We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bayside” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham San Diego Bayside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham San Diego Bayside to your Saves list
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1355 North Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Holiday Inn) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #151 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    508
    385
    141
    70
See reviews for
340
448
70
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ankara, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed 4 days in San Diego trip. Our room facing the bay. That was very good. hotel facilities were ok. Our first room was close to lift so that was a bit noisy then we informed and room changed. Staff was very helpfull. There is no minibar in the room.

Room Tip: "Avoid to close rooms to lift and vendor machines that makes noise" "Seaside rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed here for four nights during a conference in San Diego Bay area. This is a nice hotel in very good location. Everything is very close by. There are a number of very good restaurant in walking distance. The hotel has also adjacent restaurant and bar. These are very handy. The bay is just in front of the hotel. The walk along the bay is very refreshing. The airport is very close. There is also free shuttle service provided by the hotel. The rooms are quite good with nice bed and flat tv. The service is good. The staff are helpful and responsive. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to San Diego Bay area for vacation or business.

Room Tip: Get room facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel is nice. I am shocked at the cost that a microwave and refrigerator was not provided. At least a refrigerator should have been provided. I did several business meals where I was discussing business more than eating so I never could finish a meal. It was a shame that I had to let it go to waste because their was no way to preserve it.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham SD B, Manager at Wyndham San Diego Bayside, responded to this review, 3 days ago
We are glad you enjoyed your stay during your business trip. While we do not provide microwaves in our guest rooms, we do have refrigerators available for our guests upon request. We will be sure to provide you with one during your next stay to make your stay complete. We look forward to your return so that you may experience another great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a room facing the bay. Gorgeous. Room was lovely and the personnel outstanding. Only downside was no fridge in room.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham SD B, Manager at Wyndham San Diego Bayside, responded to this review, 3 days ago
We are glad you had a "gorgeous" view and that you loved the service you received from your staff! That's the type of service we always strive to provide to our guests while staying here at the Wyndham San Diego Bayside! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Have stayed here in the past and will do so in the future. A very great location and a great hotel. Staff is always friendly and helpful.
Just hope they get there café in soon.



  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham SD B, Manager at Wyndham San Diego Bayside, responded to this review, 3 days ago
We absolutely love to hear great comments such as yours regarding your stay. We want to strive to continue to offer great service along with a quality room and keep you coming! Your patronage means a lot to us and we appreciate you making our hotel your choice when staying in San Diego. Our new restaurant is coming soon and we are very confident that our guests will love the new and improved restaurant chain. We look forward to seeing you again soon for another great stay here at Wyndham San Diego Bayside!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed here 4 nights while attending a conference. The hotel is very clean and presentable. The staff was less than helpful. Upon check in we weren't told anything about the hotel amenities and discovered a Starbucks tucked away in the far corner on our departure morning! Also, upon check in, I asked if our rooms (travelling with a co-worker) would be on the same floor despite them being booked together. She informed us they could offer the same floor but we both wouldn't get a king bed, which we paid for! We had never been to San Diego and wanted to know restaurants in the area that we could get to by walking and other sites to see. A couple of restaurants were offered, but the concierge was less than excited to help us. We asked about the trolley, but she just pointed in the direction of it (no help with purchasing tickets, schedule, etc.)

Room Tip: The wifi wasn't the greatest. We were in the main tower on the 5th floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham SD B, Manager at Wyndham San Diego Bayside, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for the comments regarding your recent stay during your conference. While we are glad your overall stay was good, we do want to extend our apologies for the service you received at our concierge desk, as this is not the type of service we extend to our guests and we have taken the necessary steps to follow up in this area. We hope you will visit us again so that we may have another opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to you as a valued guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham San Diego Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham San Diego Bayside

Address: 1355 North Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham San Diego Bayside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a premiere location close to the San Diego cruise ship terminal, Convention Center, and Gaslamp Quarter, the Wyndham San Diego Bayside is unsurpassed among downtown waterfront hotels. Leisure travelers will enjoy nearby attractions such as the San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, Balboa Park, Harbor Tours, and Maritime Museums including the USS Midway and Star of India. A stay at the Wyndham San Diego Bayside immerses guests in a true full-service experience, and relaxing views of the San Diego harbor front or city center skyline. A free airport and area shuttle makes traveling to and from the hotel and nearby attractions easy, while free high speed internet makes business travel a pleasure. Fantastic features such as an outdoor heated pool and a poolside gym provide opportunities for recreation once guests return from a fun-filled day exploring the area. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are easy as well, with several exceptional on-site restaurants such as Elephant and Castle as well as Ruth Chris Steakhouse providing a wide variety of options for any taste. The 600 guest rooms and suites at the Wyndham San Diego Bayside provide a peaceful escape from the vibrant city buzz. Bright decor, comfortable beds, floor-to-ceiling windows and furnished balcony rooms help guests make the most of the stunning location. Suites located near the top of the 14-story tower of the hotel offer breathtaking views along with a private bedroom, living area, pull-out sofa and mini-refrigerator. All rooms include guest-preferred amenities such as free high speed internet access, a free morning newspaper, a coffee maker, hairdryer and a large work desk. With 24,000 square feet of meeting space and conference facilities the Wyndham San Diego Bayside is the ideal location for San Diego meetings and events. Full-service planning assistance and professional amenities along with and creative catering help create the perfect meeting on the bay. Grand galas or casual affairs are also a specialty for the professionals at the Wyndham San Diego Bayside, with 12 wedding reception halls and various wedding packages to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Wyndham, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham San Diego Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego - On The Bay Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn Bay San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Diego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham San Diego Bayside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.