We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Post remodel, great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley to your Saves list
Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3805 Murphy Canyon Road, San Diego, CA 92123   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #143 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Schererville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Post remodel, great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at this Holiday Inn a few times now. I originally reviewed it back in 2008 before it had been totally remodeled.
We stayed most recently in November (2010) and really enjoyed our stay.
The rooms have been nicely remodeled, as had the lobby, hallways, and elevator bay off of the parking garage.
The staff is super friendly and helpful. We checked in after flying in fairly late and the woman at the front desk never acted like we were bothering her (like I've experienced with many of our late check-ins).
The photos on this site are of the older rooms, so I'll add some new photos. I did appreciate having a refrigerator, which in the past we did not have in our room. The remodeled bathroom-area is nice. While I'm still not fond of the sink outside of the toilet/tub area it's just the way this hotel is set-up. Our room had one king bed, a sleeper sofa, coffee table, desk, tv, frig, & microwave.
I suggested this hotel to co-workers who visited the area last month. I will definitely stay at this hotel again. The rooms are nice, beds are comfy, staff is great, covered parking can be found if you're early (or the hotel isn’t busy, or people are too lazy to drive inside?), and the location is convenient to the freeways & local attractions.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldimeglio, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

I so appreciate your kind words about the hotel as well as the updated photos!!! We are so happy to hear that you liked the renovation and the services provided. No matter what time of day or night you check in, know that it is never a bother to the team here; it is our pleasure to assist you.

Thank you and I hope to have you here as our guests again in the future!

Sincerely,

Linda DiMeglio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    55
    31
    18
    13
See reviews for
40
33
19
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We actually didn't spend the entire night here but had a very good experience. After checking in they left a message on my cell phone saying they had an urgent situation and needed our room. Upon returning the call I was informed that they needed a large block of rooms for s sports team and asked if we would be willing to give up our room in exchange for free lodging at a different area hotel. Linda and Julie were very helpful in getting us to the other hotel and took care of crediting our account and setting up payment at the other hotel. It turned out to be a great deal for our family and the other hotel they put us up in was very nice. In the limited time we were in the hotel and room we were left with a very good impression. It was very clean and modern. If ever in the San Diego area again I would definitely stay here.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldimeglio, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Dear Feld Family,

I cannot express my gratitude for your patience and understanding in what was a very difficult sitiation. You all were so gracious and kind during the whole hotel move. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!!!!!

We all look forward to having you again in the future!!

Sincerely,

Linda DiMeglio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed 2 nights and the room was very nice. We were upgraded to a suite due to our status. There was not a safe in the room which my wife was used to having in a room. However, they do store some things at the service desk which was nice. The bed was fairly comfortable and the restaurant was pretty good for dinner. We were able to get the PointsBreak deal which was awesome for this hotel in San Diego. Its close to the Zoo.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldimeglio, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review! I am happy to hear that you had a good experience with us and we hope to have you again as our guest in the future!

Linda DiMeglio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

This hotel is not really in Mission Valley but nearby and you basically enter through a strip mall but beyond that it was great. Looks like it was recently renovated. My room was very comfortable and spacious. Hotel was quite full during the visit but service was excellent with good food and a nice lounge. I'll return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldimeglio, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
Dear Guest,

To answer your question, the hotel went through a major renovation ending last year. I am so happy that you enjoyed your visit with us. Please come back soon!

Linda DiMeglio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

I have stayed at many hotels but none that had the quality of food this place did. The El Rayo Grill was simply awesome. I loved every meal I had there. My room was clean and comfortable - nothing fancy. The service though was spectacular. The housekeeping staff did a great job and were very friendly. Front Desk was also very good at what they did in anticipating my needs. I like having the USA Today under my door and being able to watch on-demand movies from my room. The pool was also clean and refreshing. This hotel had a great location, only about 15 minutes from the airport and lots of shopping nearby. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldimeglio, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
Dear Guest,

I am thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay and will be back in the future! Not sure if you tried the Banana Caramel Cheesecake Xangos dessert while eating in the restaurant, but it is a "MUST DO" next time you are here!

