We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expensive upscale hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency La Jolla

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency La Jolla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3777 La Jolla Village Drive, San Diego, CA 92122   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #136 of 269 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Palm Desert, California
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“expensive upscale hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed in this upscale hotel in La Jolla because of a meeting located at this place. It cost $264 a night (for two nights) with tax and everything ended up with a bill of nearly $600. The room rate was at par with 4 star hotels in the big cities, like New Orleans or San Francisco (but this is La Jolla!). Nevertheless, this came with a special package so to speak: free full breakfast for two (Barcino Grill is great), free Wi-Fi and free indoor parking. The hotel is beautiful, setting very nice with a pretty decent large lobby. There are several upscale restaurants in the frontcourt and a Sport Club with full basketball court in the back (guests could pay a discount fee to get in). A large swimming pool located at the area between parking garage and the Club. A nice big gym room sits at the first floor. Greeters, front desk persons were all very helpful, friendly and cordial. Room was nice and large. No small refrigerator was a surprise to us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    226
    105
    44
    22
See reviews for
132
99
31
184
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The hotel is great and very well updated. Even have usb ports to charge your devices. However internet is free only at the reception area, not in rooms. Service very poor. My room was not servied. Someone knock in my door at 8.30 asking if I wanted him to service my room. Not at 8.30 am on Saturday! So no service at all. Left the room around eleven and when I got back around 8.30 pm room was not serviced and no prsonnel at that hour. Also there is a very nice pool and jacuzzi, but not help at all. There were no towels, and nobody to attend. Took 30 minutes o get towels! At the room had breakfast, the tray was still there at night. When I asked to be removed, a guy looking like security told me in a very bad manner that I had to put it out in the room. Not what you expect from Hyatt!!! At check out my charges were comped, but the room was pre paid. So they did not charged me for parking (25 a day) or internet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Great lobby ,staff and facilities .. Below average room..old furniture .. Bad smell from the bed .. If you want a great room.. Dont choose it..if you want to spend most of the time in lobby and facilities or restaurants.. Go ahead and choose it!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We just spent the weekend at this hotel using points. We were able to get club floor access for the lounge (must have). This is by far one of the best lounges that I have experienced. The area is clean and offers a variety of food, snacks and drinks. For example, there is smoked salmon in the morning and sushi rolls for the night time. The work out room is good and not really used by the guests. The pool is nice and large with plenty of chairs to relax. There are some great restaurants on site across from the drive in area. It is also walking distance to many restaurants and the UTC shopping area. The hotel does little things that matter to their guests like having gluten free brownies in the lobby area. Overall, we enjoyed out stay.

Room Tip: Get access to the club lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I attended Comic-Con with my dad and stayed at the Hyatt Wednesday night through Sunday morning and I felt compelled to write this review because in all of my years of traveling, the service we enjoyed here was as good as I've ever experienced. In a nutshell – great service, great room and great experience (especially with the awesome restaurants attached to the hotel).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Hyatt in July solely because all of the hotels in San Diego were booked for Comic Con. We thought we'd be treating ourselves, but in actuality we ended up spending so much money on transportation. The concierge recommended we take cabs or towncars to get into town, $40 each way. We were furious when we found out there was a bus to Old Town for a $5 day pass. I'd never stay here again solely for that reason. The whole benefit of having a concierge at a nice hotel is so that they can point you in the right direction.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency La Jolla, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide your candid feedback on your recent stay. I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that your feedback has been shared with our management team so that this can be addressed with the concierge. I hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to Hyatt Regency La Jolla.

Abrea H. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Has best in class facilities to get you relaxed after a hectic day & work. Lovely pool, tennis court, good food & pub !!!! Great ambiance for their restaurants......
I got a stylish shuttle to drop me to my office.
Indeed a good place to unwind.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency La Jolla

Address: 3777 La Jolla Village Drive, San Diego, CA 92122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in San Diego
#29 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#90 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency La Jolla 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed by the acclaimed architect Michael Graves, the hotel is a masterpiece of imported Italian marbles, exotic woods, custom designed furniture and ancient art, and a 32,000 square foot Sporting Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and TIG Global so you can book your Hyatt Regency La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency La Jolla Hotel San Diego
La Jolla Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency La Jolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.