We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sometimes bad is good.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham San Diego Bayside

Save Saved
You added Wyndham San Diego Bayside to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1355 North Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Holiday Inn) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #151 of 270 hotels in San Diego
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
“Sometimes bad is good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Like some of the other reviewers, I reserved my room through a consolidator -- asking for a single for two weeks from Christmas into January -- knowing I needed to be near the airport. I was surprised when I pulled up to the hotel because the last time I stayed here, it was a Holiday Inn. This time I was booked into the midrise on Harbor Boulevard, but my room faced the plaza between the hotel and the parking structure. My room appeared to have been pieced together from some storage space and was *huge* with an attached dressing room leading to a separate bathroom. I had two queen beds and since I was solo, I chose to sleep in the one closest to my two banks of windows. Facing southeast, I had a chance to keep track of night life running back and forth between the restaurant (in the next building south) and the bar (in my building). Excellent if you like to people watch. Unlike what some other reviewers complained about, the lobby and front-of-building staffers helped me pack and unpack my rental car, helped me retrieve a bellman's cart, and assisted me when I tried to take it though the revolving door in front (yes, that was a stupid move). Btw, I made two trips to Boston during my stay and got to know all the shuttle drivers as well. Everyone treated me with respect, and I returned the favor as best I could. If I had something to whine about, it would be about the Wifi. It was weak back when this hotel was a Holiday Inn, and it's weak now. But given the size of the property, a network engineer is needed to solve the problem.

Room Tip: Avoid the second floor in Building #1 which gets a lot of lobby noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham SD B, Manager at Wyndham San Diego Bayside, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments. We are gad you enjoyed your stay and we really appreciate the detailed comments about our hotel and what areas we can improve to make it better. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to you visiting us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    233
    404
    319
    121
    62
See reviews for
297
354
57
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We went to San Diego on a family trip, and had requested 2 rooms near each other, we were very happy to be next door to one another and had a great time hanging out with our niece and nephew on the balconies. At night the city views from the 10th floor were amazing, especially the night of the full moon. The location is great for the USS Midway, trolley tours and Seaport Village.
The glass elevator was one we had to wait for each day with the kids. The beds were super comfy and we loved the black out curtains. Nice sleep! The pricey parking fees keep this from being a 5 star. Everyone we had contact with was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Next time we will request and pay more for a bay view, but the city views at night were amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham SD B, Manager at Wyndham San Diego Bayside, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
We are very excited to know you and your family had a wonderful time while staying here at Wyndham San Diego Bayside! It is our goal and pleasure to serve you and to ensure your stay is pleasant and memorable. Further we appreciate the wonderful feedback you shared. Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I would definitely recommend the sea facing rooms in this hotel.. even if it costs a little more. The view is amazing and the room is also quite good. The sea port village is walkable distance and the restaurant in the hotel serves british pub food :)

Room Tip: Pick the sea facing room.. definitely worth it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham SD B, Manager at Wyndham San Diego Bayside, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thanks for the wonderful comments and feedback regarding your stay. It is our goal to provide great service with a quality room, and we are glad we met your expectations from location of the hotel to the food served in our restaurant. We look forward to seeing you again so that you may experience another great stay here at Wyndham San Diego Bayside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham San Diego Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham San Diego Bayside

Address: 1355 North Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 270 hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham San Diego Bayside 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a premiere location close to the San Diego cruise ship terminal, Convention Center, and Gaslamp Quarter, the Wyndham San Diego Bayside is unsurpassed among downtown waterfront hotels. Leisure travelers will enjoy nearby attractions such as the San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, Balboa Park, Harbor Tours, and Maritime Museums including the USS Midway and Star of India. A stay at the Wyndham San Diego Bayside immerses guests in a true full-service experience, and relaxing views of the San Diego harbor front or city center skyline. A free airport and area shuttle makes traveling to and from the hotel and nearby attractions easy, while free high speed internet makes business travel a pleasure. Fantastic features such as an outdoor heated pool and a poolside gym provide opportunities for recreation once guests return from a fun-filled day exploring the area. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are easy as well, with several exceptional on-site restaurants such as Elephant and Castle as well as Ruth Chris Steakhouse providing a wide variety of options for any taste. The 600 guest rooms and suites at the Wyndham San Diego Bayside provide a peaceful escape from the vibrant city buzz. Bright decor, comfortable beds, floor-to-ceiling windows and furnished balcony rooms help guests make the most of the stunning location. Suites located near the top of the 14-story tower of the hotel offer breathtaking views along with a private bedroom, living area, pull-out sofa and mini-refrigerator. All rooms include guest-preferred amenities such as free high speed internet access, a free morning newspaper, a coffee maker, hairdryer and a large work desk. With 24,000 square feet of meeting space and conference facilities the Wyndham San Diego Bayside is the ideal location for San Diego meetings and events. Full-service planning assistance and professional amenities along with and creative catering help create the perfect meeting on the bay. Grand galas or casual affairs are also a specialty for the professionals at the Wyndham San Diego Bayside, with 12 wedding reception halls and various wedding packages to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Wyndham, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Wyndham San Diego Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego - On The Bay Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn Bay San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Diego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham San Diego Bayside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.