We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel, Not Close to Many Stores or Restaurants” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Mission Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Mission Bay to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1441 Quivira Road, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Bay Park)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #161 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel, Not Close to Many Stores or Restaurants”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The hotel appears to have been built in the 60s, with a tower addition a few years later. Overall, a decent property, and I enjoyed my stay there on business for a week. Here's some specifics:

Positives -
*Views from the uppers floors in the tower are fantastic. However, a colleague stayed in the low-rise section attached to the lobby, and the room conditions and views in that section were not so good.
*The grounds are well maintained, and appear to have been updated. The pool area is very nice.
*My guest room in the tower was quite large. The bathroom, however, was small. I didn't notice worn furniture in my room, as some of the reviews have mentioned.
*I tried the bars at the poolside and at the waterfront locations - both provided good service.

Negatives -
*There were hardly any stores or restaurants near the hotel. It seemed a little deserted in the area. Some buildings near the hotel and harbor appeared to have been a shopping/restaurant complex back in the day, but these all look pretty much abandoned.
*The parking fee seemed steep for the area, considering all the open space in the vicinity
*Be prepared for barking seals all night if your room faces the marina.

Overall, the positive elements outweighed the negative ones for me, and I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Select the tower, and avoid the low rise rooms near the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    540
    361
    227
    136
See reviews for
675
357
41
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I've reviewed this hotel before and still think it's a "Very Good" place to stay with an important caveat. For 2014 the owners have added a $19/Day "resort fee" to the rate - the hotel equivalent of baggage fees that don't show up when price comparing. For your $19 you get a bunch of bogus amenities that were either already included before or not very useful for the business traveler (free bike rental? Free in-room bottled water although still marked at $3 each in the rooms). My company doesn't pay resort fees so unfortunately this hotel is off my list now after many, many previous stays. When you book their "bargain" rates remember that you've got parking and now resort fees to add to the total - a 50% increase added to their lowest off-season room rates. You can't beat the sunsets from the ocean view balconies here, though. I still may use this hotel for family trips but I'll shop a bit more next time.

Room Tip: Book a tower room and get the ocean view - great ocean sunsets on the balcony if you're into tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Prior to booking...I did spend time reading recent reviews on Tripadvisor. Unfortunately, I did not listen and thought I would give the location a try since the Hyatt in La Jolla was full. I also noticed that the manager does respond to a number of the complaints. However, I can confirm that all of the complaints are confirmed. I paid for the "best" bay view room they had available. View was great if you looked out the the window. But, if you looked around the room...you would notice a very tired and dirty looking room. Furniture was beat up. Couches worn with stains. There was long, black hair in tub and on bathroom floor. Sliding door to balcony would not secure and there was a 1/4" gap at the bottom of the door.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Mission Bay, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear 023113,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay. It was disappointing to hear that you were not pleased with the room and I would like to offer an apology for any inconvenience you experienced as a result. I have shared your comments with our management team and will ensure we make improvements where needed. I hope you can view this as an isolated incident and allow us the opportunity to serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Irby Morvant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Stayed several days at the Hyatt on a business trip. I stayed in the suites that are next to the tower. The room was very nice with all the amenities you would expect. There was a musty smell but that might be attributed to being so close to the ocean. At any rate if you need a hotel that is not downtown or close to sea world, this might be your choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Property is easy to get to and offers good views of Marina. Great location for sightseeing Mission Bay and easy to get around the City from here. The rooms are a bit rundown and lacking in modern convenience. We had an upgraded corner suite and found it difficult to find plugins for phone chargers, the room and bathroom was a bit dingy. Iron was dirty and would have ruined my white shirt if I hadn't noticed. Staff was helpful and nice, but for the price there are newer, cleaner and more modern property.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I'm not entirely sure why one would stay here - I myself was here for a business meeting which was located at the property so didn't really have a choice. The pros: the pool is great for both kids and adults and there is a direct water taxi to Sea World. The cons: you can LITERALLY hear every single noise in the rooms above and beside you. Even the quietest of guests sound like they are in the room with you. That alone would prohibit me from staying here again as I like to go to sleep before midnight and wake up after 5am. The restaurant is "ok". It is high priced for the quality, especially with so many great restaurants in SD. Presumably this is because you are somewhat trapped on the property as there isn't much else around. Mission Bay itself isn't terribly picturesque. My advice for those coming as a tourist would be to stay downtown or to venture out a little bit more and stay in La Jolla!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed here on part of our California fly drive holiday & it was a perfect way to end it!! We had 6nights here in a water front suite & the view was beautiful, bed was comfortable, living room area was very spacious & friendly staff.
Highly recommend this hotel & would return anytime.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Mission Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Mission Bay

Address: 1441 Quivira Road, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#77 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Mission Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina completed a $65 million transformation in February 2008. The hotel offers casual elegance in the heart of Mission Bay Aquatic Park with panoramic views and superior service. Our 430 newly appointed guestrooms feature Hyatt Grand Beds, 32-inch flat screen televisions, iHome alarm clocks and panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and Mission Bay. Experience the thrills of our multiple swimming pools and waterslides, take a stroll to the world famuos SeaWorld San Diego located less than a mile off property, or relax in the tranquility of our Hyatt Pure Spa, Blue Marble. To indulge your culinary senses, let our staff serve you in our waterfront restaurant Red Marlin or head over to SWIM and enjoy light fare and cocktails by the pool. The Hyatt Regency Mission Bay strives to provide the highest level of guest service and comfort. From the moment you arrive, our staff will welcome you to our hotel and treat you with unparalleled attentiveness to ensure that every stay exceeds your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Hyatt Regency Mission Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Hyatt Regency San Diego
Hyatt San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Mission Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.