We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for catching a cruise ship” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham San Diego Bayside

Save Saved
You added Wyndham San Diego Bayside to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1355 North Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Holiday Inn) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #157 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Scott, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great for catching a cruise ship”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed one night prior to taking a Celebrity Cruise Ship to Hawaii. Hotel room was very large, clean and comfortable. Just across the street from the cruise ship. We opted to not take the hotel van to the cruise ship and walk across the street with our luggage. Walking with the luggage was easy ... but when we tried to check our luggage at the ship, there was a line at least a mile long (exaggerated, but it was so hot and humid and a lot of disgusted people) so we chose to take our luggage onboard the ship ourselves. A BIG MISTAKE. You ride the elevator up 1 level and then walk the LAST TWO RAMPS, that are pretty steep. If you take the van, GO DOWNSTAIRS AND PUT YOUR NAME ON THE LIST at 9am. We were impatient and just wanted to get on the ship instead of waiting until 4pm.

Room Tip: Our room was excellent at the front of the building. We opened the drapes in the am and were surpris...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, General Manager at Wyndham San Diego Bayside, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that our hotel location was great and convenient for your cruise departure. We are happy to share the good news of our enhancement project, of which our entire hotel is being enhanced to a more modern and beautiful decor. We look forward to your return so that you may experience our new rooms and enjoy another great stay here at Wyndham San Diego Bayside!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    215
    356
    282
    112
    57
See reviews for
266
323
50
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The location of this hotel is great! It is along the water and close to all the harbor cruises and the USS Midway museum. There is also shopping, little Italy, and other restaurants close by. The hotel is average. It was clean which is the most important.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, General Manager at Wyndham San Diego Bayside, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that our hotel location and clean rooms contributed to the success of your stay. We are happy to share that we have begun a very thorough enhancement project, of which our entire hotel will be enhanced to a more modern and beautiful decor. We are excited and look forward to your return so that you may experience our new rooms and enjoy another great stay here at Wyndham San Diego Bayside!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Small bath&shower, clean room, nice balcony. Tv channel list innacurate, called to desk and no one showed up. $50 "incidental" charge took over a week to refund. No fridge in room and self park is almost 30 per night to park on the propert when it is only across the street.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, General Manager at Wyndham San Diego Bayside, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We are glad your overall stay was good, however we extend our sincere apologies for the parts of your stay that made your stay a little uncomfortable. We are happy to share the that we have begun a very thorough enhancement project, of which our entire hotel will be enhanced to a more modern and beautiful decor. We want you to visit us again soon so that you may experience our new rooms and allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to you as a valued guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We planned an overnight getaway at the Wyndham. The absolute BEST thing about this hotel is the location. On the waterfront, walking distance to everything on the Embarcadero, easy trolley and train access, and walking distance to Little Italy. Our bay view room had an amazing view. The Elephant Castle restaurant was excellent as well and I would recommend it, even if you're not staying at the hotel.

I had thought that Wyndham would have done some modernizations and upgrades to this former Holiday Inn property, but no. It's exactly the same. Bland room appointments, old furniture, so-so bed, and not a lot of soundproofing in the walls or in the outside window. Airport and street noise was prevalent. Train whistles weren't too bad, but we were on the opposite side of the building. Check-in was very slow with a long line and only two people at the desk. More people came on the desk, but it took a while to get them there.

If you want the bay or city view and a great location, then don't think about how the room is just adequate -- go places, then look at the view when you get back.

Room Tip: Bayview rooms have little train whistle noise, but construction on Harbor Drive and the new Embarcad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, General Manager at Wyndham San Diego Bayside, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. We are glad your overall stay was good and that our location and convenience to many of San Diego's tourist sites was great. Since our recent brand change from a Holiday Inn, we have been striving to bring this hotel up to meet our Wyndham standards, and in our continued efforts we have begun a very thorough enhancement project, of which our entire hotel is being enhanced to a more modern and beautiful decor. We look forward to your return, as we assure you your next visit will be a much more pleasant and memorable occasion as you experience our new rooms and allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to you as a valued guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham San Diego Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham San Diego Bayside

Address: 1355 North Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham San Diego Bayside 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a premiere location close to the San Diego cruise ship terminal, Convention Center, and Gaslamp Quarter, the Wyndham San Diego Bayside is unsurpassed among downtown waterfront hotels. Leisure travelers will enjoy nearby attractions such as the San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, Balboa Park, Harbor Tours, and Maritime Museums including the USS Midway and Star of India. A stay at the Wyndham San Diego Bayside immerses guests in a true full-service experience, and relaxing views of the San Diego harbor front or city center skyline. A free airport and area shuttle makes traveling to and from the hotel and nearby attractions easy, while free high speed internet makes business travel a pleasure. Fantastic features such as an outdoor heated pool and a poolside gym provide opportunities for recreation once guests return from a fun-filled day exploring the area. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are easy as well, with several exceptional on-site restaurants such as Elephant and Castle as well as Ruth Chris Steakhouse providing a wide variety of options for any taste. The 600 guest rooms and suites at the Wyndham San Diego Bayside provide a peaceful escape from the vibrant city buzz. Bright decor, comfortable beds, floor-to-ceiling windows and furnished balcony rooms help guests make the most of the stunning location. Suites located near the top of the 14-story tower of the hotel offer breathtaking views along with a private bedroom, living area, pull-out sofa and mini-refrigerator. All rooms include guest-preferred amenities such as free high speed internet access, a free morning newspaper, a coffee maker, hairdryer and a large work desk. With 24,000 square feet of meeting space and conference facilities the Wyndham San Diego Bayside is the ideal location for San Diego meetings and events. Full-service planning assistance and professional amenities along with and creative catering help create the perfect meeting on the bay. Grand galas or casual affairs are also a specialty for the professionals at the Wyndham San Diego Bayside, with 12 wedding reception halls and various wedding packages to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Wyndham San Diego Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego - On The Bay Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn Bay San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Diego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham San Diego Bayside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.