We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip off” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Mission Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Mission Bay to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1441 Quivira Road, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Bay Park)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #161 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Ankeny, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rip off”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This hotel was absolutely not worth the money I spent. I took my kids on vaca to San Diego and other than location, I can't say anything good. The waterfront suites are badly in need of an update. Weren't pocket doors popular in the 60's? Wallpaper peeling in the bathroom. Only a small 4 drawer dresser to Wad clothes into. Drinks were $12!!! Won't be staying again. No continental breakfast. $24 for a couple bagels.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Quality Assurance at Hyatt Regency Mission Bay, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear Arlillig,

Thank you for your review. Although disappointed to hear that you were displeased with the value of your stay, we appreciate the candid feedback and use this feedback to make changes to our hotel that will enhance our guest's experience. I am happy to hear you found our location in Mission Bay to be ideal, but I am sorry you were disappointed with your guestroom. I have shared your comments with our Director of Engineering to ensure your comments are addressed. For some added value, I would like to suggest that you check out the Special Offers page on our website. Here we have many wonderful package options available to our guests, some of which include breakfast, late check-out, complimentary parking, and/or complimentary internet. Again, thank you for your time and I hope you choose to visit us again in the future.

Warmest Regards,
Kendra Santos
Director of Quality Assurance
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    541
    361
    229
    138
See reviews for
676
358
41
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

My husband and daughter are there now for my daughters Sweet 16. I spent months reading and mapping out their trip - and I booked them at the Hyatt with the AAA meal special so they both get breakfast included - at check in they were told they only get one breakfast, thank goodness I had printed off my confirmation that had a detailed description of the 2 meals otherwise they wouldn't have been able to go back to the front desk to prove that it was 2 meals - not impressed! Then when I skyped them last night I see they are sharing a king bed! I booked two queens and apparently they were told the hotel was full and that was all they had! I am so disappointed! I expected above and beyond customer service - specially since they know it's her sweet 16!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hohenfels, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed in one of the suites overlooking the bay and thought the hotel room was very nice. The best thing the hotel had going for it was the helpful staff. Every time we had a question or needed something they went out of their way to be friendly and quickly help us. The room didnt come with a microwave, but with one call to the front desk we had one in about 10 minutes. We also used the hotels pack n play for our 18 month old and it was delivered already set up about 15 minutes after we checked in. The pool area is lovely, however it was in the 60's during our visit and the water was no where near the 80 degrees the hotel claims to keep it at so we did not use it much. We also decided to rent a car after arriving and used the hotels service with Enterprise. I would NOT recommend doing this. The already agreed upon rates with the hotel are outrageous!!! Im guessing you pay the extra for the delivery of the car to the hotel. I worked for Enterprise before though, so I know we were being overcharged for the tiny little car we had. The hotel is in a great spot to hit up the Mission Beach area. We enjoyed walking around and had a very good meal at Luigi's. We also used the hotel's water taxi service to Sea World, and I highly recommend it! No worries about parking and there actually wasnt anyone at the back entrance to check us in so if we were not already using free military vouchers we wouldve gotten in for free anyways! The hotel's location is excellent for hitting up all the sights around San Diego! We really loved Old Towne and right down the road from the hotel is The Broken Yolk! Best breakfast ever! Major cons of the hotel are having to pay for internet, which we didnt bother to do since we have cell phones, and paying for parking. It is my opinion that if I am paying to stay in a hotel I shouldnt have to pay to park my car there. I have never liked doing that. I would rate this hotel excellent if the extra fees were dropped, there's just no sense in paying more money when the hotel is already a pricey stay for what you get. None of the charges for parking or internet should be a shock to anyone at check out however, since the hotel was very up front about the fees online and at check in.

