We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Mission Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Mission Bay to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1441 Quivira Road, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Bay Park)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #162 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Illinios
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hyatt Regency Mission Bay from Sept. 12-19. It was our first stay at a Hyatt and it was without a doubt one of the best experience we have had. We found everyone was very helpful and professional. Our room was on the 17th floor and was spotless. Our view was exceptional.....and the staff in the Regency room was extemely pleasant. The way they displayed the continental breakfast and all the 'goodies' was done with care. If we go back to San Diego, this Hyatt is where we will stay. We recommend this Hyatt without reservation!!!!!

Room Tip: I only know about the 17th floor and the view was magnificant!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Director of Quality Assurance at Hyatt Regency Mission Bay, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Hawaii95,

Your great comments are flattering- we are truly delighted to hear that you and your husband had a great first experience at our hotel and with Hyatt in general! The views from the 17th floor of our Tower building are quite spectacular, I must agree. We would love a chance to welcome you back to our hotel again soon for another great stay.

Thanks again!
Kendra Santos
Director of Quality Assurance
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    492
    331
    216
    125
See reviews for
622
330
39
289
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
rhode island
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We loved the hotel property, the views from the tower room and the pool. It was a great vacation spot to be with my family. We also loved taking the water taxi to Sea World. The kids loved the water slides.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Director of Quality Assurance at Hyatt Regency Mission Bay, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear liketravel63,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback here on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your excellent comments and great feedback about the SeaWorld WaterTaxi! I will be sure to share your comments with our Director of Guest Services to ensure we continue this great service next summer as well. Come back and visit us again soon!

All the Best,
Kendra Santos
Director of Quality Assurance
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

When we arrived to check in (after 4 pm) we were told our room was not ready due to being fully booked. We were given a credit, so that we could get a drink or snack by the pool. No one called when the room was ready. And finally at 6pm I checked and they said it was ready. The view from our room was beautiful!! The room itself was dirty, especially the bathroom. Dirt had built up in the corners and mildew in the shower. The pool was super crowded and the pool was dirty too. Not impressed. Will not be returning to this hotel next year.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Director of Quality Assurance at Hyatt Regency Mission Bay, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Sharon R.,

I am very sorry to hear that your experience did not exceed your expectations, but we do appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback here on TripAdvisor. I have shared your comments regarding your delayed check-in with our Front Office Manager and Director of Housekeeping to ensure we are properly staffed in both departments to provide our guest with a check-in at or prior to the stated check-in time of 4 o'clock. I have also shared your comments regarding the cleanliness of your room and the pool area with hotel management to ensure your feedback is addressed internally. I hope you will reconsider returning to our hotel in the future as I am sure we can and will exceed your expectations the next time around.

Warmest Regards,
Kendra Santos
Director of Quality Assurance
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

If you're looking for one of the BEST, most relaxing spa experiences...... I'd start here.

Hyatt has gone all out to provide one of the most beautiful views of Mission Bay with a private private pool, private entrance. You are greeted with "infused" waters of your choice: lemon, mint, berries...... You're locker room awaits, marble floors, every ammenity you could want: shampoo, conditioner, lotion, mouthwash, and a basket of other items too. After your "treatment" of choice - I HIGHLY recommend KRISTIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Wow --- beyond the BEST body treatment professional, ask for the energy treatment - you may be changed forever.

They have a sauna, steam room - really made for just one person, and a shower all with luxury towels and robes. You can relax for as long as you like on their fully thick cushioned chases with either infused water or tea all made with purified water, as you are still floating on air they will bring you gourmet crackers with speciality cheese, honey and fruit (if they have it), all served on black slate plates! So amazingly romantic --- even if it's just for YOU! :o)))

Enjoy!!!

Room Tip: Ask for KRISTIN! And enjoy the room overlooking the Bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Director of Quality Assurance at Hyatt Regency Mission Bay, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear lionesslight,

What a fantastic review! All of the details you shared make me want to run right over and enjoy a Spa Treatment of my very own. I will be sure to share your lovely comments with our Spa Professional, Kristen, as well as her supervisor. We greatly appreciate the feedback and are happy to know that we're doing things right to provide our guests with an exceptionally relaxing and inviting experience. We hope to have a chance to welcome you back to both the hotel and Blue Marble Spa for another great experience again soon.

