We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy family!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Mission Bay

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Mission Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1441 Quivira Road, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Bay Park)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #158 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Happy family!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We (family of 3 with toddler girl) felt very welcome from the first minute of our stay! The check-in (with Eike) was very friendly and we received a room on the higher level of the tower and enjoyed a beautiful view over the marina and skyline of San Diego! The house maid was very attentive and the room was clean! The pool area is a splash of joy - especially the water slides! Parking is easy, internet is working fast, the seals weren't that loud and there are helpful hands everywhere from the staff when you need them. Thanks again to the lovely concierge, where we booked the ticket to SeaWorld - our daughter really fell in love with the ittle manta/toy, which she received from the hotel member! Thanks again for all the nice experiences during our stay :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,399 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    367
    442
    291
    181
    118
See reviews for
559
292
37
246
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barnoldswick, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Let's be honest, some of the reviews aren't great. Maybe people have ridiculous expectations or is it because I am English. We really enjoyed our stay of 15 nights. We rang prior to travel and got a room high in the tower with a view of the bay & ocean. We also received half price parking. The downside is no free wifi. You could get reception by the pool bar though. We tried the Red Marlin restaurant for happy hour round a fire pit and ended up coming back for a meal. Service was great everywhere and the room was made up every day. I would not have wanted to stay in the bay front apartments. Too near the pool, too windy and little sun. A marquee was also erected over a week and a half so the noise and lack of view would have spoilt the stay. Access to Mission Bay, buses and the city was easy. The pool area was great and only got busy at weekends. A big thank you to Abdrew on Reception. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We definitely enjoyed the extra space of a suite. We did their executive club but it was a bit dismal. Breakfast was very continental. Nothing special about their 'hour dourves' hour. It was some cheese and some marinated carrots. The cookies were a hit though!! Parking should be free and is motel style and very overpriced. Heaps of street parking but we paid for it anyway

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were thrilled with the outdoor areas given us to celebrate our combined - two high school 50th reunions. The Cabana and Banyan Tree areas were perfect during the two beautiful evenings, as we reconnected with so many of our old friends and classmates. Music and laughter filled the air as the delicious appetizers then artfully plated dinners were served to our guests.Kudos go to the very attentive and accommodating staff. If you stay over, look for those corner VIP rooms in the tower. Ours was on the 14th floor....WOW! what views of the Pacific, Mission Bay and La Jolla. Thank you Hyatt for making this important place in time, so wonderfully memorable for all of us.

Room Tip: VIP corner rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The location of the hotel couldn't be better bayou are literally 10 minutes from everything including walking distance to sea world. Its a beautiful property but.... It lacks the attention to detail from the staff behind the scenes. Every interaction we sought out was great but you really have to initiate everything. The room and housekeeping are very basic. There are no little extras that most hotels seem happy to provide. Overall its a nice property but its starting to get run down, the staff could use more training, and the guest services are just adequate. If your looking for a good place to lay your head in a great location this is it. If your looking for the whole experience keep browsing.

Room Tip: Stay away from the suites. They are located on a noisy walkway. Stick to the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkdale
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Lured into staying because of location and outdoor space. However, the run down room, filthy carpet, and bed bugs (yes bugs) overshadowed the whole experience. I credit the housekeeping staff with doing all they could to make the room bearable, but it was like putting lipstick on a pig. This hotel needs a major renovation just to bring it up to habitable. The staff was hit and miss-some pleasant, some dismissive and irritating. And don't forget the parking fee: $24 per day if you are driving, which most people are, in addition to your rate, fees, and tax. I left dirty and broke

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The location is great, can walk over bridge to Mission Beach instead of dealing with traffic and trying to find a place to park. My room was damp, and there was a water leak from the bathroom above - an existing problem as indicated by ceiling stains and plaster repair. The hotel did give $50 off the first night then offered another room, but we were there for a family wedding and did not want to move. The room my son and his wife occupied ran out of hot water in the shower every day.

Room Tip: The lower priced rooms are around the pool, and the nicer rooms are in the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Mission Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Mission Bay

Address: 1441 Quivira Road, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#30 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#77 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Mission Bay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina completed a $65 million transformation in February 2008. The hotel offers casual elegance in the heart of Mission Bay Aquatic Park with panoramic views and superior service. Our 430 newly appointed guestrooms feature Hyatt Grand Beds, 32-inch flat screen televisions, iHome alarm clocks and panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and Mission Bay. Experience the thrills of our multiple swimming pools and waterslides, take a stroll to the world famuos SeaWorld San Diego located less than a mile off property, or relax in the tranquility of our Hyatt Pure Spa, Blue Marble. To indulge your culinary senses, let our staff serve you in our waterfront restaurant Red Marlin or head over to SWIM and enjoy light fare and cocktails by the pool. The Hyatt Regency Mission Bay strives to provide the highest level of guest service and comfort. From the moment you arrive, our staff will welcome you to our hotel and treat you with unparalleled attentiveness to ensure that every stay exceeds your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Regency Mission Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Hyatt Regency San Diego
Hyatt San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Mission Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.