Thank you!

Linda DiMeglio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

I would give this hotel 2.5 stars. The room was clean, parking and internet were free. The front desk people were very nice. Beyond that I can't say anything positive. Being told to clear out of the way while house keeping was moving a load of laundry to the elevator was mildly humorous. My son and I stayed there for a baseball tournament. Room service dishes and pizza boxes lingered in the hall for over a day which was a little disgusting. The room was very hot when we checked in and it took until sun down for it to cool off. The AC had to be set on high and the lowest temp setting just to be comfortable. Other people noted the same in their rooms. For a basball tournament it was fine.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldimeglio, Owner at Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, July 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank your family as well as the remaining members of the team that stayed at our hotel! I have forwarded your comments to my Executive Housekeeper and Food & Beverage Director to assure that we resolve the issues you mentioned in regards to the laundry attendant and hallway dish issue. Please know that we take these kind of things seriously and your concerns have been addressed.

We all hope you and the team come back next year!! Have a wonderful summer.

Linda DiMeglio, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

The hotel seemed nice. Nice amenties, nice new clean looking room. At work the next morning I started noticing bites all over my arms and torso. Little clusters of red welts. Went to Kaiser as soon as I could and doctor said it looked like bed bug bites. Thank god not Scabies! I took every precaution when I got home not to infect my home. I threw all my clothes right in the dryer on high and threw the bag in the garbage (I had read that sometimes they can infect luggage and they can't survive over 120 degree heat). Called the manager of the hotel and he couldn't get me off the line fast enough. He was barely civil. Probably thought I was going to sue, but I just wanted to warn them so no on else would have to go through what I had....

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldimeglio, Manager at Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

I wanted to first thank you for speaking with me offline yesterday. As I mentioned, once I spoke to you to find out when you stayed and what room you stayed in, I personally went to the room with my Chief Engineer to inspect the room. We took all bedding off, thoroughly inspected the mattress, boxspring, removed the headboard off the wall found no signs of bed bugs. Unfortunately, issues with bed bugs do not resolve themselves. In order to eradicate a bed bug issue, it requires the disposal of mattress, boxspring, deep cleaning of all bedding & carpets, and multiple pest control treatments of which we would have to call our outside vendor to complete, none of which occurred in the room you stayed in. Due to high occupancies, the room you stayed in has been rented mulitiple times since your departure and we have not had any other similiar comments in this regard.

Again, thank you so much for taking the time to speak with me.

Linda DiMeglio, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley

Address: 3805 Murphy Canyon Road, San Diego, CA 92123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#99 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brilliant setting among San Diego Mission Valley hotels. Set amongst perfect sunny weather, premier shopping and world-class entertainment, the Holiday Inn Mission Valley Stadium is the ideal choice of San Diego hotels for your next vacation or business meeting. Catch some rays at a nearby pristine beach, cheer wildly at a Charger Game at Qualcomm Stadium or shop till you drop at several upscale shopping centers. You'll find it all just minutes away. Marvel at exotic animals at the San Diego Zoo or make a splash, watching a show at SeaWorld With easy access to the freeway, getting anywhere is a breeze. Whether you're here for work or play, make our deluxe hotel your first choice for value in a landmark setting. We are a 100% smoke-free hotel, located in the Kearny Mesa Business Park, and we provide high-quality comfort at remarkably affordable prices. Our property is designed to reflect the cool, comfortable Southern California lifestyle - from our inviting lobby to our well-appointed and spacious guest rooms. After a full day of shopping, enjoy a refreshing dip in our outdoor heated swimming pool, relax in the whirlpool, or work out in our fitness center. Ready to shine at tomorrow's board meeting? Our 5,400 square feet of flexible meeting spaces and free in-room high-speed Internet access make it easy to perform at your best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn San Diego - Mission Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.