We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham San Diego Bayside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham San Diego Bayside to your Saves list
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1355 North Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Holiday Inn) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #151 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
“great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had a room facing the bay. Gorgeous. Room was lovely and the personnel outstanding. Only downside was no fridge in room.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    503
    385
    141
    70
See reviews for
339
446
69
367
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Have stayed here in the past and will do so in the future. A very great location and a great hotel. Staff is always friendly and helpful.
Just hope they get there café in soon.



  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here 4 nights while attending a conference. The hotel is very clean and presentable. The staff was less than helpful. Upon check in we weren't told anything about the hotel amenities and discovered a Starbucks tucked away in the far corner on our departure morning! Also, upon check in, I asked if our rooms (travelling with a co-worker) would be on the same floor despite them being booked together. She informed us they could offer the same floor but we both wouldn't get a king bed, which we paid for! We had never been to San Diego and wanted to know restaurants in the area that we could get to by walking and other sites to see. A couple of restaurants were offered, but the concierge was less than excited to help us. We asked about the trolley, but she just pointed in the direction of it (no help with purchasing tickets, schedule, etc.)

Room Tip: The wifi wasn't the greatest. We were in the main tower on the 5th floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I reserved a bay view room to watch the pararde of lights on San Diego Bay. The room was perfect, we sat on the balancy and could see and here the parade as it made its way around the bay. Very convent for Holiday shopping as well.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We always like the hotel.
But this time we felt like we got the leftover room and it was very stark.
The TV was not even plugged in and had to have the maint. guy fix it.
The Heater did not work (only blew cold air) it was fixed but the next day when we needed cool air it only blew hot air. Had to open balcony door to cool off room.
Very impressed with the security for the building.
Could have much better signage to get into the building from the parking structure.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very nice and clean place. Staff very friendly. It rained all the time but staff was friendly and accommodating with umbrellas.. I recommend this place. Specially on a Sunny day, you can enjoy a nice walk to center of town located a few bloks away.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham San Diego Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham San Diego Bayside

Address: 1355 North Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham San Diego Bayside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a premiere location close to the San Diego cruise ship terminal, Convention Center, and Gaslamp Quarter, the Wyndham San Diego Bayside is unsurpassed among downtown waterfront hotels. Leisure travelers will enjoy nearby attractions such as the San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, Balboa Park, Harbor Tours, and Maritime Museums including the USS Midway and Star of India. A stay at the Wyndham San Diego Bayside immerses guests in a true full-service experience, and relaxing views of the San Diego harbor front or city center skyline. A free airport and area shuttle makes traveling to and from the hotel and nearby attractions easy, while free high speed internet makes business travel a pleasure. Fantastic features such as an outdoor heated pool and a poolside gym provide opportunities for recreation once guests return from a fun-filled day exploring the area. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are easy as well, with several exceptional on-site restaurants such as Elephant and Castle as well as Ruth Chris Steakhouse providing a wide variety of options for any taste. The 600 guest rooms and suites at the Wyndham San Diego Bayside provide a peaceful escape from the vibrant city buzz. Bright decor, comfortable beds, floor-to-ceiling windows and furnished balcony rooms help guests make the most of the stunning location. Suites located near the top of the 14-story tower of the hotel offer breathtaking views along with a private bedroom, living area, pull-out sofa and mini-refrigerator. All rooms include guest-preferred amenities such as free high speed internet access, a free morning newspaper, a coffee maker, hairdryer and a large work desk. With 24,000 square feet of meeting space and conference facilities the Wyndham San Diego Bayside is the ideal location for San Diego meetings and events. Full-service planning assistance and professional amenities along with and creative catering help create the perfect meeting on the bay. Grand galas or casual affairs are also a specialty for the professionals at the Wyndham San Diego Bayside, with 12 wedding reception halls and various wedding packages to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Wyndham, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham San Diego Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego - On The Bay Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn Bay San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Diego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham San Diego Bayside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.