We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No fridges or microwaves in the rooms???” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3805 Murphy Canyon Road, San Diego, CA 92123   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #153 of 268 hotels in San Diego
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No fridges or microwaves in the rooms???”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

20 dollars extra per night just to have a microwave and fridge in your room. Is this a new thing??? Everything else about this hotel was mediocre. The lobby area is nice. If you have kids, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldimeglio, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to let you know that I totally understand your frustration regarding the refrigerators and microwaves. Per the Franchise Standards, in room microwaves and refrigerators must be enclosed in a cabinet which matches the furniture. Unfortunately, when the rooms were refurbished a few years ago, this was not completed at the time. But, I have already put in a request for this to be done during the next renovation where we expect to change all of our guestroom furnishings to include microwaves and refrigerators in each room. In the meantime, we have a limited supply of them available for our guests which we deliver to the guestrooms individually. I can assure you, your comments are taken seriously and appreciate your feedback.

Thank you so much!

Linda DiMeglio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    50
    31
    17
    13
See reviews for
37
33
19
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel during a relocation visit to San Diego. Because I am a Priority Club member I received a complimentary room upgrade along with complimentary breakfast tickets. I was really pleased to learn that there was no fee for parking or wi-fi. The staff was super friendly and very accommodating. The rooms are well appointed and modern, and overall the hotel was clean well maintained. Mission Valley is a pretty central area in San Diego and right off the interstate. I highly recommend this property.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldimeglio, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay!!! It is wonderful to hear that our Team and hotel accommodations met all of your needs.

Please come back and visit us soon!

Sincerely,

Linda DiMeglio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel is reasonable as far as value and location. The things that we did like: the room and common areas were clean and well maintained. The hotel felt up-to-date throughout. It's close to the freeway so it's easy to get to nearby attractions, and it's also close to two different strip malls with a variety of restaurants plus a grocery store and a department store.
The things we did not like: The pool was not very clean; we had to scoop out dead bees three nights in a row. Also, the staff seemed put out that we were hanging out in the lobby area without purchasing anything from the bar (we do this a lot because we put the kids to bed several hours before we are ready to call it a night). The hotel was kid-friendly enough, though, and I did not feel like they were out of place or causing trouble for other guests. The internet was free with a code we got at check-in, but it timed out quickly; if we were idle for more than five minutes, or sometimes just randomly, we had to go through the whole log-in process again.
One other thing that was a bit irksome, but not terrible, was the parking spaces. We have a mini-van and it barely fit within the tiny spaces. It made loading and unloading tricky. Usually we pulled into the passenger drop off, had one parent get the kids out, then go park in the itty bitty space.
Overall, a good place to stay! We wouldn't mind staying here again if our travels bring us back to this area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldimeglio, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on TripAdvisor; your feedback is very important to me. It is so wonderful to hear that you had an overall good experience at the hotel!! Please come back to visit in the future while visiting San Diego.

Sincerely,

Linda DiMeglio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed here for a couple days this past weekend and greatly enjoyed my stay. The front desk was extremely helpful, the rooms were clean, and it felt SAFE which was very important to me. I mainly enjoyed the location as it is very central to everything including the Studio Diner which is near by. The only thing I wish I had was a fridge in the room to keep my water cold and that they would have offered complimentary breakfast but no big deal. The elevator was broken when we got there but we were promptly informed and accommodated with a 1st floor room. Overall I loved it and will return!

Room Tip: Park near stairs for easier access :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldimeglio, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you felt safe, something we take very seriously. Come and visit us again!!!!!!!

Sincerely,

Linda DiMeglio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YVR
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

In our previous stay, we had a nicely furnished, nicely finished room. This time, the sliding door didn't shut, didn't lock, there was alot of road noise from outside that came through the open door. The internet was down most of the time, the front counter staff had no idea what to do, ended up using the wifi from Fedex. No breakfast and just snotty service. And the parking lot? what a narrow driveway, and no where to turn around.

Room Tip: If you absolutely don't need to stay here, stay at the Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa - way bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldimeglio, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am so sorry that you did not have a good experience during your last stay at our hotel. Your comments are very important to me and I have forwarded them to the Department Managers. Know that we take these things very seriously and will see to it that the issues are resolved.

Please call me directly at 858.503.2540 if you would like to discuss further. In the meantime, I hope that you will reconsider staying at our hotel in the future and give us the opportunity to "Wow" you as we always strive to do.

Sincerely,

Linda DiMeglio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
551 reviews 551 reviews
233 hotel reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
485 helpful votes 485 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My room 309 was clean, spacious and comfortable, the decor was adequate and the wi-fi worked reliably. My room was not facing the freeway, so there was no noise. I especially appreciated the location next to a small shopping area and an Arco station that sells the cheapest gas in the region. It must be quite convenient for overnight business travelers not to have to go out of their way to fill up the tank. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. I bought breakfast there, and I enjoyed the make-your-own omelet at the egg station. I was not too impressed with my neighbors in the next room who appeared to be stoners. The price was competitive. In all, I had a very good one night stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldimeglio, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for all of the wonderful comments! I am so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay!!! Please visit us again when if you are in San Diego again.

Sincerely,

Linda DiMeglio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stopped in this hotel for a night due to driving back from Arizona and getting tired. I really liked the lobby it has a nice lounge area and bar. Got a great deal on Priceline for $68. The room was very clean and the FREE wifi was high speed. I would totally stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldimeglio, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review and I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully you will make this your home away from home the next time you are visiting San Diego!!

Sincerely,

Linda DiMeglio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley

Address: 3805 Murphy Canyon Road, San Diego, CA 92123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#101 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brilliant setting among San Diego Mission Valley hotels. Set amongst perfect sunny weather, premier shopping and world-class entertainment, the Holiday Inn Mission Valley Stadium is the ideal choice of San Diego hotels for your next vacation or business meeting. Catch some rays at a nearby pristine beach, cheer wildly at a Charger Game at Qualcomm Stadium or shop till you drop at several upscale shopping centers. You'll find it all just minutes away. Marvel at exotic animals at the San Diego Zoo or make a splash, watching a show at SeaWorld With easy access to the freeway, getting anywhere is a breeze. Whether you're here for work or play, make our deluxe hotel your first choice for value in a landmark setting. We are a 100% smoke-free hotel, located in the Kearny Mesa Business Park, and we provide high-quality comfort at remarkably affordable prices. Our property is designed to reflect the cool, comfortable Southern California lifestyle - from our inviting lobby to our well-appointed and spacious guest rooms. After a full day of shopping, enjoy a refreshing dip in our outdoor heated swimming pool, relax in the whirlpool, or work out in our fitness center. Ready to shine at tomorrow's board meeting? Our 5,400 square feet of flexible meeting spaces and free in-room high-speed Internet access make it easy to perform at your best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.