We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17065 W. Bernardo Dr., San Diego, CA 92127 (Formerly Holiday Inn San Diego-Rancho Bernardo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #165 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Central location to everything San Diego and Escondido this is a great place with perfect staff to help you out with whatever you need. Nice pool/hot tub, clean rooms, new with great breakfast on site free! Elephant Bar within walking distance is great food. Close to freeway and gas. Say hi to James at front counter, he will take care of you. All staff was great to work with.

Room Tip: All were good you will hear the freeway when outside but rooms are good.
See more room tips
Green Features: They do their part. Light bulbs, wont change towels if on rack, just make up bed if you want.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    46
    19
    8
    7
See reviews for
28
12
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Good location breakfast was great pool water not to warm enough. It was close to Safari park and near other attractions. We had small fridge so we kept sodas and waters cool.Their is an Elephant bar restaurant next door food not very good.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We have a variety of restaurants close to us, so the next time you come to stay with us just ask the Front Desk team for a list of restaurants and they can make some good recommendations! We look forward to having you back as our guest soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We totally enjoyed our stay at this Holiday Inn Express. From the greeting at the front desk to the checkout, we enjoyed cordial, professional employees who were very helpful with local information. Our room was comfortable and clean. My only negative was that the toilet paper was inconvenient to access as it was behind the toilet and therefore out of easy reach (I am healing from a broken left arm). While we did not use the outdoor pool on premises, it looked great. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet that is included; standard fare for this type of offering. After a fun day at San Diego Zoo Safari Park (10 minutes away), we enjoyed a delivered pizza on the separate patio by the annex building. We chose to park in the underground area, which kept the car cool. We've noticed some negative comments posted about this location and were very pleased to see that the General Manager, Danielle, was quick to respond and invite past guests to contact her directly. That just made us feel better and ignore the folks who didn't have as nice of a stay as we did! We wouldn't hesitate to return to this location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
I am glad to hear you gave us a shot and enjoyed your stay! We look forward to having you as our guest again soon! Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxnard
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

staff here is awesome and very helpfull, however the hotel is showing sogms of poor upkeep, example doors do not close properly, old single pane windows, gouges and cracks in tub.
The staff makes up for the lack of upkeep. However I would go up the road for a cleaner place

Room Tip: you get what you pay for, its turning into a cheap dive
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear bob l,

Thank you for your review. I am happy you found our hotel staff commendable. I am sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectation due to the condition of the property and room. It is our goal to provide the highest level of products and service. Comments such as yours permit us to target areas of concern and take the necessary steps to remedy the situation.

We hope that the next time you come through, you give us another chance to provide you with a better experience.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Rancho Bernardo, after having avoided it for a number of years, but it has been redone and is now terrific. The rooms are very well appointed, there is a good self-serve free breakfast and it is walking distance to the Elephant Bar and a great Sushi restaurant, as options for dinner if you don't want to get in your car. It is freeway close, easy to find and convenient for anything you want to do in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
First, I'd like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Second, I am happy to hear you are happy with our renovations we completed. Third, and most importantly, we are happy to have had you back as a guest to try us out again and to hear that you enjoyed your stay! I will share your comments with our team and we will all look forward to having you as our guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hotel is very nice, set up a little differently (separate buildings) but overall it was fine. The rooms were nice & clean and the bed was comfortable. The location is convenient and is right next to a decent restaurant which is really nice when you do not feel like getting into your car again at the end of a long day. I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to write your review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and will definitely share your kind words with the rest of our team. We look forward to having you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is a good clean hotel with the regular breakfast options at any Holiday Inn. The architecture of the hotel is a little different and consistent with the San Diego landscape. The hotel staff was very courteous. The hotel is easily accessible off the highway and there are a lot of businesses around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I shared your comments with our team to reiterate their importance to our hotel being a sucess! Thank you, again, and we look forward to having you as a guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo

Address: 17065 W. Bernardo Dr., San Diego, CA 92127 (Formerly Holiday Inn San Diego-Rancho Bernardo)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn San Diego-Rancho Bernardo is nestled in a beautiful valley surrounded by majestic hills, and is recognized for its golf courses and wineries.Rooms available for local tournaments: San Diego Open, NJB Tournament, PQ Premier, Triple Crown, & Hotspurs.The hotel offers many amenities for the business and vacation traveler at affordable prices. Our exclusively designed rooms and facilities include a host of functional features: convenient location, spacious and business-friendly guest rooms, free wireless high-speed Internet, complimentary hotel shuttle to offices within 5 miles Mon-Fri, complimentary business center services, full service Elephant Bar & Restaurant and Lounge, room service, hot breakfast buffet daily, complimentary parking, complimentary fitness center, same day valet/laundry service, outdoor heated pool and spa, in room coffee makers, two-line phones, large work stations, refrigerators and microwaves in all rooms. We are the closest full service hotel to the San Diego Wild Animal Park in the area. Local companies include: Hewlett-Packard, Sony, General Atomics, Lockheed Martin, SAIC, Northrop Grumman, Raytheon, NCR, BAE Systems, Pulse Engineering, Masco, Caterpillar/Hawthorne Machinery, Laserink, Cymer, Kodak, Zarlink Semiconductors, & Sumitomo Electric Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego-Rancho Bernardo Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Diego N - Rancho Bernardo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.