museum, and the Marriott. There is a safe but no refrigerator. A supermarket (Ralph's) is within walking distance.

Bad news: Food provided by catering was nothing special, though maybe the cheap stuff was ordered. The bar at the top of the hotel is disappointing. The windows aren't big and are designed to prevent you from looking out while sitting in the low chairs that are near the windows. The train whistle is relentless, though the HVAC unit's fan can be put on high, masking much of the noise.

This is an above average conference hotel but if your conference uses the US Grant hotel for overflow, let them put you there. The location is better for your time off and that hotel is rated higher by this web site.

Maybe it's my age, but it was just weird seeing how many Japanese tourists were smiling and taking pictures of each other in front of the Midway on December 7 (Pearl Harbor anniversary). I'm glad that times have changed.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The train whistle
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2007

I have been staying at the Hyatt Manchester for years, back when it was one tower and now in its remodeled glory and I have never had an experience that I would consider "bad." When something has not been to my liking, the staff has in most instances been very accomodating. To see ratings of 1 and 2 for this hotel is just hard for me to imagine. Nevertheless, it just goes to show that different people have different experiences and probably handle those experiences differently. By the way, the hotel is in a great location and has a first rate health club.

  • Liked — Great location and health club.
  • Disliked — Parking fees.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2007

I stayed here for 4 nights for a convention,a little wary because of some of the reviews that I read here. I must have been lucky, because I have no complaints - and I am a fussy guest. From check-in onwards, everything was efficient and smooth. I stayed on the 8th floor in a room which was large enough and very comfortable, with a great bed. Room service delivery was especially fast and friendly, as was the laundry service. The elevators, although full of delegates, were not unduly slow. My room had a beautiful view of the pool and harbor beyond. There was no noise from other rooms, nor did I hear the trains which run nearby. One night we had snacks in the lobby bar, which were delicious - ahi tuna, cooked just right, and flatbread pizza. It was better than the food in the restaurant where we went for dinner. Great location for either Seaport Village or the Gaslamp district, and about 10mins walk from the convention centre. Overall, hard to get any better. One of my fellow delegates was bitten by bed bugs at his hotel!

  • Liked — Large comfortable bed, fast room service, location
  • Disliked — Bathroom fixtures a little worn out
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2007

The lobby and the resturants in the hotel were beautiful.
The only thing was the size of the rooms very small, the service was very good. We were on the 28 floor faceing the bridge and The Island of Coronado WOW what a great view. Like most review we did get waken up by the train whistle every morning so we just had a early start to our day. San Diego is a beautiful city and the people are very friendly we enjoyed our week very much.
We were with a convention for 5 days and the food was very good. We also had a meal servied by the Hotel on the aircraft carrier The Midway 41 that was very special. We did a small tour of the wine valley and did see some of the homes that were in the fire and lots of burnt trees.
Don't forget to walk to The Seaport Village there were lots of specials in the small stores, would of like the weather a little warmer but going to Mexico in Jan. so I will get lots of sun.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

I recently stayed at the Manchester Grand Hyatt, San Diego for 10 nights. The first six nights were for a convention, and then I extended my stay for a vacation.

This hotel is in a great location with beautiful views of the bay and marinas and within walking distance of Seaport Village (parks, music, affordable eateries), downtown’s famous Gaslamp District, the Midway (retired aircraft carrier – open to the public), and a short ferry ride to Coronado Island. It’s also located a reasonably short taxi ride away from Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo (both of which, I recommend highly).

The Hyatt’s entrance is “grand” and the lobby and restaurants/bars contained therein are all beautiful and immaculate. Unfortunately, I can’t say the same about the rooms. The hotel hallways, rooms and room décor/furnishings are about the same size and quality as a roadside Comfort Inn or Hampton Inn (the exception was that the bed and bedding were very comfortable). In addition, the room’s walls and windows are paper thin, and as a result, the sound of slamming doors, running water, televisions, conversations, hallway traffic, outdoor trains and automobile traffic were ubiquitous.

I also want to add that I felt that I was being nickled and dimed by this hotel. I'm used to using a long distance access card (toll-free number) for free, but the Hyatt charges $1.00 per call. In addition, they charge $9.95 for each 24 hour connection to the internet. With regard to the room service, the unusually limited selection was not just overpriced (like most hotels), but ridiculously overpriced...especially when you add the $3.00 delivery charge and the required 21 percent gratuity to the price of the meal. For example, after all was said and done, my waffle and cranberry juice breakfast cost just over $29.00. And, with regard to laundry, getting my suitcase-wrinkled shirts pressed cost $7.75 each.

With regard to the service, I will say that each Hyatt employee I dealt with was earnest and kind. There were a few problems for which the hotel personnel bent over backwards to remedy – which in the end, they did. However, I don’t want to overstate these problems. For every issue I had, the Hyatt did 100 things right.

So to summarize…great location, amenities and service, but the rooms themselves left a bit to be desired and the incidental charges were a bit insulting--especially when you consider the nightly rates.

  • Liked — location, amenities, service
  • Disliked — rooms, incidental charges
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#10 Green Hotel in San Diego
#50 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Amex, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.