We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location near hwy and restaurants” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17065 W. Bernardo Dr., San Diego, CA 92127 (Formerly Holiday Inn San Diego-Rancho Bernardo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #148 of 269 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersBronze level
Southwest
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location near hwy and restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very friendly and quick check in. Nice, newer room with many amenities like free bottled water and plenty of towels, etc. Outdoor pool and hot tub. Elephant Bar restaurant next door has excellent food and happy hour. Golden Spoon yogurt is also very good and less than a mile away. Nice breakfast bar with many choices and lots of seating. We got a great deal on hotwire.com ... $87 a night and usual price was $189! Well worth it! Not far from the beach and downtown San Diego. Will come again in January!

Room Tip: There are doors near all sections of the hotel. I like that card entry is required everywhere... nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    42
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
25
10
14
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed her for 2 nights in August. The staff are all very friendly and polite. The rooms are great. It looks like they are newly renovated, and so feel fresh and clean. Breakfast is great. Hot food, pancakes etc..
The only downside is that is has very much a Motel feel to it. Although the rooms are great, the corridors and the doors are a bit tired looking. It also has the typical motel, swimming pool in the parking lot!!
Non of that was a problem and didn't hinder our stay, I just think its a bit overpriced, for what was not much more than a motel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights. The location is not that pretty, but the room was great. I'm not usually comfortable in hotels, but I found the room to be very clean, comfortable and up-to-date. The hotel is in a nice neighborhood, but the hotel area itself was a little scary - I didn't like going to the car by myself at night. It's steps to a gas station where you can buy snacks, and a few more steps to the Elephant Bar where you can get great happy hour deals on cocktails and food. So, overall, it's a nice place to stay. Kind of far from San Diego attractions, though, except for the Safari Park. Oh, and the rooms have refrigerators and balconies, if you need those. And if you have the AC on (central, not window), you won't hear any outside noises at all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife, granddaughter and my myself stay at this hotel. This hotel has three building which are two stories high. The rooms are spacious and the bathroom is very clean and customer service is a plus. They have a great breakfast bar and also fresh fruits. Beaches are 10 to 15 minutes from this location. The pool is nice and relaxing and most important clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having the opportunity to have you as our guest again soon! The weather is always nice here, so don't wait for the Summer time to come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad Juarez, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stayed here for one night. There is a little far from the downtown and the beaches but is a good place to stay. I liked the breakfast buffet and the pool to get refreshed! They have comfortable rooms and a good bath tube to rest. It could be more clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Typical Holiday Inn Express with breakfast, good for the price. My room was clean, but a bit noisy, because of the air-con, as well as facing the restaurant/gas station. I don't hear much from the nearby highway. During my stay there were a big group of teens, so it was a bit noisy along the hall way, and a bit messy in the public restrooms. Staff are nice and friendly. Easy access to the freeway.

Room Tip: I had a room facing the gas station, a bit noisy, maybe other rooms are better.
See more room tips
Green Features: A lot of foam plate and plastic forks/spoons were used in the breakfast, maybe we can use some biodegradable ones, or reusable ones.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights to take our kids to Legoland. Although the hallways could do with a freshening up, the room and lobby/breakfast areas all looked renovated. There was a pool and someone cleaning it daily. The front desk and breakfast staff were excellent and friendly. Breakfast provided daily eggs (alternated omelets and scrambled, always hardboiled eggs available), sausage or bacon and yummy warm cinammon buns. It was easy to hop on the highway to get to Legoland or Wild Animal Park. I would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Stay away from the room next to the pool. can get noisy at night if kids are in the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo

Address: 17065 W. Bernardo Dr., San Diego, CA 92127 (Formerly Holiday Inn San Diego-Rancho Bernardo)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn San Diego-Rancho Bernardo is nestled in a beautiful valley surrounded by majestic hills, and is recognized for its golf courses and wineries.Rooms available for local tournaments: San Diego Open, NJB Tournament, PQ Premier, Triple Crown, & Hotspurs.The hotel offers many amenities for the business and vacation traveler at affordable prices. Our exclusively designed rooms and facilities include a host of functional features: convenient location, spacious and business-friendly guest rooms, free wireless high-speed Internet, complimentary hotel shuttle to offices within 5 miles Mon-Fri, complimentary business center services, full service Elephant Bar & Restaurant and Lounge, room service, hot breakfast buffet daily, complimentary parking, complimentary fitness center, same day valet/laundry service, outdoor heated pool and spa, in room coffee makers, two-line phones, large work stations, refrigerators and microwaves in all rooms. We are the closest full service hotel to the San Diego Wild Animal Park in the area. Local companies include: Hewlett-Packard, Sony, General Atomics, Lockheed Martin, SAIC, Northrop Grumman, Raytheon, NCR, BAE Systems, Pulse Engineering, Masco, Caterpillar/Hawthorne Machinery, Laserink, Cymer, Kodak, Zarlink Semiconductors, & Sumitomo Electric Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego-Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.