We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine Italian Coffee House!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pappalecco

Pappalecco
1602 State St, San Diego, CA 92101-2512 (Downtown)
619-238-4590
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 3,683 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Sandwiches, Dessert, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Norman, Oklahoma
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Genuine Italian Coffee House!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

If you are in San Diego, go out of your way to go here for a meal, preferably breakfast. The coffee is incredible! My wife said it was the best she's ever had, and we are connoisseurs of espresso. This is suprising because I was shocked at how difficult it was to find a good coffee shop in San Diego.
We visited here three times during our stay and each time was incredible. The atmosphere is relaxed with nice outdoor seating available and the staff is very friendly and helpful, not to mention authentic italian. I haven't been to Italy (yet) but this place is helpful in imagining what it must be like. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    41
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Best Cappacino I've found in San Diego. Wonderful atmosphere that truly takes you back to Italy. The ingredients and menu has traditional Italian food, prepared similar to what you would experience in Italy. If you love a great coffee and wonderful Italian food, don't miss an opportunity to dine here!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“If you are looking for a good dessert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

If you love sweets, baked goods, and coffee then you have to visit Pappalecco. We visited this place two times during the same day. My brother who lives in San Diego brought us here for after lunch coffee and dessert, and then later on that night we came back for an after dinner coffee and ice cream. We are coffee lover and this place has very good coffee.
The nuttella cake was to die for! Must try!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Loved it! Wish we could take them back to TX!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We ate here twice last week during our visit to San Diego. Ran into them on our way to the Sat. morning farmer's market....talked to the lady at the counter and she sounded Italian...everything inside reminded me of my trips to Italy. After Sunday mass we ate breakfast there...had ham, egg, and cheese croissant, nutella croissant, cappuccino's, latte's, chai tea latte, and mocha something that a friend ordered. Loved our breakfast but sad we couldn't eat anything else cause we were so full. Before we headed to the airport last Friday, we decided to have lunch there cause we couldn't resist. We both ordered the ham and egg croissant because they were so good the first time, cappuccinos, and took home lots of cookies/biscottis. We did it again..ate too much...and didn't have room to try their gelatis :(.

Gosh, I want some right now!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good gelati and a great Macchiato”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The gelati was very creamy but the flavors we had were good but not outstanding. One of the best macchiatos I've ever had.

Would love to back to try the pastries and sandwiches, they looked amazing.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pappalecco also viewed

 

Been to Pappalecco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pappalecco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.