We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pappalecco

Pappalecco
1602 State St, San Diego, CA 92101-2512 (Downtown)
619-238-4590
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 4,099 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Dessert, Italian, Ice Cream, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Ridgway, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Loved the manicotti, but what a large serving! Felt it was enough for four people. Many neat pictures surrounding the area which we enjoyed viewing. Manhattans were good and made as requested!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    33
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo, California
Top Contributor
500 reviews 500 reviews
409 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Hand made gelato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Really good ice cream, made in house. Lots of flavors to choose from. Dark chocolate is great. Price is about $3 for a "small" serving, which is two scoops.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“The "BEST" Gelato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The gelato is as good as in Italy. We did not try the food but the gelato is to die for. Friendly neighborhood vibe. We visited two times in three days. Love it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Nice Little Italian Cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

A group of 12 of us came here for gelatos and cappuccinos on Saturday night after dinner elsewhere. It's really not fair to evaluate a restaurant on a busy summer saturday night in San Diego especially if the size of your group can easily overwhelm any setting. With that in mind, I thought the two ladies handled the rush very well. The gelato is good. However, I was disappointed at the cappuccino, it was more of a latte as there was way too much milk. That was all we sampled so I cannot comment on the rest of the food. Great location, cute cafe.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

When checking out of the nearby Doubletree Hotel, I asked if there was a good small restaurant nearby where I could have breakfast. They directed me to Pappalecco which is located a little south of Little Italy in downtown San Diego. Mostly known for their gelato selection, this place serves great traditional Italian breakfasts of all kinds. I chose the "Classico," which is Eggs, ham, and mozzarella mixed green salad. It was, in a word, amazing! The salad is layered basil leafs, ham and mozzarella with basaltic dressing. For an American, salad seems a little odd for breakfast, but by all means try it!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pappalecco also viewed

 

Been to Pappalecco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pappalecco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.