We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17065 W. Bernardo Dr., San Diego, CA 92127 (Formerly Holiday Inn San Diego-Rancho Bernardo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #154 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was a nice place to stay in a great area. There are better places close by but most were booked up during my stay. The staff there were very accommodating. Lots of families vacationing here. Pool was very loud which did not bother me but it may bother others looking for a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear ilike2travel66,

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    47
    19
    8
    7
See reviews for
30
13
15
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

First of all let me start by saying that the staff here are amazing. Very polite, helpful, friendly and smiley. They gave us a bag of fruit to thank us for staying! Never had anything back off a hotel to say thanks ever! If it was down to them alone -would be 5*. Unfortunately the rooms really let the place down. Our initial room had a really strong cigerette smell and felt generally unclean. Marks on the bedsheets..etc. when requested to swap, the staff couldn't be more apologetic and helpful and changed our room. The new room smelt better but still stains on sheets and the water didn't go down in the shower! The shower was also rusty and not very welcoming. We asked them to unplug the drain which again the staff did very promptly. We were really pleased with how quickly the staff resolved our problems but obviously those problems shouldn't have been there in the first place...The parking is fine and there is a nice small but very clean pool area. Complimentary breakfast was amazing! We stayed mid week and so the breakfast area was almost empty at 9.00am. More warm cinnamon buns for us!!!! Divine! also hot options-a brilliant buffet! Breakfast area and lobby are lovely, bright, modern and clean. They just need to update the rooms now. Fridge and coffee maker in room, free wifi in room, free to print boarding passes, free parking. This place doesn't rip you off!!!! The location is outside of downtown San Diego and all of the major attractions. It's only a 25 minute drive in the car but we did feel a bit out of it and would have preferred bring more central after a day in San Diego. The drive is down the crazy San Diego freeway which isn't for the faint hearted! ( we're from UK and found it quite stressful!) So if you plan to mainly visit the beaches/shopping/attractions in San Diego I would look closer to downtown. Overall this is a good place to stay but housekeeping need to pay a little more attention to detail and freshen the place up. Thanks to the staff for our pleasant stay. We will remember you and your hospitality and the cinnamon buns! : )

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We probably would've enjoyed this property more had we visited in the off-season. Instead, we found ourselves battling for space during a busy summer weekend. It was still a good visit, but we were happy to have some elbow room after check-out.

The hotel overall is a good value. The price is right, the staff was very friendly, and the location is right off the I-15. It seems like an older property, but they've done a good job keeping it nice. The rooms are nice enough, but the indoor corridors are a little tight (watch your head with the low ceiling).

In fact, the entire hotel space is a little tight. Breakfast is complimentary, but it's almost more trouble than it's worth on a crowded morning. There's not enough room to sit down, and the breakfast buffet area is incredibly small. Bring your elbow pads.

Compared to the breakfast area, the parking lot is huge. But it's really not. Parking is very tight here, especially in the small underground lot. We spent 10 minutes negotiating with other drivers who were looking for a space before simply parking in the upper lot near Elephant Bar.

That said, we would probably stay here again during a quiet season. It's a decent property with a great staff that's doing its best. During the summer, however, you can surely find similar hotels with a little more space.

Room Tip: Park in the upper lot near Elephant Bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear 56waldorf,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very friendly and quick check in. Nice, newer room with many amenities like free bottled water and plenty of towels, etc. Outdoor pool and hot tub. Elephant Bar restaurant next door has excellent food and happy hour. Golden Spoon yogurt is also very good and less than a mile away. Nice breakfast bar with many choices and lots of seating. We got a great deal on hotwire.com ... $87 a night and usual price was $189! Well worth it! Not far from the beach and downtown San Diego. Will come again in January!

Room Tip: There are doors near all sections of the hotel. I like that card entry is required everywhere... nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed her for 2 nights in August. The staff are all very friendly and polite. The rooms are great. It looks like they are newly renovated, and so feel fresh and clean. Breakfast is great. Hot food, pancakes etc..
The only downside is that is has very much a Motel feel to it. Although the rooms are great, the corridors and the doors are a bit tired looking. It also has the typical motel, swimming pool in the parking lot!!
Non of that was a problem and didn't hinder our stay, I just think its a bit overpriced, for what was not much more than a motel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights. The location is not that pretty, but the room was great. I'm not usually comfortable in hotels, but I found the room to be very clean, comfortable and up-to-date. The hotel is in a nice neighborhood, but the hotel area itself was a little scary - I didn't like going to the car by myself at night. It's steps to a gas station where you can buy snacks, and a few more steps to the Elephant Bar where you can get great happy hour deals on cocktails and food. So, overall, it's a nice place to stay. Kind of far from San Diego attractions, though, except for the Safari Park. Oh, and the rooms have refrigerators and balconies, if you need those. And if you have the AC on (central, not window), you won't hear any outside noises at all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife, granddaughter and my myself stay at this hotel. This hotel has three building which are two stories high. The rooms are spacious and the bathroom is very clean and customer service is a plus. They have a great breakfast bar and also fresh fruits. Beaches are 10 to 15 minutes from this location. The pool is nice and relaxing and most important clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having the opportunity to have you as our guest again soon! The weather is always nice here, so don't wait for the Summer time to come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo

Address: 17065 W. Bernardo Dr., San Diego, CA 92127 (Formerly Holiday Inn San Diego-Rancho Bernardo)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn San Diego-Rancho Bernardo is nestled in a beautiful valley surrounded by majestic hills, and is recognized for its golf courses and wineries.Rooms available for local tournaments: San Diego Open, NJB Tournament, PQ Premier, Triple Crown, & Hotspurs.The hotel offers many amenities for the business and vacation traveler at affordable prices. Our exclusively designed rooms and facilities include a host of functional features: convenient location, spacious and business-friendly guest rooms, free wireless high-speed Internet, complimentary hotel shuttle to offices within 5 miles Mon-Fri, complimentary business center services, full service Elephant Bar & Restaurant and Lounge, room service, hot breakfast buffet daily, complimentary parking, complimentary fitness center, same day valet/laundry service, outdoor heated pool and spa, in room coffee makers, two-line phones, large work stations, refrigerators and microwaves in all rooms. We are the closest full service hotel to the San Diego Wild Animal Park in the area. Local companies include: Hewlett-Packard, Sony, General Atomics, Lockheed Martin, SAIC, Northrop Grumman, Raytheon, NCR, BAE Systems, Pulse Engineering, Masco, Caterpillar/Hawthorne Machinery, Laserink, Cymer, Kodak, Zarlink Semiconductors, & Sumitomo Electric Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego-Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.