We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best gelato” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pappalecco

Pappalecco
1602 State St, San Diego, CA 92101-2512 (Downtown)
619-238-4590
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 4,168 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Sandwiches, Dessert, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best gelato”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Wonderful gelato and dessert, Coffee was excellent. Going back to sample the other menu items. Staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. Best for take out only has about 6 seats inside. Serves breakfast from 7am - 3 pm

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    41
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Authentic Italian Cafe Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I recently returned from a two week trip to Italy. Pappalecco is about as close an experience of an Italian cafe that San Diego has to offer. Great deserts and gelato.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Best gillato in San Diego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This little place has the best gillato in town! A front desk clerk at the Hampton Inn suggested it to me, and I am so glad that he did because WOW! I believe they make their own on site. My favorite was the appropriately names flavor, "Pappalecco."

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“True Italian Gelato!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This little gelato shop serves up some of the best gelato we have ever had!! Super friendly counter service that was quick efficient and cheerful. Adorable little shop that was packed at 10pm on Sunday night. Hard to pick a favorite flavor they were all exquisite, but I have to say the coffee and cinnamon tasted like a piece of heaven!!! Ohhh, but the blood orange was yummm-azing too! Didn't try the sandwiches, but they looked so good. Wish I lived here so I could eat gelato here again and again!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Genuine Italian Coffee House!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

If you are in San Diego, go out of your way to go here for a meal, preferably breakfast. The coffee is incredible! My wife said it was the best she's ever had, and we are connoisseurs of espresso. This is suprising because I was shocked at how difficult it was to find a good coffee shop in San Diego.
We visited here three times during our stay and each time was incredible. The atmosphere is relaxed with nice outdoor seating available and the staff is very friendly and helpful, not to mention authentic italian. I haven't been to Italy (yet) but this place is helpful in imagining what it must be like. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pappalecco also viewed

 

Been to Pappalecco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pappalecco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.