We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful. Waste of money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1631 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108 (Mission Valley / Hotel Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #234 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awful. Waste of money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Booked this through one of the discount websites, looking for a good deal close to the airport. With only a 10 hour layover, just needed a place to crash.

The hotel/motel is a $25 taxi ride to the airport, so any money saved in the room cost quickly disappeared. The room was dated, amenities barely comfortable and it was noisy. Nothing nearby to eat unless you walk to another hotel.

The taxi I arranged via the front desk on check in, never appeared in the morning. The front desk, and breakfast area was locked at the time of my early departure so was forced to speak with the attendant through the window which you could hardly hear. I had to push to get them to call a taxi for me.

Despite signs saying breakfast would be available at 5:30am, it was not.

Do not book this hotel. If considering cheap hotel accommodation near an airport, explicitly book a hotel that is close by with free transportation. This will in the end save you money, time and frustration.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    32
    71
    81
    105
See reviews for
121
52
38
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed one night in this Rat-Hole!! Never again...Upon entering the room after driving from the Phoenix Area, There was no hot water in the rooms. The front desk said they were working on it and it would be ready later!! Laid on bed smelled like vomit! Bedspread was replaced.. In the morning the breakfast was skimpy and everything was stale!! Was not open at 500 am as advised! avoid this hotel at all costs!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We booked this hotel for a one night post-cruise wind-down before heading home to Arizona. Great price through Booking.com. Hotel is older and it shows. Hole in the wall where the door handle apparently keeps hitting it. Bedding was just ok and towels were small and old. Water pressure was good and toilets flushed everything on the first try. Iron, ironing board, hair dryer, coffee maker, fridge and TV were dated but serviceable. Bed on hubby's side was lumpy, my side was fine. We were on the top floor 2nd from last room pool side, so we didn't hear much of the freeway traffic but there is some so beware! Pool and jacuzzi are older and not in the best kept shape but we used them anyway. Only 3 loungers......and two side tables. They really need to update the rooms, but we slept soundly and felt refreshed in the morning. Continental breakfast was cereals, milk, juice, coffee and danish and the danish were surprisingly tasty.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Okay, first the good news. Our daughter was delivering her first baby over the July 4th weekend. We needed to be in San Diego NOW and needed a hotel room. Nothing, nowhere, no how was available. On a miraculous fluke, a room at Howard Johnson's became available and we snapped it up for $200 a night, sight unseen. Good thing. The baby was a bouncing beautiful boy; the hotel was a sad shadow of her former self. Mommy, daddy and baby were healthy and happy; we were afraid to sit on the dusty, stained couch. The new, little family woke up every hour for a hungry baby; we carefully peeled away the sketchy bedspread and found fresh, white sheets and fluffy pillows. We slept like contented babies. We awoke to warm showers and lovely soaps and shampoo, although we made sure to keep our flip flops on at all times. You wouldn't want your feet to touch the carpet, and you might slip on the pizza flyers slipped under the door. So, my feelings are mixed. Yeah, the place was scuzzy, but they took us in when no one else would. You get an extra star for that.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean View, New Jersey
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

stayed at this hotel last night needed to catch an early plane at the nearby San Diego International Airport. I put in a wake up for 4:00 am since my flight was at 6:45.I never got my wake up call. Tried to take a shower but shower did not work at all. Had to fly to Washington and now waiting for flight to Philly without showering. breakfast is from 5 a.m. To 9 a.m.. I got down to the breakfast area at 5 a.m. And the lights were out and the door was locked. At 5:05 am he unlocked the door and THEN started to brew the coffee and set up the breakfast. So much for a leisurely breakfast. When I complained about no wake up call, no shower, rushed breakfast I got no response. I was given a card and told to call the manager Panesh after 9 am. When I got to Washington I called and was told that he is off on Sat and Sun and to call m- f 9-2 pm. I called Howard Johnsons to complain and was put on hold for 10 min and then hung up on. I guess Howard Johnsons and its parent company Windham have no regard for customer service. Not likely I will stay in one of their properties ever again.

Room Tip: Stay away from this property and don't expect Howard Johnson's or Windham to care about your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twentynine Palms, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The male at the front desk was very rude in acknowledging my presence and allowed another customer to get in front of me without an explanation. When he checked me into the hotel he acted as though I was bothering him and was very rude. The lobby was decent so I expected the hotel rooms to be acceptable. The room was clean but needed some upgrading. The handle to the shower was difficult to turn. The pop-up drain was not attached so I had to improvise when giving my son a bath. My floor was quiet. There were some half dressed, rowdy, and seemingly intoxicated male guests that felt the need to keep their door open. Coming down the stairs was a bit of a hassle because passing their room was uncomfortable. I called the lobby to inform them of the situation and no one answered. I called twice and was unable to get a response. I choose the hotel because of the price but I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Carpet could use an upgrade so are the amen entices. Paper dispenser in the restroom are falling off the wall the parking lot is dirty so is the carpet or it could use a deep cleaning room could also use some air freshener linens are a bit dirty needs a good bleaching the ironing board needs to be repaired or replace drain plug on the bathtub is missing and the breakfast selection is very limited so is the seating area the front desk counter is not ADA compliant way too high and the railings on the other floors needs to be repaired I had 2 rooms reserved 1 was on the ground floor and the other was on the 3rd floor it's scary on the top floor because of the railings are rusted and appears to be swaying check in and check out was fine though

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Address: 1631 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - San Diego Hotel San Diego
Howard Johnson San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.