We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley to your Saves list
Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3805 Murphy Canyon Road, San Diego, CA 92123   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #143 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Aliso Viejo, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I really like the convenience of this property location-wise. It is easily accessible to the freeway and also for places to eat. Their staff are professional and always friendly. The staff that manages the 'Manager's Reception' on Wednesday nights are super friendly and accommodating. The rooms are clean. The only thing I can say is that it would be nice if a small fridge is present or maybe a larger tv screen.
I would recommend this property.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K M, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear GeeeWeeez,

Thank you so much for your recommendation! We truly appreciate word of mouth referrals from a positive first hand experience! Please know that your suggestions are definitely appreciated and are actively being used for our budget preparation.

We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Kate Mendez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    55
    31
    18
    13
See reviews for
40
33
19
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I stayed 4 days during the July long weekend with my family. The staffs are friendly and very helpful on providing info about dining suggestion and driving route. The room is just "OK" for a 3 stars hotel. Furniture are quite "outdated", more looks like a best western or a motel style. I couldn't sleep well with their "extra-soft" pillow, giving me neck pain the next days. Parking was fine for me, even during the busiest long weekend I can find a spot anytime. They have outside parking and underground parking with key-card entry. The hotel is close to highway. I wasn't bothered by any noise at all. The free WIFI works excellent, same as the A/C with no noise at all. No free breakfast but there's McD and Starbucks next block. I paid $200/night which I think is abit overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K M, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear muimui77,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. I am glad to hear about your great comments about our team members! Regarding pillows, we do have "soft" and "firm" pillow selections available, let us know on your next visit so we can make sure we provide your preference!

We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Kate Mendez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I added this hotel on for the final night of a long vacation. It is easily accessible from downtown San Diego, just a short drive on the freeway. There's plenty of parking. Upon checking in, I found my room was massive and clean as could be. The bed was super comfortable. It's a large property but was quiet, even though it seemed to have a lot of people staying that night.

The only downside for me was that unless you eat in the hotel's restaurant, the only option for food if you don't want to drive anywhere (I was exhausted once I checked in) is the Jack in the Box right at the end of the driveway.

I'd definitely stay here again on my next visit to San Diego. Considering some of the downtown hotels charge for valet parking per night, it's actually worth it to drive in from here and then park on your own for less.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K M, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear sunnyskies99,

Thank you so much for your review. I'm glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay and we were able to accommodate your needs!

Our Rayo Grill has nightly specials to offer a variety to the dining experience. But just in case you want to mix it up, there's actually quite a bit of other restaurants in the complex steps away from the hotel. Hopefully you are able to stay longer on your next visit and enjoy more of San Diego!

Sincerely,
Kate Mendez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

i travel for my work, and i have to say that this is the worse holiday inn i have ever stayed at. i booked 4 rooms for my family. Not only were the prices high (157) but there is NO free breakfast, even upon request- the girl at the front desk said that if i would have paid 20 more, i probably would have received a voucher. she didnt ask how much i paid. Parking stalls are too small, Parking Lot is hard to maneuver in, Staff is very negative. Place is noisy. One of the rooms that i booked had a broken air conditioner, and they were unable to fix it. i was embarrassed that i even booked this place for my family.

Room Tip: Go to the Hilton or Hampton Inn. They seem to be better there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K M, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us. I'm sorry to hear about your experience. Summer is indeed our busiest time in San Diego, and rates do vary depending on season as well as with the different packages available that includes meals. We did place the room off market after your departure until we were able to completely resolve the A/C issue. I hope that the credit that was provided to you while you were at the hotel was a fair compensation for the inconvenience.

Please feel free to reach out to me directly for your future stay. I would love to have you back as our guest!

Sincerely,
Kate Mendez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

In general, it was a pleasing experience to spend a night in this hotel. The hotel and the room are very clean. Everything works. Internet is fast. The bed and pillows are comfortable. There are few plazas near by with many small but good restaurants if you need to save on food. Be aware of the outside noise from the nearest road if you are sensitive to it like I am. There is no traffic at night but it woke me up at 6:30am.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldimeglio, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback! Our new internet provider and increased bandwidth has definitely made an impact and am happy you were able to take advantage of it. Looking forward to having you as our guest in the future!

Sincerely,

Linda DiMeglio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The hotel is clean, easy to get on and off the freeway, beds are comfy.. firm and soft pillows on the bed, the soap/shampoo is nice and not the crappy cheap stuff!, the pool area is clean and they have towels available outside so you don't have to wait in line for them!, rooms are very spacious and they have the Rayo restaurant downstairs and there is an absolutely wonderful server (Brenda) whom has helped us a few nights now.. we have been here almost 2 weeks.. and her personality, kindness and attentiveness has kept us coming back. The portion sizes are on spot.
I would stay here again in a heartbeat. The staff is super and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldimeglio, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

THANK YOU for such a wonderful review!! I am so excited to know that you enjoyed your stay and have shared your kind words to Brenda; I agree, she is pretty awesome!!!

We so look forward to having you again soon!

Sincerely,

Linda DiMeglio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I did not actually stay at this hotel, but taught a class in one of their ballrooms and had breakfast and lunch in their restaurant for four days.

I just want to put in a good word for the staff, who were all very helpful and friendly, and the restaurant food. I like breakfast and ate here every day of my trip because of the quality and value of the food. The lunches were provided for the class and those were top notch, also.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldimeglio, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your meeting accommodations and food throughout your visit!! We all hope you book your future meetings with us and appreciate your business!

Sincerely,

Linda DiMeglio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley

Address: 3805 Murphy Canyon Road, San Diego, CA 92123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#99 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brilliant setting among San Diego Mission Valley hotels. Set amongst perfect sunny weather, premier shopping and world-class entertainment, the Holiday Inn Mission Valley Stadium is the ideal choice of San Diego hotels for your next vacation or business meeting. Catch some rays at a nearby pristine beach, cheer wildly at a Charger Game at Qualcomm Stadium or shop till you drop at several upscale shopping centers. You'll find it all just minutes away. Marvel at exotic animals at the San Diego Zoo or make a splash, watching a show at SeaWorld With easy access to the freeway, getting anywhere is a breeze. Whether you're here for work or play, make our deluxe hotel your first choice for value in a landmark setting. We are a 100% smoke-free hotel, located in the Kearny Mesa Business Park, and we provide high-quality comfort at remarkably affordable prices. Our property is designed to reflect the cool, comfortable Southern California lifestyle - from our inviting lobby to our well-appointed and spacious guest rooms. After a full day of shopping, enjoy a refreshing dip in our outdoor heated swimming pool, relax in the whirlpool, or work out in our fitness center. Ready to shine at tomorrow's board meeting? Our 5,400 square feet of flexible meeting spaces and free in-room high-speed Internet access make it easy to perform at your best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.