Room Tip: We loved the suite since we have an 18 month old and she goes to bed at like 8pm. We could put her...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I stayed at this hotel one night for an executive business meeting. The location is fantastic. It's right on the water and I was on the 11th floor of the high-rise looking out over the pacific ocean. The room was spotless and nicely appointed. The amenities in the bathroom were nice. Each room had a little deck with two chairs where you can sit and read or look out over the view. The TV picture wasn't great but you're not there to watch TV. Also the mattress was a bit mushy and probably needed to be upgraded.

We had a meeting reception at the hotel restaurant and clearly the restaurant didn't know how to handle a group like ours. Little appetizer dishes came out one at a time which doesn't really work for a group. It was also pretty pricey for what you got.

Overall I would recommend it for a family vacation, girls weekend or other personal trip. Not sure I would recommend this for business meetings.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Easy access to Downtown and most surrounding areas. The room was clean and staff was friendly and helpfull. We had a spacious suite with a dry bar and small but nice balcony looking out over the harbor. The only thing I didn't like was the early morning noise from the sea lions out on the bait dock in the middle of the harbor. By the 2nd or 3rd night I didn't even notice it so it wasn't a big problem. Great food and drinks at the Marlin restaurant. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Opted to stay at this hotel over another for the simple reason is that I get points. The lobby and pool areas are lovely. The staff is attentive. Only a few oh ohs stand out.

First, you still have to pay for internet access in your room. I find this odd as I have stayed at Hampton Inns before and wifi access is free! Hard to believe that this upscale chain still charges up to $15 a day for in room access. Definitely a deterrent for business travel as you can only do so much on an Iphone. If you have a Tmobile hotspot, I do believe that access is free.... Or if you want to sit in the lobby and do work...

The pool staff is attentive, but I had to ask several times, and it took 45 minutes to get a fruit plate! I actually think this is because I made the mistake of paying my bill first... no incentive.

On the plus side, the rooms were comfortable and well maintained. I was in the Tower and each had a private balcony with seating. One of my seats definitely had cigarette marks....

Their fitness center is 24 hours, and complimentary,which I appreciate having to fly from the east. And, there is a nice boardwalk for running...

Yes, there were children, but hey, its a destination resort near Seaworld! So, you have to expect families.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This hotel is old and dingy. We stayed in the Bay 2 rooms and they are awful. They smell, the furniture is stained and the ceiling is ugly. This hotel is overpriced and dated. Don't stay here. It is a popular family hotel because of its close proximity to Sea World. The pool area was packed with kids and very noisy. They did seem to be having a great time. Self parking is $20/night.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Director of Quality Assurance at Hyatt Regency Mission Bay, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Ozkzpp,

Thank you for your candid review here on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your recent stay and I have shared your comments with our Director of Engineering and Director of Housekeeping to ensure all of our guestrooms are up to Hyatt standards. I regret to hear that you did not enjoy the family and kid friendly atmosphere in our pool area, however we do our best to accommodate each and every guest, regardless of their travel purposes. Please know that we appreciate your feedback and use all comments and reviews to continue working to improve and enhance our hotel and our guest's experience.

Warmest Regards,
Kendra Santos
Director of Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Mission Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Mission Bay

Address: 1441 Quivira Road, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#77 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Mission Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina completed a $65 million transformation in February 2008. The hotel offers casual elegance in the heart of Mission Bay Aquatic Park with panoramic views and superior service. Our 430 newly appointed guestrooms feature Hyatt Grand Beds, 32-inch flat screen televisions, iHome alarm clocks and panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and Mission Bay. Experience the thrills of our multiple swimming pools and waterslides, take a stroll to the world famuos SeaWorld San Diego located less than a mile off property, or relax in the tranquility of our Hyatt Pure Spa, Blue Marble. To indulge your culinary senses, let our staff serve you in our waterfront restaurant Red Marlin or head over to SWIM and enjoy light fare and cocktails by the pool. The Hyatt Regency Mission Bay strives to provide the highest level of guest service and comfort. From the moment you arrive, our staff will welcome you to our hotel and treat you with unparalleled attentiveness to ensure that every stay exceeds your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Hyatt Regency Mission Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Hyatt Regency San Diego
Hyatt San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Mission Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.