We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham San Diego Bayside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham San Diego Bayside to your Saves list
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1355 North Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Holiday Inn) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #152 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Wiggins, Mississippi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My wife and I stayed here for seven nights. We were here to visit my son who is in the Navy. This was a pretty good facility although it does seem a little old (especially from the outside). The staff was very friendly. Upon check-in the clerk upgraded our room to bay side view. This was so nice as we were able to view the boat parade in the bay from our balcony. Also the parking valet were very friendly and helpful even though we self-parked. There is lots to do and see, and eat nearby and all within walking distance. One could ride the shuttle from the airport and have plenty to do without renting a car. My biggest complaint with the hotel was our rooms did smell a little musty and there was no selection of pillows. They were all VERY soft. I prefer one more on the firm side. No complaint that would prevent me from staying here again and would not be afraid to recommed to my friends.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    499
    380
    141
    70
See reviews for
335
441
69
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our stay at the Wyndham San Diego Bayside worked out so well! We were in the midst of a major relocation with our dogs and were frantically dealing with all sorts of details. The staff made us much more at ease and couldn't have been more helpful. Our dogs became such a hit with staff members as well as many other guests during our 3 day stay that everyone started calling them by name and were so happy to greet them, pet them and they seemed to truly enjoy seeing dogs in an unexpected location (at a large city hotel).

The room we had was nicely sized for us and our menagerie, although the hotel is showing signs of age with some wear and tear evident suggesting a need for refurbishment to bring the facility up to contemporary standards Our overall experience was so positive that we endorse the hotel for location, convenience and terrific staff support.

Many thanks to all for making our stay so successful!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Angelica Ortega was extremely helpful during my stay at the Wyndham.
Employees like her make this a great place to stay. I visit San Diego every month. I don't always spend the night, but when I do, I stay at the Wyndham.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

the hotel was convienant and the shuttles were every 15 minutes or so.
alot of airline crews were using this hotel - free wifi

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham SD B, Manager at Wyndham San Diego Bayside, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for sharing your comments. We are glad you found our hotel to be convenient and that you had the opportunity to experience our free shuttle service. We hope all the remaining parts of your stay was satisfactory as well and look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I enjoyed my stay very much, the staff was friendly and courteous, as well as accommodating. The view was fantastic, especially at night when the full moon rose over the Bay. What a view from the 10th floor. I would definately stay there again for another short stay cation.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham SD B, Manager at Wyndham San Diego Bayside, responded to this review, yesterday
We appreciate the wonderful comments and feedback you provided about your recent stay here at Wyndham San Diego Bayside! Our goal is to provide our guests with a great room and great service, which creates a great experience! Look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We arrived two days before cruise and loved the view from room. Hotel is in a great location and close to many things. Loved that we could walk to the cruise terminal. Excellent Deli next door.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham SD B, Manager at Wyndham San Diego Bayside, responded to this review, yesterday
Your very kind comments are greatly appreciated and we are glad to know you enjoyed your stay here at Wyndham San Diego Bayside! Additionally it's good to know our location was perfect for your cruise departure, and that the food at our Deli was good. We hope to once again be your choice for accommodations should you find yourselves here in San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I chose this location for a mini-staycation in celebration of our anniversary. We were excited, but the day hadn't been going well up until the point of our check-in. At the check-in desk we were helped by Jeffrey, who worked to track down our wayward, 3rd party, same-day reservation. Jeffery also made sure we had a gorgeous bay-view room upgrade and arranged for champagne and chocolate covered strawberries to be sent to our room after I'd let on what we were celebrating. The level of customer service exhibited by Jeffery, and his co worker (Harold was it?) really meant a lot to us, and made our day! If this is the level of employee that Wyndham is bringing on, then we'll definitely choose Wyndham again. The room itself had a minor cleanliness issue, and while we didn't use the TV there was no remote to be found if we had wanted to. Despite this, the service provided was absolutely fantastic. They represented the hotel extremely well, and in doing so they promoted this brand that my wife and I will recommend to everyone we know. Well done!

Room Tip: Haven't tried city view, but the bay view was stunningly beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham SD B, Manager at Wyndham San Diego Bayside, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for selecting to stay at our property to celebration your anniversary! We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff demonstrated exemplary service, which contributed to the success of your stay. We look forward to you visiting us again so that you may experience another great stay here at Wyndham San Diego Bayside!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham San Diego Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham San Diego Bayside

Address: 1355 North Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham San Diego Bayside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a premiere location close to the San Diego cruise ship terminal, Convention Center, and Gaslamp Quarter, the Wyndham San Diego Bayside is unsurpassed among downtown waterfront hotels. Leisure travelers will enjoy nearby attractions such as the San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, Balboa Park, Harbor Tours, and Maritime Museums including the USS Midway and Star of India. A stay at the Wyndham San Diego Bayside immerses guests in a true full-service experience, and relaxing views of the San Diego harbor front or city center skyline. A free airport and area shuttle makes traveling to and from the hotel and nearby attractions easy, while free high speed internet makes business travel a pleasure. Fantastic features such as an outdoor heated pool and a poolside gym provide opportunities for recreation once guests return from a fun-filled day exploring the area. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are easy as well, with several exceptional on-site restaurants such as Elephant and Castle as well as Ruth Chris Steakhouse providing a wide variety of options for any taste. The 600 guest rooms and suites at the Wyndham San Diego Bayside provide a peaceful escape from the vibrant city buzz. Bright decor, comfortable beds, floor-to-ceiling windows and furnished balcony rooms help guests make the most of the stunning location. Suites located near the top of the 14-story tower of the hotel offer breathtaking views along with a private bedroom, living area, pull-out sofa and mini-refrigerator. All rooms include guest-preferred amenities such as free high speed internet access, a free morning newspaper, a coffee maker, hairdryer and a large work desk. With 24,000 square feet of meeting space and conference facilities the Wyndham San Diego Bayside is the ideal location for San Diego meetings and events. Full-service planning assistance and professional amenities along with and creative catering help create the perfect meeting on the bay. Grand galas or casual affairs are also a specialty for the professionals at the Wyndham San Diego Bayside, with 12 wedding reception halls and various wedding packages to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham San Diego Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego - On The Bay Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn Bay San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Diego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham San Diego Bayside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.