We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very basic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge San Diego Mission Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge San Diego Mission Valley to your Saves list
Travelodge San Diego Mission Valley
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1201 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108 (Mission Valley / Hotel Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #193 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“very basic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

We stayed here at the recommendation of a friend. The front desk staff was friendly and the room was clean although very dated. The bedding appeared to be new but this hotel is old and the furniture was very worn and probably from the eighties. The bathroom did not have a fan. The pool and hot tub were very clean. The room does not include a complementary breakfast but there is a restuarant on the premises. We had an excellent breakfast at Albie's. The food and service were very good. I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a cheap overnight stay but definitely not if you are staying for more nights. I think you could spend a few more dollars for a hotel with a complimentary breakfast and a more updated accommodations.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    112
    130
    67
    49
See reviews for
162
83
42
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

You get what you pay for! The room was one of the least expensive in hotel circle. The pics look great. But it stops there !!!!!
The beds were hard and tilted to the edge. We had an ant problem in the bathroom the faucet had a slow stream of water. The freeway noise and parking was terrible. The workers at the nearby restaurants used the hotel room parking, making it very difficult to find a place. Unsavory looking people seemed to roam the place. You can't have a good time if you don't get a good nights sleep.
Do not stay here if you want to enjoy your vacation!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

We have stayed here 4 different weeks since last september and are very pleased! Rooms are very clean,staff extremely courteous and helpful.Swimming pool and jacuzzi are perfect and relaxing.A few times we asked for some extras like refrigerator and microwave and someone brought it to our room within 5 minutes!! Compimertary USA Today paper each morning. Hotel manager Richmond was fantastic, as always! Upgraded us with flat screen HD TV in our room. great location,we will come back again!we love the free Wi Fi too!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

I recently completed a series of weekend stays at the Mission Valley Travelodge. I was impressed with the friendliness and courtesy of housekeeping and the front desk staff. The rates were affordable, the rooms were clean and the facility was excellent. They even were thoughtful enough to ship my cell phone charger to me after I inadvertently left it after my departure. I would not hesitate to recommend this facility to a friend. Dr. DM

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
van nuys, ca
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

service was great through out: front desk, restaurant, housekeeping. Room was fine. No special features. Free wifi access was unexpected and appreciated. Location is 5 minutes from the beach. Pet-friendly is why I stayed here and would stay again, with or without my dog.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

My fiance and I stayed here one night because a friend was having a birthday party in San Diego. The location and customer service were great but our room....eh, not so much.

The pictures on the site definitely do not give a true depiction of how old the rooms look. We weren't expecting a 5 star style appearance but MAN!...our room looked like a face-lift was in order. The worst was this: I generally make it habit to flush hotel toilets prior to using to ensure they are in working order. Thank God I did too...it backed up. To the motel's credit, as soon as I called the front desk, a handyman came within 15 minutes to fix the issue. The toilet still had a slow flush and since we were only there one night, we figured we could handle it.
We probably won't be staying here again as there are probably better hotels for a few dollars more.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

As soon as i walked into my room old worn linen,moldy filthy bathroom....food caked on remote....terrible smell i sneezed the entire night... thank god i was there with my dog,,,,vagabonds walking through lot..... i had to leave ,looks like somewhere you would take a prostitute....my dog even hated it! Trust me don"t be surprised like i was... its a total DUMP!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelerforfun49, Manager at Travelodge San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this review, February 16, 2010
We are a reputable hotel located in the heart of Hotel Circle. We renovate our rooms as needed and do our best to ensure a clean and comfortable stay for our guests. We recently completed landscaping and pool/spa upgrades, including new cabanas, and we finished our business center/laundry facility renovation. With confidence, we invite our guest from San Diego to visit us again in beautiful Mission Valley for a wonderful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge San Diego Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge San Diego Mission Valley

Address: 1201 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge San Diego Mission Valley 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Travelodge San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle is conveniently located off I-8 and is centrally located on Hotel Circle, just a brief drive from all San Diego's most popular attractions, including two nearby Shopping Malls.100% Non-smoking rooms and recent renovations will make your stay even more enjoyable!Save time by purchasing your attraction or tour tickets at our front desk. You may also enjoy the Trolley Tour of San Diego which stops directly in front of our hotel. If you prefer, simply relax in our heated Swimming Pool and Spa or enjoy the comfort of our beautiful cabanas while overlooking the pool. We offer Free High Speed Wireless Internet Access. Our Guest Laundry & our Business Center are also available for your convenience. For your dining pleasure we have two Restaurants on site, and in the evening there is live entertainment at the Piano Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge San Diego Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge San Diego Mission Valley Hotel San Diego
Travel Lodge San Diego
San Diego Travel Lodge
San Diego Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge San Diego Mission Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.