Best Regards,
Kendra Santos
Director of Quality Assurance
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I recently stayed there for 3 nights. The only thing I can gloat and rave about is the view from my room on the 11th floor. Aside from that, I found the hotel to be mediocore and lacked that special service one would expect from a brand such as Hyatt. The room was clean but the furniture just awful, wierd to see modern with old dated furniture, just gave the room a strange vibe. And the TV, 32" is laughable and on top of that ANALOG!! Where is the HD digital TV, I hated even so much as watch the news.

The elevators doors on the inside were stained and looked dirty. Can't believe they do not have staff to clean such things.

My room had no tub only a stand up shower. One my second night on my return from a day out my room was undone and not serviced. It was appalling to come into a room with an umade bed.

The grounds were nice to walk around and the pools was basic. Can't believe they have a slide that will drop on into 3 1/2 feet - the deepest was 4 which is also laughable ... anything for adults? After all we are paying for this.

And parking, appalling!! 20.00 and the lot is always full and sometimes by outsiders not guest attending a wedding or function or something! On my last night my husband had to park on the "side" street that had a sign no parking 2am-4am. He came back down and slept in the car for 2 hours so we would not get ticketed. Thankfully no one showed up, which makes me think is that sign there just to scare you to self park for 20.00. For such a big hotel, parking needs to be bigger.

Needless to say, as my husband put it, he will never stay at a Hyatt again ... and don't blame him. Not worth the money in my book.

Room Tip: Corner room Junior suite has the nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Our last stop on our California road trip. We stayed four nights on the 11th floor of the main block. Staff were pleasant enough, but always seemed in a rush. There was usually a long queue at reception. Our room was immaculate, with a nice bathroom and a balcony with stunning views westward.
The location is great. An easy walk to SeaWorld, or over the bridge to the beach. An easy drive to La Jolla, the zoo or downtown San Diego.
Our one disappointment was what seemed petty penny-pinching. All the other hotels we stayed at offered free parking, free internet, complementary fruit, cookies etc. This hotel charged for every "extra", including bottled water in the bedroom. The car park was usually full later in the evening and finding a space was a hassle - not what you might expect if you were paying 20 dollars a day - and we were!
It seems that Hyatt need to improve on the personal touch and this hotel would have scored an easy five if there was a little more generosity with what are fairly routine offerings these days. That said the quality of the room and that outstanding view are worth a recommendation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Wow another great hotel. The pool was fantastic! Love the tower rooms and the view was fantastic ! This is the first time and it was great. Staff was very nice and friendly, the spa was fantastic and the food was good in the Red Marlin? I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Director of Quality Assurance at Hyatt Regency Mission Bay, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear UsaLovestoTravel,

We appreciate your great review here on TripAdvisor! It is wonderful to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your first stay with us at Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina and I hope that we have another chance to welcome you back again in the future.

Thanks again!
Kendra Santos
Director of Quality Assurance
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Mission Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Mission Bay

Address: 1441 Quivira Road, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#31 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#78 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Mission Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina completed a $65 million transformation in February 2008. The hotel offers casual elegance in the heart of Mission Bay Aquatic Park with panoramic views and superior service. Our 430 newly appointed guestrooms feature Hyatt Grand Beds, 32-inch flat screen televisions, iHome alarm clocks and panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and Mission Bay. Experience the thrills of our multiple swimming pools and waterslides, take a stroll to the world famuos SeaWorld San Diego located less than a mile off property, or relax in the tranquility of our Hyatt Pure Spa, Blue Marble. To indulge your culinary senses, let our staff serve you in our waterfront restaurant Red Marlin or head over to SWIM and enjoy light fare and cocktails by the pool. The Hyatt Regency Mission Bay strives to provide the highest level of guest service and comfort. From the moment you arrive, our staff will welcome you to our hotel and treat you with unparalleled attentiveness to ensure that every stay exceeds your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Mission Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Hyatt Regency San Diego
Hyatt San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Mission Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.