We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown

Save Saved
You added Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1617 First Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #167 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The hotel is very near the gaslamp quartier (a 10-15 minute walk) and is a very good facility. The room was very spacious, clean and fitted with 2x50 cl free water bottles. Also the bathroom was good, fitted with a shower.
The breakfast is served in a small restaurant at the ground floor and gas a good range of choiche.
Finally, the personell was very efficiente and eventi if I had to leave at 04.00 am they were in service. All in all a good piace to stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialmediacoord, Guest Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your clean and spacious room at the Four Points San Diego Downtown. Our close proximity to Little Italy and the Gaslamp Quarter offers a great opportunity experience the best of downtown. We hope to welcome you back soon and exceed your expectations even more during your next trip!

Luke Daehlin, Guest Relation Manager 619-239-9600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    75
    55
    21
    7
See reviews for
49
48
10
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed for two nights this september. Its close to little italy and located downtown, clean and comfortble. The only thing I didnt like is that the bathroom lacks privacy...the door is glass and you can hear everything

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialmediacoord, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your two night stay with us. We strive to provide the best service to our guests, and are happy to hear we were able to meet your expectations with a good location and clean comfortable rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Luke Daehlin, Guest Relation Manager 619-239-9600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

I am a platinum Starwood - and had some bad experiences with Starwood recently - but this hotel changed my mind again. Rooms were clean and large. Staff were very friendly - and let me super extend my check out - past 4pm for free - while waiting for my mate to come, and gave me a drink in the bar to wait there. Thanks so much

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialmediacoord, Guest Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your continued loyalty in the Starwood brand! We are extremely happy to hear we were able to renew your faith in the Starwood brand, with your recent stay at our hotel. It is our goal to exceed guest expectations and are delighted we accomplished that goal with our friendly staff and accommodations at our bar. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Luke Daehlin, Guest Relation Manager 619-239-9600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I was in San Diego for a night catching an early train to LA so this hotel was conveniently located. I checked in with ease but waited entirely too long for the elevator. (Someone should really look at these) The room service was just ok. The guy who answered the phone asked if I was going to pick my food up. Um, no, that's why it's called 'room service'. Whatever. After getting my food, the burger was dry but the fries were delicious. Overall, the room was nice enough and comfortable for one night. I was also able to go to the zoo which was an absolute delight.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialmediacoord, Guest Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and we are glad to hear you enjoyed our close proximity to the San Diego Zoo. I am sorry to hear of the issues you experience and have reviewed your comments with the staff, as comments such as yours allow us to continue to improve our quality of service. We hope you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back during your next trip San Diego.

Luke Daehlin, Guest Relation Manager 619-239-9600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel was just ok for the price paid ($149). The furnishings a bit dated. The elevators dont run well. The facility is a round shape that creates pie shaped rooms. Its a fairly decent walk to little Italy. Staff was just ok.

Room Tip: higher level rooms might offer a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialmediacoord, Guest Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. I am sorry to hear your expectations were not met and we were unable to provide you with an exceptional stay. I have reviewed your comments with the staff to ensure we continue to improve on our quality of service, as our goal is to exceed expectations with every stay. We hope to welcome you back during your next trip.

Luke Daehlin, Guest Relation Manager 619-239-9600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had one night here on our way through to somewhere else. My husband is a member of Sheraton's loyalty program, "Starwood Preferred Guest" (which is free to join) and we were offered an upgrade to an executive room on the top floor (all for $105 per night). We had fantastic views of the harbour. The room was clean, quiet, modern, average size, with the most comfortable king sized bed. It came with complimentary water, coffee maker, huge flat screen TV. The shuttle picked us up from the airport in about 10 minutes after calling them. We had an early flight the next morning so had to take a taxi back to the airport but the cost of the taxi was only $12. My husband and I are walkers so we walked down to the harbour, looked at the cruise ships in port, walked along the embankment, up to the Gas Light Quarter where we had dinner and back to the hotel. Due to our early flight we left before breakfast was offered so can't comment on the food at the hotel. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in downtown San Diego.

Room Tip: Join up to the loyalty program for free beforehand and then ask to be upgraded to the executive suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialmediacoord, Guest Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We greatly appreciate the kind comments, recommendations and for you and your husband’s continued loyalty with Starwood Preferred Guest. Our clean and comfortable rooms provide great views of the harbor and we are within walking distance of many great downtown San Diego areas, and we are delighted to hear you were able to enjoy all of this during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Luke Daehlin, Guest Relation Manager 619-239-9600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irvine
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed here labor day weekend for a family vacation in downtown San Diego. Of all the hotels I researched in the area, for the locale and the hotel amenities we needed in a hotel I feel like it was the best for our budget.

Pros: Other hotels in the area were so much more expensive, like $200+/night whereas this place was $125/night the time we stayed. Important to note that they are their parking fee is less than other hotels in the area ($17 a day). Not extravagant, but very comfortable, overall pretty clean, and modern looking rooms. I slept well and the AC worked wonderfully in the summer time. Within walking distance to Little Italy and Extraordinary desserts which was a plus for us, because parking in downtown San Diego sucks or are pretty much nonexistent.

Cons: The building is like a cylinder so all the rooms are somewhat equidistant to the elevator, thus you get like a smaller sized room compared to other hotels. The parking here is really confusing. You'll get a parking card after you check in to park in the parking structure but the directions are not very clear and it's easy to get turned around and end up on the top floor of the parking structure where there are no elevators. Make sure when you enter the parking structure (which is the the gate next to the 10 min. handicap parking at the front lobby entrance) that you park underground because that's where the hotel elevators are.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown

Address: 1617 First Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently-renovated Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown is located minutes away from Little Italy, the Gaslamp Quarter, and Seaport Village. We also offer a free shuttle to/from the airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego-Downtown Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.