We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17065 W. Bernardo Dr., San Diego, CA 92127 (Formerly Holiday Inn San Diego-Rancho Bernardo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #165 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersBronze level
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed at this hotel while visiting my daughter in Rancho Bernardo. The staff was most helpful and attentive. During our stay, the hotel was FULL of soccer kids due to a local tournament. This was handled well by the staff, especially the wonderful breakfast attendant. Even after the morning invasion by the soccer families, the breakfast area was always well-stocked, clean, and attended. The breakfast offerings consisted of pancakes, scrambled eggs, sausage patties, bagels and sliced breads (a gluten free choice), yogurts, boiled eggs, cereals, oranges, bananas and delicious cinnamon rolls, juices and milk. (I'm sure I have forgotten something.) There were take-out boxes to make transporting food to the room easier. Coffee was available all day along and citrus water. This hotel has two buildings and we were in the one not attached to the lobby. Our room was clean and attractive with a balcony and refrigerator/microwave. The free WiFi worked well. Parking got a bit crowded due to all the families there but we discovered that there was a parking area under our building which was never full and had easy access to the elevator. We used the laundry facilities in our building, as well. There are two washers and two dryers. The front desk supplied detergent. The washers and dryers were $1 per wash/dry-you need quarters. We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    46
    19
    8
    7
See reviews for
28
12
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I stayed here 2 nights recently on a business trip to the area. It was a perfectly fine place for the price, nothing great but I wasn't expecting the moon either. The staff was attentive and helpful for me. The room was clean and a bit old but I would say it fit the price range that I paid. The breakfast was a typical hotel buffet, but everything was clean and well presented. There are more expensive and newer places in this area but if you are just there for 1 or 2 nights and need a reasonable price I would recommend the Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear KristinMiles,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your time at the hotel, and look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I have had some hit or miss experiences with the Holiday Inn brand, so of course when I booked this one, I prayed I didn't make a mistake. Was in town for the jazz festival and most of the hotels were seriously overpriced and overbooked. So this one came up last minute at a decent price (compared to others in it's ranking) and I gave it a try. The room was comfy for the most part, aside from that stale hotel smell that usually comes with "motel" rooms. The bed was clean and nice and so was the bathroom. I was on the first floor across from the pool, so sleeping in during the morning hours was not an option. Luckily only stayed for 2 days and was gone most of the day. It served it's purpose for the weekend. The venue was about 20 minutes away but not a bad commute. Would probably book differently next time, and most definitely far more in advance.

Room Tip: Try not to stay on first floor if you are looking for peace and quiet. Also, the parking lot is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear L G,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay. We are glad that you found our location suitable for your travel needs and our rooms clean and comfortable. We look forward to your next visit when you can continue to enjoy all the amenities.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I stayed at this hotel while on business in SAN, and was welcoming upgraded to a 2-bed spa suite - very spacious and lovely but quite dark interior. Staff very helpful and breakfast adequate but just ensure that the maid shuts your door after cleaning...

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Emily P,

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review of the property. I am glad that you found our staff very helpful and the breakfast adequate.

However, I am sorry that the lighting condition in the room was a disappointment. We take all feedback seriously and your comments are helpful for us to consider for improvements needed.

Again, Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I had been here for a week, staying on business, it is almost in the middle of no-where. Not close to any side on San Diego, neither to La Jolla, nor to San Diego, not to Carlsbad. However the stay was good, breakfast was decent. the rooms were fairly clean, bathrooms were rather small though. Good eating place next door (the only one available), called elephant Bar.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentone, Alabama
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This Holiday Inn Express is clean, the beds are comfortable and the staff is helpful. It was nice to have the breakfast area that was large and quite to be able to use for informal business meetings. Don't forget to try the cinnamon rolls for breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maharashtra
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I stayed here on business for a week with 5 team/customer representatives.

The room I stayed was clean and spacious, along with the necessary amenities – wi-fi, TV, toiletries, etc. everything was efficient with nothing much to complain about. They have decent parking space too. I would like to have a little variety in the breakfast, if not improved quality. The service was good but had to be initiated. The front desk was co-operative and gave some necessary inputs. As with most places it also has a separate workstation for surfing/printing. The thing that might bother some folks is that there is no in-room dining. Esp if you are on business with ltd time that becomes a bit of a handicap. There is a good restaurant besides (Elephant Bar) it which can be of help. Plus there is a Starbucks, and a Japanese joint. But other than that you are left with calling delivery folks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo

Address: 17065 W. Bernardo Dr., San Diego, CA 92127 (Formerly Holiday Inn San Diego-Rancho Bernardo)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn San Diego-Rancho Bernardo is nestled in a beautiful valley surrounded by majestic hills, and is recognized for its golf courses and wineries.Rooms available for local tournaments: San Diego Open, NJB Tournament, PQ Premier, Triple Crown, & Hotspurs.The hotel offers many amenities for the business and vacation traveler at affordable prices. Our exclusively designed rooms and facilities include a host of functional features: convenient location, spacious and business-friendly guest rooms, free wireless high-speed Internet, complimentary hotel shuttle to offices within 5 miles Mon-Fri, complimentary business center services, full service Elephant Bar & Restaurant and Lounge, room service, hot breakfast buffet daily, complimentary parking, complimentary fitness center, same day valet/laundry service, outdoor heated pool and spa, in room coffee makers, two-line phones, large work stations, refrigerators and microwaves in all rooms. We are the closest full service hotel to the San Diego Wild Animal Park in the area. Local companies include: Hewlett-Packard, Sony, General Atomics, Lockheed Martin, SAIC, Northrop Grumman, Raytheon, NCR, BAE Systems, Pulse Engineering, Masco, Caterpillar/Hawthorne Machinery, Laserink, Cymer, Kodak, Zarlink Semiconductors, & Sumitomo Electric Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego-Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.